The unfolding evolution of a community and how we can learn from the talented people of Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

This community is incredible!

Like most of you, sometime in the past few weeks you were introduced to Steemit. You were probably much like myself fascinated that you can post and earn for your effort. Then if you are like myself, you started to go a little deeper into what the community is all about and what it can actually offer.It is human nature to be attracted to opportunity and this is one hell of an opportunity that is slowly revealing itself to be one of depth, positivity, encouragement and hope.    

I want to go back a little and tell you why I feel this is so ground breaking..    

About a year and a half ago, I stopped participating in all forms of social media. I found them to be vacuous and empty without adding to my life in any meaningful or positive way. I realized the people who I loved and cared about most, I had no contact with them on social media. Instead my life was inundated with other people’s fleeting thoughts, feelings and unfortunately in most cases they weren’t things worthy of being distracted.  

Time on this planet is short lived and being taken away by petty discussion is rather hard to be avoided if you exist on those platforms and engage on a regular basis.    

So, I took the leap of faith and I have been social media free now for quite sometime.  The thing with existing social media platforms they seldom encourage or promote thought and meaning.   

Thankfully… Steemit is different.   

It provides us the opportunity to learn, expand as individuals and connect with people who we maybe able to journey with going forward. As I was going through multiple posts I realised the kinds of interesting people were on here and it all started with one person…    

There are exceptional and writers with stories to tell.    

@rok-sivante was the reason I jumped on this platform (I’ve acknowledged this in my first post and thank-you for getting back to me.)   What I loved about his story…it was honest, his success on the platform was not just an overnight thing….whether he knew it or not he had been preparing for a very long time to participate in this community…in his own words.    

Quote:    But why was I able to rise so high in the rankings in just my first few weeks on the site? 25 years of writing experience, a decade of ALOT of practice. YEARS of personal development. Hundreds of books read & intense study in a diversity of subjects, contributing to a holistic world perspective & intimate comprehension of human & cultural psychology. A few years of leading-edge brain training and the residual effects of a revolutionary energy/consciousness technology. Life experience having lived abroad in different countries, pursued different ventures, obsessively ingesting a myriad of contrasting perspectives.   

How cool is that?  

 https://steemit.com/steemit/@rok-sivante/how-i-succeeded-as-one-of-the-top-1-2-highest-paid-writers-on-steemit     

There are family stories being shared eloquently with grace and beauty.    

Image Source

@krabgat was another person I’d like to mention, simple and honest stories are being shared. His post remind me of sitting around a campfire, where people share a captivating and inspiring story. Simple stories which we can all learn from.. again the value he brings through his simple story of climbing Victoria Peak with his son, is joyful and uplifting.    

@krabgat replies to a comment..   Quote: It was good father and son time. It is now his last year in school. The time is running out for him to be a child in the house. Treasure these times a lot!   10 hours together of father son time! Memories being made and shared. 

Seriously, awesome stuff!    

There are people who are sharing their talents, their wisdom and who you may end up collaborating with.    

UX design is one of the hardest things to nail and if you can do it well, you have a highly sort after skillset. I am constantly on the look out for these types of designers in my day to day businesses and Steemit has opened up the possibility of collaboration. The posts by @lenerdie and @uxandthecity both grabbed my attention with their introductions.  

Their skills could not only be used in my businesses but many other businesses out there, and this platform introduces them to us all and you can place a face to a name.    

There are people actively trying to help the community become better and also those with the knowledge to help you understand the technology behind the platform.    

I have learnt so much in such a small period of time regarding Steemit. There are just too many people out there posting excellent information regarding this platform and how to make the most of it. Not only that sharing wisdom regarding the technology and in some cases even developing things to make our experiences better on here. The list here is so big but I will tag a few who I’ve read their posts and learnt so much from 

 @anyx @fleuri @sauravrungta @arhag @originate @valentinjesse @steemiquettes @jbrukh   

Just to name a few! I encourage you all to read their posts!   

 There are people who can help you understand Cryptocurrency   

Image Source

Cryptocurrency is the backbone of what makes this whole thing possible, Blockchain technology is literally changing the way we interact with the world, you can read how its infiltrating the mainstream and our banking system. The great thing about Steemit is there are those individuals out there that can help educate you and inform you on what is happening. People like: @thecryptofiend @cryptoctopus @flandude @carlidos @bravenewcoin 

They have all posted wonderful content on how Cryptocurrency and it’s through their knowledge we can all become more informed of what is happening.    

Did I mention there are Influencers?   

@neilstrauss is one fine example of this.. he is a best selling author and thought provoking individual.  A prime example of how influencers will take this from being a start-up to being a household name. 

I am sure Neil will bring us more insightful words going forward but his first post was an eye catcher!    

Last but not least…if you need a bit of fun. There are people who can lighten up your day  

Image Source

So many funny and enjoyable things have already been posted on this platform.   

@gendale  - Has us covered with his thoughts in “oval-orifice”   

@nolimit  - With their guess the flavour challenge video! Such a great wonderful idea!    


There is no question that Steemit is going to be the next big thing in social media. Finally I can participate in social media once again, I think the world has been crying out for something like this for sometime.  

And so it should!           

 #steemit #steem #community #testimonial #introduction #information #value #development #learning #selfimprovement #motivational #cryptocurrency #bitcoin #funny #ux #talent #life  

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for the shout out! and for all your hard work making this list.

Thanks @gendale :) some seriously cool people! Love your work

thanks. :) I have a bunch more stuff I've never released on the internet i'm super excited to share with steem. :)

you rule dude, keep it up.

Wow thanks for including me really appreciate that.

Thank you @carlidos I enjoy reading what you do.

Interesting post! thanks for the mention! :) The community of people is definitely interesting and, I think, it is facing the early far west moment, if it makes any sense. I feel there is a bit of noise as many people are joining just for money rather than with the contribution spirit. We'll see the evolution... and thanks god the internet is normally fast for this kind of phenomena! ;)

Thanks for mentioning me! and thanks for this great list xxx

:) pleasure! loved your post!

Imagine what we will be able to learn in 3mo, 6mo, 1yr....

@cryptohustlin it's pretty crazy to think what is possible! game changing...really is!

Great post. Love your positivity too. Wish I had more SP so my up-vote would give you a bigger boost. Thank you for the kind mention and let me take the chance to welcome you to Steemit:)

@thecryptofiend ! all in good time :) thanks for the comment back! glad you enjoyed the read

This is a very good article. Followed! Thank you for the shoutout!!

THANKS @flandude! glad you enjoyed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84