You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Commenting without upvoting - good or bad for Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

Voting power tends to go down really quick after the new HF. Ive had many people comment on my posts without upvoting too but im ok with it since they could be saving their voting power..

Sort:  

I totally understand that. It's a valid reason and not a poor excuse. The only reason I went digging was because he claimed to upvote after 30 minutes and I found that to have been an untruth.

Yea it doesn't make anu sense, like why exactly 30mins, what happens then?

The algorithm used to be that the author of the post received more of your vote rewards the sooner you posted - up to 30 minutes.

@dan explains it better than I can:

There is a linear split between 0 and 100% as time from post goes from 0 to 30 min. If you vote after 5 minutes then you only get 16% of curation reward, the rest goes to the author.

That post was found Here

This is how it used to work Here

I think the way curation rewards are split was not changed.. or was it? Im not sure

I don't know. I've not looked into it - mainly because I don't mind how it works, it just does... :)

Lol yeah I guess. I dont worry too much about curation rewards to be honest, I think commenting is more valuable in allowing you to represent yourslf and your thoughts to the community allowing you to get more followers who respect the way you think and write, support your interests, etc. Rewards are just a bonus.

Absolutely! I do enjoy a good debate and I was torn whether or not to make this post initially, as I didn't want to be seen 'moaning' about it all :)

Haha, well I guess it's too late to have a second thought it's all one the blockchain now 😂

He should have said that I intend not to vote because of .... than just saying a lie.

I'd rather he said 'My voting power is down but I read and enjoyed your post.'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67756.28
ETH 3792.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65