What brought me here?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So this is my first ever blog post, my intro to the steemit community, and a forced new beginning in life.

I would like to start with introducing myself, my name is Richard Stewart. I have two boys, a 4 year old and 2 year old and a beautiful wife to be. A big black lab and two cats. Spend most of my time at home with the kids, researching random ways to make an online income.

It wasn't always like this, me being at home. You see I have always had very active jobs, and my main line of work was industrial sandblasting and painting, I liked it, was really good at it and had been in the industry around 10 years, its extremely physical work but somehow eerily peaceful, throw your helmet on and go, no one can bother you. It's always been easy finding new work in this field as not many will travel the road, also having 10 years experience lands you up near the top for pay. I had a plan to start my own mobile sandblasting unit just didn't have the money, however that is another story to be shared another time.

We are going to go back to 2015, I had recently been up in Northern Alberta working, took a job for a few months in the town we were living as my fiance was pregnant, brushing up on my industrial painting skills before going back up north, work slowed down quite a bit and I had to take a layoff. I really didn't mind, we were sitting good. We had money saved up, pregnancy was going well, was going back up north to get together the rest of the money needed to pay for my mobile sandblasting/painting unit, I decided to wait a few months until the baby was born. So I opened a TFSA put a few Gs into the stock market, I had never invested before seemed like a good time to start. We were good, we had a solid plan moving forward.

I have to say life has a funny way of pointing you in your direction, we had a good plan moving forward and then out of nowhere A totally unexpected turn of events, heading home from A friends house just before midnight, I had an over whelming feeling that something was on the highway, I was able to shrug it off after a few minutes, looked down at the speedometer, speed up to the speed limit 100 km/h, look up at the highway and there it is... a cow in the middle of the highway, worst experience thus far... and the circumstances as to why it was on the highway are completely unacceptable, however like I said life has a funny way. I have since been disabled due to back, shoulder, and neck soft tissue injuries which takes me right out of industrial work. I had accidental insurance in place, guess what they don't cover "soft tissue injuries" which somehow includes disc extrusions. The last two years have been hell getting through financially and in general and we will figure it out in time, however I could write a book about this subject!

So on to the next chapter, which brings me to the world of trying to catch up to computers, starting to learn about programming, making apps, coin faucets, cryptos and so on. Very interesting and confusing to a guy who's spent his life in trades and oilfield, good thing for open source networks.

I stumbled onto the GRC faucet, took a bit to figure out but started mining Gridcoin shortly after. Having a hard time getting my network going but I am working on it, have a few more towers and laptops for fixing and setting up on the Boinc/Gridcoin system and some other interested parties in the area wanting to get on board, I really like the idea behind all this, mass computing for universities, open source networks, cryptomining. It will take time but my network will take flight. Moving forward I will diversify into other PoS/PoR setups in time, I have a few plans to try to expand awareness of Gridcoin in my area, along with providing computers for free to low income families within the next little bit.

Once the ball is rolling I can share more about this and brainstorm with the community, Glad to be a part of the Steemit community. Thank you @Drakos and @timcliff for getting me in.

Sort:  

well at least I got an achievement for starting a new board, the follow up for this post is under #freecomputing, I'm a newb and put that as my main tag, and we shall see but I may keep it going with updates and progress on my mission.

Thank you everyone for the support, it means a lot and is very motivational, big plans to give back to the community (public and online) every step is going to be big once incorporation is in place. It will take time but we are working with some brilliant people.

Welcome to Steem @metalmonkey I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Congratulations @metalmonkey! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

A hearty welcome to a fellow gridcoiner ! May the crunch be with you :) if there are any questions arising we have a very good irc and a slack and a telegram group and and ... Please feel free to join the one suiting you best. And take a look around here in steemit we got tons of informations in the gridcoin corner. Have fun !

Thank you, I keep coming across more and more info on here, glad to see people are willing to help. What is your name on telegram? Will add

you have any other way of recovering a wallet, I had a backup and a forked backup saved but deleted the wrong one, lost my whole account... crunching on hold, looking at SPARC, let me know what you think.

Awesome! I can see that this is a recent account so welcome to steemit. I just upvoted you for this as you deserved it and we're all waiting to hear more from you!
I know how hard it is as a fresh account so maybe you want to try @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just directly powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Thank you @kromosoom I will check that out.

Welcome to the community! If you have any questions (no matter how small or silly they may seem) please reach out. I know it can be difficult getting set up, especially if you are aiming to be a solo miner.

For more exposure on your quality Gridcoin related posts, you can add the #beyondbitcoin tag. The whale who resides there, @officialfuzzy, is very supportive of the project.

working up slowly to solo mining, any info you can share would be helpful, think its going to take a bit although once these other machines are up should speed up drastically. Great help so far thank you.

Due to the recent changes with the staking engine (V8) and the upcoming likelihood of fixed block rewards, you will need a significant balance to solo mine. Without a big balance, you won't be able to stake blocks regularly to get paid for your research. Unless you have at least ten thousand GRC, you will be better off in a pool for the time being.

I am not a fan of this, but it's the reality for now... The way research is paid it will likely be changed in future.

Yes, I had to join the GRC pool for the time being. It is very slow going, my last stake keeps disappearing! It was confirmed on the fork, repaired my wallet (update) and it was gone or corrected the blockchain, it made the same stake a second time and got 1 confirmation and now its gone again?

This is happening in your own wallet, right? You staked an orphaned block, which happens frequently on all blockchains. Essentially, two clients staked a block at roughly the same time, and your block had less support so was rejected.

Fear not, the main chain never knew you staked that block, so you lose nothing and will be paid out for research in full when you next stake a block on the main chain.

In shorter terms, both your stakes were on forks, which have low difficulty and thus make it easy to stake. =)

Thank you @dutch, I figured it should stake eventually.

Congratulations @metalmonkey! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit and Gridcoin!

Thank you , very interesting , the opportunities are endless.

Thank you, glad to be a part of helping this build.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52