Here's the real reason why everyone in the Steemit community is so nice.

in #steemit7 years ago

Ever since I started my adventure on Steemit, everybody I met has been extraordinarily nice to me. As this is a statistic impossibility, it got me thinking.
20151203_103255.jpg

I mean, there's all these people telling me what a fantastic community this is and how they have learned so many valuable lessons.
And then there's the people that made all these wonderful friends and tell me how this is the best platform to expose their art. Or travelblogs. Or incomprehensible presentations on crypto-currency.

But let's face it: there are bigger and better platforms out there to get educated, meet people and write stories.

The REAL reason people are all superfriendly here is because everybody, and I mean everybody, is trying to make some $$$.

Nothing more, nothing less.
Anyone stating other reasons for joining this amazing rollercoaster is a big fat liar.

Peace and love!

Sort:  

Welcome to the community!

Are you drunk? This post is a year old.....

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to steemit

Yes it is true that people are just trying to make money. However, when you reach a certain amount of steam power you get more control over your voting power. You can decide how much % of your voting power will go to the upvote.

This means that the responsibilty lies with the person doing the upvoting. By rewarding constructive comments more then nice comments, people will get incentivised to do more work on their comments. Thereby increasing the value of the platform for both creator and curator.

Yes it is true that there are currently other better platforms for learning, meeting people etc. However, this mostly comes down to their network effect. If all those members where on this platform it would perform better, that is what I believe, because of the underlying fundamentals.

This platform is still very young and over time while it matures you will see an increase in quality. While being nice does a lot right now, it will do less when the competition increases and so the market will adapt. Do take in mind this whole process will take years.

Among this long path many more changes will be made and the complexity, of the content and interactions, will grow over time. Change is almost never immediate.

Very true words. I'm pretty sure this platform is going to grow and happy to be part of it. But that doesn't change the fact that people come here for the cash.

No it does not, but that is just basic economics, supply and demand. People go to social media platforms for entertainment, eduction, relaxing etc. If you are able to provide this for people this is worth money, since time is worth money. The platform just facilitates the trade.

When you look at any other big content creator on any platform, it is all monetised. It's just that most of the money goes to the shareholders of the platform and some goes to the top 5% of the content creators. Here the rewards are more evenly spread. People are just being people to try and figure out every way possible to get as big as a share.

I do not think this is any different than other jobs in real life like service jobs, the person on the phone is being nice mostly to keep his/her job. And also here you must have noticed an increase of politeness from more premium brands.

I know you're right with most of the people around here, but try not to get reactive. You know your values. Follow, upvote, resteem and try to befriend the people you respect and leave the rest. In the long term only the ones with good content and real connections will thrive

Uhm.....I never said I didn't like it. Or that it's a bad thing😜. Au contraire!

Uhm ... we're still talking about the fake love, right? It really seamed like you despise it, but if "au contraire" maybe you shouldn't complain about @minnowhelp, @digital-gypsy, @chrisx and @davidzack commenting on your post without reading it.

Are you agitated? Because @minnowhelp, @digital-gypsy, @chrisx and @davidzack sure don't seem to be.

Hi Marcovanhassel, you are most likely right, but why not? I and I'm sure others post the same or similar things on other platforms and have been doing so for years with no form of monetary reward, we have done it because we want to, we love what we do. So why not do the same on a platform where you are rewarded for doing exactly the same thing that you have been doing for years. Being friendly is not such a bad thing. In some form, isn't that what a lot of us do (rightly or wrongly) in our 9 to 5 to get our wage. We may or may not particularly like some of the people we work with, or for, but to keep the peace (and get paid) we regularly bite our tongue! It's great that we, not only the company, are seeing our share of the success of the platform. We may not all get paid the big bucks like some of the whales on here, but if we all can get a small piece of the pie, then why not? I think Steemit is great, but I also think other social media that I use is great, but I'm not getting any financial reward out of them(yet anyway lol)! I hope you enjoy your time here Marco, I hope we can all make some money!

I'm not saying it's wrong to be here for the cash. I'm saying it's hypocritical to pretend that one is not here for the money.

fair enough comment

welcome to the community
and so true

Let me welcome you to Steemit Marcovanhassel . I'm @chrisx and if you need any help don't hesitate to contact or follow me :-)

Did you even read my post @chrisx?

There are a lot of assholes on steemit, you'll fit right in, don't worry. Just don't troll, spam, or plagiarize...hahaha

Thank you for your honesty @reddust. I know the rules.....can't make promises about ocassional trolling though😜

I am a reformed troll from back in the alt.com days lol, I learned from the best online Buddhist board assholes ever!

When I got a ton of replies to my first post I began to suspect something was up. I soon realised there were quite a few bot accounts and that many people were commenting in hopes of receiving money. Hard not to be cynical about it.

This community is what you want to make of it, there are real and caring people that have small communities here...and yes part of this ecosystem is about making money. The crappy part the largest accounts here own most of the sp and they are about profit and control. So this ecosystem functions much like the real world and the only thing that is decentralized is the blockchain..Don't piss off the whales and make them some money and you'll be good as gold.

Can't say I'm fussed about what the "whales" think. I'm not expecting to become rich or famous here. I was just keen to try it out.

I've had a lot of fun, I've even teased a few whales for the fun of it...lolol

I've been able to buy a new apple laptob, my poor old imac died. I traded my sbd at the last uptick for btc and shopped at Newegg, which takes btc...I've almost have a whole BTC and bought some LTC which is a very stable cryptocurrency. I didn't know much about cryptocurrency until I joined Steemit. Now my husband and I can have a intelligent conversation about blockchains and cryptocurrency. He is a bitcoin nut and a techy. I've found some of the best articles regarding tech and cryptocurrency on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46