Is there a way for Steemit to be a genuine and authentic again?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

A little background on myself -

(1.) joined Steemit in December 2016

(2.) i'm not a bot

(3.) I do my best to post original content and also material that I'm proud to publish

(4.) my own site is NandiBear.com

(5.) I love Steemit (but not absolutely and categorically like I used too)

My observations and best attempts to be objective -

It appears, of seems like, a substantial and significant percentage of comments which I read underneath posts (not just mine.. I'm talking about all around Steemit) are outright fakes and at best were written after the commentator skim read the post in order to make their comment appear like they'd read and were, in someway or in some amount, interested in the content or the author.

Moreover it seems like more and more low quality content posts are showing up here at Steemit.

I understand that we all want and need to make money but why does everything have to keep getting more and more disingenuous and often outright fake?

Where is a content cop when you need one!

Btw, the pic at the top was taken by me while doing some sign painting on a water tower. It's not a pic that is online elsewhere or a pic that belongs to another individual(s).

Any thoughts? Hmmmm... just as I suspected!

...

Sort:  

I agree that steemit post need to be authentic and not stolen. Your post is just the kind of input that steemians need to be aware of. Keep up the great work, Nandi-Bear!!

Thanks @jamie-smith for your thoughts regarding your agreement that posts here at Steemit should be authentic and no stealing content. I hope to see more of your comments and your posts as well.

I'm brand new to Steemit, but I totally agree with this and this was one thing I was worried about when joining. I know the idea is for good content to be curated and upvoted the most, but a lot of stuff I see in trending doesn't even seem like it really should have trended as much as it did. It seems like a lot of those people have become popular some way so now everyone tries to upvote them just to ride their wave. I hate to say this, but maybe comments shouldn't get people paid only upvotes? I know that's not the answer, but I hate all the fake comments.

Absolutely there a lots of individuals at Steemit who mainly just ride the wave of the more popular Steemians in hopes of a payout. Moreover, your thoughts regarding a possible change to the method in which comments are rewarded ($$$) is something that should probably be discussed more and maybe some sort of compromise or new method could be implemented or at least studied.

Congratulations @nandibear! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks @steemitboard for the new badge (for my total payout received)! I'm looking forward to earning more badges!

I agree. Keep it original.

I do agree with you, even tho I have not that much Steemit experience since I've only joined by about 3 weeks.

But the thing is that.. Let them do their shitty posting. It's just a little annoying that I have to search for quality content through them. But I believe that they will eventually see that they're not gaining anything with those low quality posts, and will either stop posting, or start posting some meaningful stuff.

I believe we should care about our own posting, and promote people with quality posts. The rest will flush out in time, by itself.

Anyway, nice post. Thanks for sharing :)

Congratulations @nandibear! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks tremendously @steemitboard for the new Award and Badge for number of comments received!

I just joined this week, (I know... late to the party), but my short time on the platform is leading me to a similar conclusion.

I love the crypto world, and a content/curation reward system for the members rather than the fat-cats is an amazing idea. Unfortunately, as with everything else in life, a turd in the punch bowl ruins it for everyone.

Btw, water tower painting eh? Sounds like a cool profession. A couple friends of mine are in the "rope access" field; inspecting bridges, oil rigs, etc. I think they're crazy, but the compensation is hard to argue with.

Welcome to Steemit and thank you for your thoughts regarding the current state of affairs here!

Yes, I do paint waters towers and I typically only do interesting or unique one that others don't want to do. For example, I just did a review (video) of an energy drink while hanging off the side of water tower 3 days ago -

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@nandibear/pussy-natural-energy-drink-review-by-nandi-bear-august-2017

I also work as a web developer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70