Dear Followers: Please don't play coy. I'm bad at recognizing social signals ;-)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

17.04.27 Random trip2 750x299.png

Dear Followers,

It is crucial that you say hello and offer up an opinion on my postings. Otherwise, I really don't know who's here to play "Instagram games" and who's here for conversation. And I do mean engage in conversation.

Ever since my follower list went beyond 50, I've no way to get my ADD brain to go through and check each and every blog of each and every person who randomly follows me.

Trust me, you'll reach this point, too. Chances are good you're already here.

If you don't have ADD, you probably still won't be able to focus on this task because you're going to be busy writing and curating and stuff. Like even Real Life stuff.

So, if you've followed me, and you haven't left any comments at all, chances are fairly steep that I won't be following you back.

Let's talk about conversation in comments.

Good conversations start with something positive about the other person and / or their work. Good conversation includes gently expressing your thoughts on the matter. It can also include telling a story (a short story) about some similar event in your life that lets the other person know, "Hey, I get it."

Great conversations also give you an opportunity to tell about your latest endeavors. I like having great conversations. Please, anytime you leave a good comment on my posts (your thoughts), also leave a short sentence that says, "One of my recent posts was about _____ (and create the link).

If this post is not especially exciting (how did you get here?), I offer up three more opportunities for you to comment :-)

-- WARNING: Negative Neds and Negative Nellies are on Steemit to make money off of your fears.
-- Happy Wedding Anniversary to Us (and Monochrome Monday)
-- "My truck" Creative Writing Challenge In Response to @kubbyelizabeth

PS if you promise not to spam me with stupid 3 word comments, I promise to say more than "Thank You" over and over and over. How boring is it to read a writer spamming their own post with the same repetitive "Thank You"? Awful! Awful!!

Sort:  

Looks to me like you have downloaded JWildfire. Is that correct? If you have, what is your first impression?

Oh, actually no. That's from Amberlight. http://www.escapemotions.com/products/amberlight/support.php

But thanks for paying attention :-)

And it's still on my todo list

Ha! You foxed me. But that is still a cool image. 😋

Note to self: @fractalizer is easy to fox

Haha!

Yes I've really enjoyed Amberlight. It runs fairly quick. The color controls can be awkward. I'm starting to just go with monochromes and two color blends.

I have yet to download the trial version of the latest and greatest. I'm afraid I would then have to spend STEEM.

Another awesome topic! < 3 words ;-) yup had to go there... If folks aren't here to build a great community then it is them who are missing out while the rest of us have fun and meet some awesome folks in this world!

I think some have just been trained to think that ❤💙💜💛👍👍👍🌺🌻🌺🌷🌺🌼🌺 is a new language (can't wait to see how that translates on the PC) and that the only way to the top is through algorithms based on large numbers.

I'm not freaked out that people may be following me just to read. That's their option.

That said, since Steemit doesn't notify us through a system flag that someone new has followed, we must resort to being creatively proactive to be noticed.

I suspect steemd.com records when someone follows and I remember there's another app that tells us about follower activity ... but seriously, even if Steemit sent me a list, it takes a bunch of time and mental bandwidth to check up on each one!

So I seriously want to keep up with people who are seriously into conversation.

No. I don't do follow4follow. I'm following people who have made themselves interesting.

Wow O I hope you really ❤ words. 😉

Yup I prefer reading over video..

It all depends on my mood. But when pressed for time, I can usually read a transcript faster and retain more.

Same here.. Voracious reader.

Hey. I get it. (That's four words). I win the internet. You better not answer with "thank you". Lol.

Ps. I got her browsing the "new" content.

You might indeed win the Internet! I predict your great sense of humor will take you far. It may only succeed it taking people far off topic but sometimes that's the best route!

To prove my prediction is valid, I have immediately followed you without checking to see if you followed me :-) (Also, I can't risk the distraction)

And I have no idea whatsoever why anyone checks the Trending list (ok I lie but really they can't possibly be looking for the innovative). The new list is always full of intrigue!

I have a rule of thumb. I generally wait until I read a couple of posts before I decide to follow. Now that I have (and upvoted of course), I have reciprocated.

I'm taking it slow with adding people to follow. I want to make sure I want them on my feed. Lol.

Generally, I do follow your methods and I am enjoying my feed. Which is ever so nice! So keep your methodology. It works.

I also have no shame in unfollowing and so sometimes I just take a huge risk. LoL

I don't concern myself about who has unfollowed, either. Protecting my mental bandwidth is paramount! I expect everyone else to protect theirs, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53