Calculating the costs of your actions in Steemit after HF20

in #steemit6 years ago

Happy Saturday everyone!!

Since HF20 was declared stable, and most of us could resume to our almost normal posting, commenting, upvoting activities on Steemit, there are still questions revolving around how HF20 changes the way we engage in Steemit moving forward. And I believe, things have changed for some of us, especially those with less than 100SPs and even more challenging if we have less than 50SPs.

I have to admit, as I was telling @crosheille, whenever I saw titles with HF20 before the upgrade exercise, I thought HF20 was about some Chemistry class topic on some chemical reaction for some substance like H2O (water) or something like that or if it was Hardfork20, I was thinking about physics 😅 and it did not strike me to go read about it. So, the upgrade was quite a shock for me, and possibly for some of you too.


In this hardfork20 post, it was mentioned that:

The biggest change included in this update is that our previous bandwidth system will be replaced with a more accurate and efficient “Resource Credit” system.


Before HF20, I have never really monitored anything else apart from Voting Power (VP) %. I have sort of read about bandwidth but do not know much about it, let alone looked at the numbers. But since HF20, in addition to VP %, the one other thing I monitor most now is the Resource Credits (RC).

This was mainly because just after the upgrade, I think most of us with lesser Steem Power had our Resource Credits (Mana) dropped from 100% to less than 20% with just 1 upvote and / or 1 comment, and we could not do anything else after that until the RC recharges (which was said to need 5 days to fully recharge). This was before the team installed the patch to multiply the resource budgets by 10x to ensure continuity in Steemit (Thank you to all who worked on the upgrades and patching to enable us to Steem again 🌈).

Earlier this week, @shanibeer posted on #needleworkmonday #minnowuprising and #hardfork20 | Growing the needleworkmonday community and both of us got into a conversation about using Steemd.com to monitor our RCs and how to use the information to calculate the cost of RC for each action that we do on Steemit. With @shanibeer's idea and encouragement, here is my little post about this topic (@shanibeer, please feel free to add anything I missed out 😊).

So, if you do not already know this, steemd.com is one of the places we can go to, to monitor our Steemit information, numbers and status, much thanks to the creator, @roadscape.

From your page (in my case is steemd.com/@marblely), you will notice a summary of your account:


RCbefore.png

-> 1. Your current total Steem Power (SP) information
-> 2. How much of the total is actual SPs in your wallet and how much is delegated to you
-> 3. Your current Voting Power (VP) and how many % before it reaches 100% for optimum upvote value.
-> 4. Your Resource Credits status %
-> 5. Your Resource Credits in Millions (in the example above, 264,200M is the current status and 303,300M is the total which gives the 87.10% before it reaches 100%)
-> 6. Your current reputation (in the example below, my reputation is 52.8)
-> 7. Your age on Steemit including the month and year you joined (I joined March 2018)

For a different view, I also go to steemworld.org/@marblely (again, do change @marblely to your username) to see how much my VP is worth and a whole bunch of cool and useful information such as who voted for our post, who mentioned us, etc:
(steemworld.org is another cool tool to check our Steemit status, numbers and information, much thanks to @steemchiller, the creator of the tool)
steemworld1.png
At 85.88%, my upvote is worth $0.0102, it feels nice to be able to make a difference to someone's post or comment I upvote for. I would very much like to thank @googlyeyes for this delegation as one of the winners in the #googlyeyes contest - do check out their latest contest and come join too!


And just below the summary, you will notice your Resource Credits information:


RCdetails.png

-> 8. These are the details of your available max and current RC or Mana (in case you are wondering, the % are different between the screenshots because the RC is recharging and the page was reloaded)
-> 9. This tells us roughly how many comments/upvotes/transfers/powerups we are allowed to perform based on what we have available
-> 10. The approximate hours to recharge to 100%


There are a couple more websites we can check for these information but so far, most Steemians pointed to steemd.com to check on RCs. Therefore, I will just share a little here for the purpose of showing you how we can analyze and calculate the RC (Mana) costs of our actions on Steemit today. I will not go through the features of this steemd.com or steemworld.org because I am very sure, you can find quite a number of good posts in Steemit that has already talked about them in detail.

So, for the last couple of days, I have been monitoring, capturing and analyzing the cost of each action that I do e.g. posting, resteeming, following, upvoting a post, upvoting a comment, replying to a post, replying to a comment, replying to a reply, etc. In a summary, here are some of my findings:

  • Posting costed about 2x00M to 4x00M
  • Editing a posted post costed about the same as posting that particular post, e.g. I posted one which costed 4000M and editing it twice, costed 8100M.
  • First comment to other Steemian's post can cost between 1x00M to 2x00M
  • Replying to a comment of other's post or your own post can cost between 2x00M to 3x00M
  • Replying to a reply to a reply can cost more than 3x00M. I realised the more level of replies you have, the more RC (Mana) is required. I hit 4000M in a particular level 4 or 5 reply.
  • Upvoting a post or comment costed between 200M to 300M
  • Resteeming a post costed 100M
  • Following costed 100M
  • Transfers can cost from 300M to 500M

As you can see, the numbers vary to a certain extent but there is a range that we can plan for.

You might ask, why and do we need to analyze all this numbers? Well, the fact is, you probably don't need to if you have SPs more than 100 and definitely don't need to if you have above a few hundred SPs in your account. And even if you have 100SPs or so, you may not need to either but it is interesting, in my opinion, to analyze this because it helps you plan your activities here on Steemit, i.e. you will avoid actions that would chew up RCs and to avoid with a sudden shock of not enough RCs left for you to do stuffs, especially if you like to read and comment and upvote all the good posts on Steemit.

For example, based on the summary above, when my SP delegation ends in a week or so, when my SP is halved to less than 100, I will need to be vigilant and:

  • avoid editing my post twice and instead, read and re-read my post before posting to avoid 8000M RC cost
  • maybe reply to a post directly or reply to the first comment instead of replying to a reply to a reply to a reply which would cost more compared to the former.

Therefore, if you are interested to analyze your RCs, here is how I did it:
(1) Prepare a spreadsheet with some columns like below:
exampleSpreadsheet.png

(2) Using your favourite browser, in one tab, open steemd.com/@marblely (you just need to change @marblely to your username).

(3) At another tab, go to your Steemit page (the one that you plan to do stuffs to, e.g. posting, commenting, upvoting, etc).
Opentabs.png

(4) Type all you want (BUT do not hit the Post button yet), or decide which one you want to upvote, resteem, follow, etc.

(5) Go to your steemd.com page, click on the reload icon (or press Ctrl-R on your keyboard) to reload the page to obtain the most current RC number:
reload.png

RC.png

Quickly copy and paste the number into Column B (RC Before) of your spreadsheet or just remember the number in your head first.

(6) Go back to your Steemit page and perform the action you were planning to at Step 4.

(7) Once the action has been completed, go back to your steemd.com page and click to reload again.

(8) Copy and paste the current RC number into Column C (RC After) of your spreadsheet.

(9) Use your spreadsheet to calculate the Cost (Column D), example below:
spreadsheetCostColD.png

Fill up what action was taken and the total RC you have.

(10) You can use the spreadsheet to calculate the % (Column F):
spreadsheetPctColF.png

(11) And fill up other relevant information regarding the action you took (Columns G, H, I, J, K....):
spreadsheet.png

And that's it!


Sorry folks for this long winded post. Thank you for sticking around, but if you scrolled all the way down without reading it, I don't blame you 😁.

If any of you have come across any other write-ups a similar topic, please let me know in the comment because I am interested to compare with what I am analyzing and if I am doing it correctly or wrongly. And sorry if I mis-intepreted anything here, please feel free to correct me in the comment below. Everyday here is a learning for me 😊.


Here are some other (and older) posts in Steemit that might interest you to read further on HF20:


This is also an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


🍉🌞🍧🍨🍦 Have a lovely weekend there! 🍹😎🏊☀🌅

tqfordroppingby-smaller.jpg

Sort:  

Really interesting analysis @marblely 😉, I think I need to try this at home.. oopppss I mean my laptop 😆 I never care about this before, because I have tried to drain my RC to check on how many things that I can do before I can see the notification again.. (somebody would do the counts tomorrow anyway 😂) but.. I need to know.. Thanks for sharing this with us

Hey @cicisaja, thank you for taking the time to go through. Hope I didn't confuse you 😅.
Yah, I was curious when our RCs were down to almost dust during that few days and it was really frustrating not being able to do anything. And after it was up, I cherish every bit and byte of it 😆, which is pretty much the reason for this exercise. But anyhow, it was a fun to analyze. Though, it brings a question of should we care that our RC goes down to maybe 50% and takes probably a day (24hrs) of inactivity to recharge to 70% maybe. But I think it is also human nature, for me, I don't quite like seeing my % going down to below 80% haha.

😂 I always want to see my RC touch down under 50% but.. I don't have that chance because something inside me also prevented me from that stupid curiousity 😂.. well.. I think you won't spent your RC to C-R-C-R I supposed.. now go to abh12345 post and take your chance to win 500sp

Haha.. I think if we just keep commenting, it might just reach down under 50%. Hahaha. C-R-C-R comes naturally most times when we feel chatty hahaha. But now, will need to monitor. Can't simply C-R-C-R-C-R no more.
Ooo haha... just saw it. Love you! 😍😘 Hehe.

Love you to @marblely 😂 you know that we both love that long thread of comments

Haha oh yes we do! 😆 Happy weekend there @cicisaja!

Everyday is always like weekend to me, Thanks@marblely.. enjoy your weekend too

Ooo that is nice. Hehe. thank you!

Thank you for the breakdown @marblely I must admit that I edit my posts a few times.

Hey thanks for reading @gmatthe2. Yah, I do too. I was quite surprised when I saw the costs for each edit is the same as writing a new post but I guess it makes sense because it needs to save as a post. Happy Sunday there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73