1000+ FOLLOWERS! THANK YOU! | MY JOURNEY FROM 90 TO 1000 FOLLOWERS IN 11 WEEKSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0416 COPY.jpg

Yes I had a steemit flag made to celebrate this milestone that I reached today!

From 90 to 1000 followers

How did I do it? Well, for starters I tried to keep putting my work out there. And I engaged with people on the platform by going to their profiles and reading their posts and commenting on them. I searched out content that I felt brought quality to the platform and content that was related to my interests. I started engaging with people in these areas, and many others, and building relationships. I also worked on leaving comments that would add quality to the platform and that were relevant.

I’m not going to lie it wasn’t easy. I’ve spent a lot of time in the last 11 weeks on Steemit. And luckily I’m in a line of work where I was able to make the time for that (I breed Labrador dogs). There were definitely times when I got discouraged and it took perseverance to keep going, to keep engaging on the platform and producing content that was important to me. And a lot of the time when I started getting discouraged I would read posts that inspired me.

cheesecake .jpg

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Cups

Starting out

My journey on steemit started in July, 2016. A friend of mine at the time would not stop going on about cryptocurrency. And I actually learnt most of what I know on the subject from him. But then I heard about steemit through the crypto grapevine and this friend didn’t really know much about it. So I signed up and decided to see what it was all about.

To say the least, I didn’t become very active on the platform right away. Writing had been a passion of mine since I was a kid, and I excelled at it in school, and even travelled all the way to L.A. in my early 20s to intern in writing at a studio. But there was a lot that I didn’t understand about steemit, and I didn’t really know what I was doing yet as a blogger. Shortly after this I took some time to figure out how to go about blogging about the things that were important to me.

fullsizeoutput_146f 2.jpg

Organic Sweet Potato and Arugula Salad

Health research and how to get it out there

I had previously spent the last several years researching food ingredients, GMOs, agribusiness and the food industry, and I wanted to figure out the best way to get that information out there through blogging and the internet. After a few months, I realized that one of the best ways to encourage others to eat healthy and find out about their health was to provide easy recipes that they could actually use to do this.

When I became really active on the platform

Then in May, 2017, I came back onto the platform, and started posting this content and really engaging on the platform. I had 90 followers at the time on May 23rd.

Now, eleven weeks later, I’ve reached the 1000 followers mark! I want to say a big THANK YOU to all of my followers. I’ve been really surprised by the incredible support and encouragement on this platform. And it has really helped me to grow as a blogger and as a person.

The things I’ve learnt on steemit

I have learnt what a long-term investment in the platform really means, aside from financial matters.

What I've learnt makes a long-term investment on steemit is building meaningful positive relationships with others and engaging on the platform. That’s not to say that quality content isn’t important, it’s the backbone of this whole operation. But in addition to that I think that one of the key elements for long-term success is taking the time out of our day to support others work, and go out and find quality content, and engage with other users on the platform. Because quality content can't survive without these actions. And by supporting each other in this manner we ensure the long-term success of Steemit.

ginger cookies 4.jpg

Vegan Chocolate Ginger Cookies

There are no shortcuts

Another thing that I have learnt throughout this process is that it’s not worth doing anything half-heartedly. I’ve learnt that if I want to do something, it will be the most rewarding and the most fun if I strive for professionalism in it, no matter what it is.

So over the last few months, I’ve been actively working on improving my skills in creating content. I've found ways to improve the formatting of my blog, I've learnt more about how to use a camera and photoshop. I've worked on my writing skills, and I've learnt from the examples of so many of the amazing bloggers on Steemit. Some of the people who really helped me in these ways were @firepower, @demotruk, @beanz, @amy-goodrich, @alcibiades, @throughmyeyes, @progressivechef, @jlufer, @bontonstory, @leylar, @shieha, @sulev, @gringalicious, @vegetarianbaker, @allasyummyfood, @stackin, @merej99, @jenniferhosein, @labradorpuppies and @canadian-coconut.

And even though it was a lot of work, I had a blast doing it, and I got a lot out of it. And I don’t think there’s very much in life worth achieving that can be done without rolling up your sleeves and putting in the hard work for it. I think generally quick fixes don’t really work, and I don’t believe in shortcuts.

IMG_9066 2.jpg

Chocolate Chip Superfood Granola

What to expect

I will continue to share my recipes for guilt-free sweet treats and other healthy foods. And these will include research on the health benefits of the ingredients I've used. I will also be blogging about my travels, healthy restaurant reviews, and my venture as a dog breeder, and the dogs that I’ve raised.

IMG_9089 copy copy 3.jpg

My lab puppy Finn

Curating as well as producing my own content

I've noticed when I haven't posted any new content in a few days some of you have asked where I’ve gone. And the answer is that I haven’t gone anywhere. I’m just on the platform curating and engaging with others on the platform by checking out their content. And I find that task equally as important as creating my own content, so my time will be divided between those two activities.

I’m really glad to be able to say that I’m a member of this community

It’s been a real gift and a surprise to find that there are so many like-minded people on this platform that I have built relationships with and whose opinions I really value.

IMG_0422.jpg

And I think I’m honestly a changed person after becoming active in this community. I’ve learnt so much from reading others posts about all aspects of life. And the ones I’ve been really blown away by are those about social change and health. And I have to say I was not expecting to find so many people with incredible ideas in these areas who are making a difference by getting the information out there.

So THANK YOU! I can’t say that enough! I’m so happy to be here, and I look forward to one hell of a ride to come!

Much Love,

Natasha


Photos and content are mine and original.

You can also connect with me on Instagram

For information about the labs I breed go to torontolabradorpuppies.com

FullSizeRender copy.jpg

If you liked this don’t forget to vote, follow and resteem. And thank you for all your support!

Sort:  

I hate celebration posts, I made a post about hating those a few days ago but yours is amazing, it is not selfish, it is well written and you actually made a flag!

That is why this gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Wow thanks! Yes, I'm willing to have you guys share this post :)

Congrats! That's an awesome milestone and it's only getting started :) What a beautiful flag. I love it!

Thanks @jeffjagoe! appreciate it :)

Wow, 1000 followers, that is awesome, congratulations! :D This is the first post of yours that I've read and I have to say you have a wonderful style of writing.

I'm glad to know that I'm not the only person on here that didn't have experience writing a blog before joining steemit. :D I've only been on here a couple months now but hopefully people that have followed me have noticed an improvement in my writing and my posts overall. :D

I have to ask you though, what is that "tart-like" substance in your first picture and is it chocolate sprinkled on top? It looks really good but my eyes are old and tired and I can't always tell what I'm seeing since I can't enlarge the pictures, that's why I had to ask. :D

I've got another question for you...where did you get that steemit flag made? Some day when I get to 1000 followers I might do the same thing...I love your smile in that picture too. :D

Love the picture of the puppy dog too, so cute. :D I love puppy dogs and all things to do with them. :D That's probably why I've got six puppy dogs of my own. :D

I'm going to add you to my follow list and up vote this post...so nice to "meet" you. Have an awesome day! :D

It's a vegan chocolate chip cheesecake cups. Here's the link to the recipe :)
Aww thanks for the lovely feedback. I got it made in the local town nearby in Dundalk, Ontario. Lol six puppies! That's amazing! Very nice to meet you too :)

Hmmm, I'm not vegan and have never tried anything vegan, at least to my knowledge, but those looked really good...so I'd be willing to try them. :D

You're welcome. I meant every word. :D Oh cool, you're a fellow Canadian...I've never been to Dundalk, Ontario but used to live in Sault Ste Marie, Ontario until almost 11 years ago. :D

You should totally give them a try :D I've not been to Sault Ste Marie yet, but I had someone come down from there to adopt a puppy from my kennel last summer, haha. Whereabouts in Canada are you now?

Now we live in New Brunswick, just outside of Woodstock. :D

My family and I love vegan desserts! Thanks for the link. And props to you for the quality photography - I assumed those must've been stock photos, since that seems to be customary here on Steemit. I appreciate the versatile artist you are: culinary artist, visual artist, word artist...

You're welcome :) Thanks so much for the support!

Your point about relationship-building via Steemit is so crucial to me at this time. We held our first face-to-face meetup here in Austin a week ago, and it opened my mind to the gift of connections that Steemit makes possible. I really think your post is as good as any I’ve seen here. Ever! Seriously!! My first impulse as a contributor was to focus on publishing fresh content, because I have a great passion for creative expression. But I’m quickly learning to find my voice as a supporter of other people’s posts–and of course it’s a pleasure to see the high vibrancy in a post like this one, full of quality content from top to bottom. Your flag is the icing on the cake–so cute!

Wow thank you for the lovely feedback! That means a lot :) Steem on!

Awesome achievements @natashahall! Congrats and wish you more success to come!
I really enjoy your tips and recipes, they are always great!
Have a lovely day ahead!
@progressivechef

Thank you @progressivechef! I appreciate you stopping by :D

Congrats on the big achievement! You are doing an amazing job in this community, both by sharing quality content and curating.
Keep it up, many new milestones are ahead. :)

Thanks so much @alcibiades! I really appreciate the feedback :D

Nice job. Thanks to people like you there's always hope for others. I hope you do well

Thanks! I appreciate that :) And I see your from Canada too eh?

Congrats and good luck in future steeming

Yay! Congratulations Natasha! I'm really happy to be one of your folowers! You doing such a good work here. You have really nice flag haha :D Thank you for sharing your content :)

Thanks so much @babettxx! As always I appreciate you stopping by :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65