Some Burning Steemit Questions

in #steemit6 years ago

1.jpg

Is pure Altruism possible on Steemit?

Altruism is a behavior that comes from nature, a behavior seen with insects and some other creatures who are completely selfless and are acting for the greater good of their colony. Can altruistic behavior be implemented here on steemit? Selfvote would be a thing of the past and you would be able to cast votes everywhere else and boost your fellow steemians (voting on an alt accounts would be a tough nut to crack though). Naturally the value for yourself would still come from curation rewards and from alturistic behavior of other people. Can steemit become a place where you provide value without selfvote, or will selfvote be a forever prevalent constant on here?

2.jpg

Can you make it on Steemit with a Lone Wolf mentality?

People feel the need to network and make contacts on steemit in order to improve their rewards via different channels like steem chat, discord and other ways of communication. My question is can you make it here without a need to network? I personally don't like to bother people with my issues and payouts, and most certainly I wouldn't like to be constantly bothered by anyone if I used any of those channels. I did ok on steemit without using networking, I only used steemit and the comment section, so anyone wondering can you do the same, you probably can, but it will take time and effort, it is probably easier to network around. What I'm trying to say, both ways will take time and effort. What do you prefer to do?

3.jpg

Is true freedom possible with the blockhain technology like Steem?

I'm sure many of you are asking yourself the same question. By true freedom I mean complete financial freedom without the need for 9-5 job some of you love, but most of you absolutely hate. Spending your short life on some meaningless day job to feed yourself and your family is something Blockchain technology is trying to eradicate. Steemit is the prime example of that. While we do suffer from startup issues and extreme volatility of the markets, the time will soon come when we don't need to worry about those things and just be a part of a new revolution. Will you become an Arbiter of Change, or will you just leave this place and forget about all the benefits it can provide for you in the future?

4.jpg

Sort:  

I think it's possible to have a purely altruistic view on steemit, I myself was very hidden on steemit apart from my posts, but now that i'm getting a bit of money i'm becoming more engaged in the community and talking to people on a daily basis.

I think your post yesterday was right on the money as well, steemit has a lot of greedy fucks and people who want to act like kings, but alot of us are pretty altruistic in our approach because if more people come and stay on the site, everyone makes more money in the long run and it becomes bigger and bigger.

As for your question about freedom on the blockchain, I think it can be achieved, i'm making enough money to support myself and my family now, assuming it doesn't crash really badly i think you can make more than enough of a living with blockchain technologies, specially with steemit if you're here long enough.

Good post as always my dude.

The thing with any material-based economy is that there is a limited amount of resources. If there are too many people, the share is too small. Acting selfishly is a way to increase your cut by stealing the cut from others.

Cryptos are not based on gold or oil. They come into existense by providing services and aid to others. Yes, they are abused through whaling and vote manipulation, but just like everything we do, there needs to be a sense of reward. We are motivated by knowing there is something good at the end. Altruism works in the same way.

Since steemit rewards you with seemingly infinite tokens, helping others is easier than trying to steal from others and altruism has a higher chance of happening.

Altruistic behavior and decent amount of people with enough stake could change life to so many people willing to participate.

"Is true freedom possible with the blockhain technology like Steem?"
I'm here to stay and i brought a lot people (content creators, normal people, indie devs and more). And to answer the real question, with steemit some people i brought here including myself we are making more money than working at "a real job" in Romania 8-12 hours/day. But some of the money are going back into Steem Power.

"Can you make it on Steemit with a Lone Wolf mentality?"
Not really, but i didn't use networks i just make some friends by commenting on steemit posts :)

"Is pure Altruism possible on Steemit?"
It's hard to say...but in my case i post one post per day i upvote myself and the rest of the Power Vote is going to other posts and not only friends but i upvote a lot newcomers.

Times they are a changing.

If everyone were like you you, this would not be a question but a fact

Everyone needs to find their inner termite :)

The jury is out as I'm very new to Steemit. I like what I've seen so far. Some of the Whales seem dedicated to helping the minnows. I can't imagine it's in their own interests to go to all the trouble that they do. Lets hope Steemit starts a new trend in altruistic work patterns.

If you want to receive help, you must help others first!

The key component of steemit.

I dig your ideas. Especially the lone wolf route one... I also do not care to network or be bothered with bots and other means. I feel as though it is contrary to what steemit means to me... How I perceive it and how I imagine it being. I tend to see it being the first step towards a cashless society. Merely exchanging intellect and ideas... which we have given a number value.

Steemit isn't just a place to blog, it is absolutely a social experience. Lone Wolves are loved but those wolves that give some get more in return.

Yes, you're never really alone in all this.

I feel that if the content is good you can make it on your own. But it sure helps to have a couple of good souls around.

Even if the content is good, sometimes if you don't network more your rewards will be miniscule, specially if you're new, it can be daunting here, but in the long run it pays off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80