"Steemit of Dreams" we CAN change education!

in #steemit8 years ago

"Steemit of Dreams" we CAN change education! Here is how you can help...

enter image description here

I am co founder of a company that teaches K-12 students how to touch type. Last year we thought it would be a good idea to introduce a new way for students to earn rewards for working hard on their typing lessons "Grit Coins".

The making of Grit Coins

( this is Typing Agents our own crypto currency where the students are the miners)
Typing Agent Grit Coins
This is how Grit Coins work within our program.

  • For each lesson the student will earn X number of Grit Coins.
  • X being the number the teacher sets in the Class settings tab.
  • Each grit coin = 1 minute of game play.

Essentially teachers are setting the standard for mining Grit Coins and students are the miners that are producing these grit coins.
This is our own internal block chain simulator but we are not using the block chain just a table in our dB.
Last year in our program we had 14 million Grit Coins mined by students.

What is the net effect we can have on education and how does it compare to Steemit values.

I think the true value of this concept of introducing this to our education system is; we have the opportunity to educate our teachers how Block Chain can be incorporated into the class room.
This is really just the start of what Steemit can contribut to world wide education system.

As I am learning from Steemit; I know it is important to properly teach students about social etiquette, transparency and original content and provide a rich introduction to these concepts to our educators and students alike. This (I belive) can be accomplished and have the most impact through educational software that is already in schools across the US and is being used world wide. If done right and adopted into our program the Steemit community can have a changing effect on our education system.

Typing Agent has the following function that are similar to Steemit.

 - Email system between teachers - students (optionally student - student) 
 - Social wall for teachers to post and moderate student comments
 - Grit Coins that are mined by students and spent at the Game center
 - Coding Section where students learn the proper keystrokes on coding. 

Student interface of Typing Agent

Where you can help change education:

As we are releasing our Summer update of the program August 1st.
After that I am starting to plan our 5.0 version of the program for next year. I would like to get advice from other Steemians that want to contribute and chime in as part of an impromptu advisory board to help shape the future of our Typing Agent program and hopefully the future of eduction.

My Dream and Vision

What would be a dream come true is to have it so that Grit coins were actually true crypto currency and a way to provide value within our typing program that would tie back into a way for schools and districts world wide to have proof of work that is 100% verifiable and cannot be manipulated. I am not smart enough to do that and I am just starting to introduce my team of developers to block chain technology.

I NEED HELP

But for now i just wanted to share with the Steem community how a small bootstrap education company and a small self funded development company is trying to make a difference by introducing the concept of digital currency through our platform that is hitting students world wide.

One of my favorite quotes is from Zig Zigglar
"You will get all you want in life, if you help enough other people get what they want"

Please help by providing me with feedback, direction, advice, help so I can learn and improve in a very small way how we shape our education system as it pertains to this subject.

Thanks for your feedback and comments.
Thanks in advance for your feedback and advice.
Scott Kintz

Proof of being me and this is one of my companies - Typing Agent
That is me Scott Kintz
and my development company SJK Enterprise

this is me today

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Great pictures!

very interesting article, I voted in favor of your article, please vote for my article

- https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@rggreen/hi-people

upvoted your intro welcome too.

Seems like a wonderful tool for teaching students applicable skills for the digital age. What do the students purchase in the game center with their GritCoins? I am still learning Steem and cryptocurrency myself, but I have been wondering if there was something similar I could utilize in my own classroom to promote constructive feedback and reward collaboration. Sounds like you are on the right track to make that happen.

sorry did not visit my post to reply. Students purchase with their girt coins on typingagent.com game time. So it is a way for them to earn game time. We implemented it because students were just playing games in the Typing program and not doing their lessons. So for each lesson they get 1 grit coin that = 1 min of game play.

Block Chain is what I am studying now. thanks for the comment.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 9.4 and reading ease of 71%. This puts the writing level on par with Michael Crichton and Mitt Romney.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55802.73
ETH 2969.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22