When Was the Last Time You Facebook Stalked? | Realizations on the Radical Incentivization of Steem

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hollie-Chastain.jpeg

Ok Confession!

Last night Ini was on his facebook sharing this post with the Talking Natural Homes Facebook Group (which is literally the only redeeming reason to be on facebook imho.) Here's just a little snipit of the line of questioning he shared with that group, for any interested parties to hear more about our sauna build.


"Hey folks. I'm past the model building and into head scratching phase of a sauna build. I have a few details I'm uncertain about. Any input welcome.....
Next is in using slip chip. I've heard one must use lath to contain it, and others who simply plaster over the infill. We will be chipping cedar tops and branches for this purpose. Are there any great resources anyone has on this regard?
I'm thinking 12" Larsen truss walls with 16" studs spacing with horizontal and diagonal bamboo internal framework. Can I simply plaster over it? Unsure weather lime or clay for exterior. I'm also debating installing repurposed bubble foil insulation in stove room with furring strip between it and cedar TandG. Any thoughts? There will be adequate (10sq"/100cu') ventilation and a Rocket mass heater in the stove rooms drying should be no problem... Thanks!"


I got on after him (I deleted my facebook a few months back) and just started perusing the feed. What I saw really shocked me!

Yes it was full of people just sharing little snipits of their lives (like we do on Steemit), but it also seemed degenerating in a way. And empty. I thought of all of the companies mining the Facebook data and ALL of the advertising coming at you all the time when you're on it. I saw my friends still sharing their lives on Facebook. Their political rants and takes on current world events and it hit me!

Screen Shot 2018-07-18 at 9.42.47 AM.png
www.holliechastain.com

While facebook has continued on in this way, since December we've been actively creating on Steemit, building relationships around said creativity, connecting and learning from other people's creativity and earning money!!!

I got sucked into facebook for a little while longer, looking at people I used to know and seeing how their lives have changed (or not)... I kept scrolling and scrolling (it's so easy to do!) and started to feel worse in my body, kinda sick and just not uplifted.

There were very few bright spots of feeling true inspiration or learning anything. Having been gone from facebook for some time, I had perspective on it for the first time and I could truly see how radically awesome Steemit is.

Earning aside, which is an incredible mindblowing aspect of being a part of the Steem-o-verse, what we are doing here is taking control of our data and stepping into our creative powers.


In a culture based on Consumption, this is no small act. I really want to hit that point home.

In a culture based on selling you things so that your life can get easier/better/whatever...you get a quick rush from that new thing...you just have to have it for whatever reason... Creating and being a part of a web of creators is one of the most radical things you can do.

Every person who gets on here daily and creates on the Steem blockchain is tapping into the well of creative energy available to humans all the time. The incessant scrolling and consumption of mindless data on Facebook is the antithesis of this. You know why?

There is no Incentive for creativity on facebook!

With the opportunity to earn Steem through posting, this blockchain effectively Incentivizes us to Create! I am grateful for this. That carrot stick in front of my nose has pumped out a post a day (sometimes more) since December 2017! This is in contrast to all of the wasted, non-creative hours I could've spent scrolling and consuming mindlessly on Facebook.

Secondly, there is no incentive for Engagement on facebook.

Raise your hand if you've commented on Steemit specifically for the intention of getting an upvote. Raise your hand if you've written a nicer comment than you might've elsewhere because of said desire for upvote.


Since joining Steemit, I've heard from many how delighted they are at how positive this ecosystem is. Steem provides a healthy space in a sea of internet trolls and horrible negativity that is the norm in Comment sections web wide. I personally believe that this is because of the incentive for earning based on the quality and content of our comments. Of course I'm not saying that only positivity should be accepted or rewarded here, but we're definitely passing around the sugar in these parts instead of adding salt to wounds!

This doesn't happen on Facebook - or on other social media sites (based on my experience.) I have more quickly developed a more engaged community of Creators and Commenters/Curators than anywhere else I have been on the internet. I have blogged on wordpress.com and really tried to gather a community there (no dice after a couple of months). I've been on Instagram for years and have nowhere near this level of engagement on what I share. And again, Facebook is just a lost cause in my book.

chastain.jpg
Art by Hollie Chastain

Steemit is a radical Creator central where we are incentivized to engage and to share.

One of the biggest shifts we need to make as humans is back to being creators instead of only consumers. Steem is incentivizing this shift!

Scrolling facebook like that last night turned this lightbulb of perspective on for me extra hard!

People often say they came to Steemit for the money and stayed for the community.

For me it’s a combo of both, and the opportunity to flex my creator skills and share earth connection. I can definitely say I am grateful for what steemit has brought into my life!!


mountainjewelbanner.jpg


What about you? Do you think Steemit is radical for these reasons?

What keeps you coming back?

The wonderful art in this post is by Chattanooga based artist Hollie Chastain. Find more of her work here.
Sort:  

oooh, I agree with everything you say here! I just love this post and your perspective. It is the people that keep me coming back and the interesting and informative posts. There is such an honest and open vibe here.

I also appreciate the positive and supportive energy that flows between the people I have connected with ... it all comes together to create this wonderful enriching space to spend time.

I know that not all of steemit is like this, but the small corner of steemit that I seem to gravitate towards is quite a beautiful place.

love being in this community with you @walkerland!! i'm so happy you're here!! i agree, we've created a beautiful space here :) that honest, open, supportive vibe is such a great addition to my life as well. <3

I still spend a decent amount of time on FB, because I have a group on there that I lead and also keep track of what's going on with my family on there, but it in no way nourishes me the way interaction on Steemit does.

When I first discovered Steemit, I tried really hard to get all those people to migrate here with me, but no dice. It's still too complicated for a lot of people, and also there are no groups here yet. But I think it's just a matter of time. We are simply very early adopters.

yes, i agree. it's usually "for keeping in touch" or to be in the groups. i think the group function on steem blockchain will really amp up the participation here. i, too, tried hard! i have gotten a few people -- and i'm super excited about that!-- but many of the people i invited didn't find traction/didn't find it worth their time. i'm so thankful for the community we have developed here, of which you're an integral part @indigoocean :) grateful to be an early adopter... to be honest, i totally geek out on the complexity and get quite excited about all of these possibilities!!!

Every person who gets on here daily and creates on the Steem blockchain is tapping into the well of creative energy available to humans all the time.

I always say to @beaker303 how creative steemfolk are - or that we celebrate it here - I dont find celebration on Facebook, only a kind of envy when people are doing cool things and a lot of trolling and nastiness. Vive la steemfolk and their creativity!!! You and Ini included.

Yessss well said!!!!! 😘😘 vive la Steemfolk!!! 🌈💚💚💚💚

Yeah, I do. I've come to talk seriously about ending poverty. The community of couchsurfing is cool...but it's a very specific Animal. I find that even within steemit a lot of the same problems arise as on Facebook. Some of the best content creators on here seem to take advantage of their good reputation and put out a lot of posts with click-baity titles and thumbnails. However the likelihood of a person using their success to benefit others though not a given, is more likely here on steem than any other site not so specific as couchsurfing that I have found. BUT Steemit is a platform, for those with missions, so I don't feel let down by Steemit for the downfalls within the community. The same downfalls that happen on or offline in any type of community. Something that is tricky for me to articulate...seems to come a bit of feeling isolated that makes people forget their creative power. Maybe an example will help. You may have heard me mention the GEET Fuel Processor before. Some people argue it's "thermodynamically impossible" while others with more faith in their own senses, will research further, some to the point of locating and physically studying and verifying the operation of GEET in person. Just not jumping to conclusions for one thing, takes faith in ourselves which is something I think we all lack to a degree or an other. Now, out of the 10s of thousands of people who have proven GEET works to themselves first hand... How many realize THEY have the power equal to anyone else to be elemental in ending poverty and pollution for every human with a few weeks to a few years ? To me it seems like ...maybe 2 ...me and maybe Trump lol BUT I feel like everyone is as powerful as either of us, should they see that. I could wish to reach someone like Elon Musk but regardless of his brains, heart, gut, balls, or money, you the reader are just as powerful has he. I've already reached you.

So yes, F F-book. They even don't deserve my rant! Sitting on their thumbs promoting themselves or at best helping a few hundred people with food or shoes, or maybe millions with a bit of info on how fucked things out there are or how okay they are elsewhere..... BUT WE are all action-takers on some level here on steemit aren't we? I mean we'll take the path un-trodden, won't we?

GEET has not been getting the attention it needs in order to solve poverty and pollution, so I have been spending the last year instead of seeking help for GEET, seeking to help others with their projects.

I've had great success bringing others wealth and success through idea and contact sharing alone.

If you (whoever reads this) would fully dedicate yourself to proving or even attempting to disprove the function of GEET and helping to spread the truth, what is standing in your way? Let me know and we will work on that first.

I can't really have a full opinion of the value of steemit vs facebook until I experience a difference not only in talk, but in actions as well.

I'm working on listing as many of my short term goals as possible to share in a post to see who else has any of the same aims, or will to help. I hope everyone replies with their own list as well as any ideas of contribution toward mine and others.

...I think I'ma share your post on facebook now! :)

thank you for sharing this :)

i think many of us here on steemit are definitely action-takers-- i see a lot of positive movements here and people digging into their niches in the ways they see that they can make a change. it's very encouraging!

for me, i am also focused on many other things/projects in my local community and teaching things that i know (like permaculture). i also have a solar system and am completely off grid. i would say that main reason i am not going toward understanding GEET in a practical way is just because that's not my focus. we all have our passions and focus... maybe when i get a free moment or some space in my life (have many projects demanding all of my attention now, like setting up a high tunnel and building a communal sauna, etc), i would be interested in investigating more, but not now. thanks for sharing your passion!

Facebook is an advertising platform. Zuckerberg getting on tv and saying lets get Facebook back to what it was founded for and supposed to be. Zuckerberg oversaw the sell out of the platform to advertisers! Makes me so angry hearing him speak in third person about what happened to Facebook. I keep coming back to Steemit for the community. The quality content. The real interactions that occur here.

yes, it's a total lack of responsibility-taking.. disappointing but not surprising! it's the way! speaking out of the sides of their mouths to continue deceiving people. it's totally not worth it anymore for me, especially when there is something like steemit which is soooo nourishing! as you say, the real interactions. those are priceless!! thanks for all of your reach outs toward connection!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I think steemit is bettrr platform sharing your thought with personal

Congratulations @mountainjewel! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I so agree with you, just the reason I NEVER engaged in Facebook. The positive community and opportunity to create on Steemit is a goldmine. Just being here for a few months has allowed me to co-create with people who love to create the way I do, we encourage each other and you feel like you have known them forever!

yes! so glad you're here! a total goldmine!!! so glad you see that :) the connections here are worthwhile, constructive and nourishing- can't find that everywhere! <3

I think my last post on facebook was.... January 2018? Or maybe September 2017 for my birthday? I honestly have no clue. I got a new laptop in December 2017, a new phone in February 2018 and I have no clue what my password is/was and I have never logged into FB from either of them.
it is logged in on my tablet... I think. lol how sad is that?

But I really have no use for FB... twitter... instagram (never even had an account there)

hahahah not sad, but it definitely seems obsolete in your case! steem on!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63