A @mindhunter STEEMIT RULE OF THUMB: The Number Of Up-votes At The 20 Minute Mark On Your Post.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Just a quick rule of thumb I use on Steemit to predict if my post will pass 100+ up-votes or not.

What I do is look at the number of up-votes at the 20 minute mark after the post has been posted:

If the number is >55 up-votes or more, then there is a good chance it'll score over a 100+ up-votes WITHIN 2 HOURS.

The post then may or not may not go viral, or may or may not generate dollars.

Just a small Steemit micro-observation from me - and a micro-post too!

Love to hear any of your own Steemit micro-observations??

@mindhunter

Sort:  

Me too! HOLD ON!! 21 minutes until IMPACT for this post!! ... ... CRASH! BANG! WALLOP!!

I think the bots are rising as the user numbers crash alongside the Steem price. Hopefully new inflationary measures can save us from these bot belts!

I think the new inflationary measures will help encourage new authors to the platform.

I could not reply to your comment about the climb past 25 but yes, LOL, so true

... the trek to 75 goes onwards! Good luck Barry!

I love hearing stuff from the older/more established Steemers on here, I am such a Minnow lol.

It's a long climb from Reputation 25 isn't it!!

I enjoy getting the bot votes. It's a notable achievement being deemed worthy enough just to make the bot voting lists. But I wonder how many actual humans read my posts and enjoy them. Getting dozens of votes but only a couple short comments feels a little odd.

I notice the initial botswarm tends to come in around the half hour mark, then a trickle of votes from my followers, then if a whale or @curie votes on me more bots will follow in their wake. It's like surfing a series of waves, with long lulls in between.

I agree with you. The bots are there because nobody can be on Steemit 24/7 looking at posts. The human-directed bots and curation trails are a way to use that voting power that would be idle. But comments are get people connected and will make the long-term difference for building lasting communities here. Go bots! :D

That is good imagery in the last paragraph. I totally feel that too.

nice tip! never paid close enough attention to notice.

but i have noticed that when i get 100+ upvotes and no comments, that it probably means the content i put out is just the content that whales believe should be promoted on steemit, rather than content that people actually want to see here -_-

anyway, i'm wondering how many of these observations are bot-driven. lots of good ones. thanks for the post!

Agreed. I saw one today that had 174 up-votes and no comments = MASS WHALE CURATION ;)

For me, 120 votes on a post equals 0.1 up-tick in my reputation.

A v.interesting micro-observation. I'll have to monitor my up-vote numbers/reputation now.

That's interesting. I'll start keeping track of that. Thanks.

This bot thing it's awkward. The other day I gathered 40 upvotes in 5 minutes! Can't understand...

Yesterday I got 123 up-votes in 3 seconds! Mass bot attackage!

That was a huge huge bot attack. Guess you've been followed!!!

Hate to think how they'd hit a reputation of 74 of someone like @gavvet!!

Maybe the same way that 123 up-votes hit you in 3 seconds. His last one was posted 2 hours ago and have 258up-votes. Don't like this bot thing, getting votes automatically don't ensure quality content​!

I reckon only 20% of your up-votes are human!

That's tonights entertainment solved! Thank you @crypletibles

Awesome, you are welcome, it is an interesting and fun topic, so to hear some big brains actually think the theory through is neat. I made it through past the first hour but still didn't finish it myself yet I must admit lol.

This is really weird but I tuned out after an hour too!

I'd say you were right on about that! Now if the $ was only proportionate to the upvotes. LOL I love reading the most undervalued list but we seem to be on it quite a bit!

I did notice my old friend @merej99 on that list!

There are many thresholds in Steemit. This is one of them.

If you don't make the jump, it really seems to be obscurity city.
Getting to the 0.001 curation level, as a minnow is another threshold.

It reminds of orienteering at school. Running from one place to the other as quickly as you can!

Yes, I believe that is an apropos comparison.

Do you have any feelings for what time of day it is best to post a new blog?
In the middle of the night, you can easily stay on the new page... but no one is there to vote.
Any observations?

3-4pm Eastern US time is a mass swarm of whales and bots! ... though bots are around 24-7! To be honest I post anytime, as there is always SOMEONE about ;)

I am a Bushcrafter and so that comment struck me lol. You might find a post or 2 in my blog interesting if you are outdoorsy. I am still learning my way on here and in Crypto, so much to learn. Sigh

Keep working hard to get into the 60s - you will get there! I've heard getting 65+ is a REALLY TOUGH gig on here! It's like a SOLID INFINITE WONDERWALL of reputation! I'm hitting it right now!!

Nice work @mindhunter! You really are productive on here, that's for sure. I wonder how much your comments counted vs. your posts in getting your reputation up to those heights.

I would LOVE to know the answer to that question, though a while back I did petition for the reputational algorithm to be overhauled - in my favour of course! Ha ha!

It's nice to run across a bushcrafter here on Steemit. If you are interested in foraging, you might be interesting in checking out the @foraging-trail. It's a curated page of posts about foraging for food or crafts, which would include bushcraft. If you write any posts relevant to foraging, if you add the Foraging tag to your posts, it will be easier for me to find it and consider it for the SteemTrail @foraging-trail curation. You can find out more here and here. Happy bushcrafting!

I followed you just now, will try to get to your good suggestions today also, TY very much!

You're welcome. And thanks for resteeming some of those posts, too!

... on my way over to your timeline now ;)

Cool. One day I hope to hit the 60 rep. on here somehow lol. I have 2 bushcraft posts you may really like! I hope so anyways. Any help you can give me would be appreciated also. Have a nice nite. BD

That is a bit of a rich man problem. I have only one post over 100 so for me is more like if it hits 10 within 20 minutes then I am on a ride for 30-40 top.

For 70s reputations it's nearly 150-200 upvotes within 20 minutes! Nice business if you can get it eh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33