Is anyone else distracted by the money here?

in #steemit8 years ago

On other social media sites I use (reddit, facebook, voat etc.) I am always drawn to the content - post title/photo immediately. Here I find that I am often first looking to see how much money a post has made, and only then going on to look at the content...

Sort:  

Nah not really. For some of them yeah from time to time, particularly when I'm thinking "we are doomed if this is the most valued subject matter and this article has earned so much"... sort of like rubber-necking a car wreck.

I'm not surprised in the least, but still dismayed about how easily "look, titties!" posts do... I accepted long ago we are mere slaves to our instincts, having only convinced ourselves we have free will.

Yeah, who doesn't love a good pair of boobs eh?!

Interestingly enough, that'ss the second time I've read that about free will this week... this popped up on my feed earlier in the week: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@freewill/freewill-on-free-will-and-accountability-a-demand-for-more-and-compassion-from-kevinwong

I try to resist the urge, but yes, I notice.

Sometimes I think it's that I haven't gotten my search muscles built enough, and am looking just at "new" instead of "new/life" or more filtered lists. For me, it's that I like to write and I like to win. Focusing on the money seems like the best way to earn curation rewards and feel like a winner of the money game.

But I don't let myself look there first because I want to develop a more sophisticated style and world. I'd much rather use my minnow's upvote for good content, as it seems you would too.

No shame in noticing the money, though. I think it gamifies the experience of blogging and makes it more fun. It looks like you have some interesting articles. I'll follow and read up!

Yeah sounds like we're on the same wavelength. I'm gonna try to resist the urge! Thanks for the follow : )

It started out like that for me. I would bet that most people are doing the same thing, even if they say they are not. But now I find myself reading an article and then finding out after if it was making any money or not. Just my opinion.

well I hope I get there soon 'cos im finding it really distracting!

I obviously still notice it, I just try to find articles that interest me no matter how much money it has or will make.

Congratulations @me2! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @me2! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32