What is wrong with some of the Steemit users! And is anything wrong in Self Promoting?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have spent 1+ Month in steemit. And there are some disturbing facts in steemit that is similar to other social medias.

Steemit is the most beautiful platform i have seen soo far in my life. It is a platform where you can grow yourself, make your self a living. But sometimes we forget, is it really necessary to make this like the other Social medias?


welcome-to-steemit-k2ltgp9d7e9.jpg

(Things iv'e noticed that are disturbing in steemit.)

When i first joined steemit, there were people who came up to comment on my blog saying "Follow for Follow", this made me think if i was on Twitter or Instagram.
Its very common to see people go follow for follow in those websites. Because they think having a lot of followers is a sense of pride. I also commonly noticed this in Steemit. Where people first say "Follow me and I'll follow you back".
I'd rather stay away from them.
The reason being, they will first follow you because they want to randomly increase their followers. And they have no interest in your Content. You may have 1000 followers, but if no one is interested in what you make, Is there a point?
You'd rather have 50 loyal followers who follow you because they admire your work, and with those 50 you will someday make more than $300 easily.
Also, the ones who go follow for follow will initially Unfollow you at some point. Why? Because they think after reaching certain number of followers, unfollowing them and showing that you follow only 10-15 and your have a followers base of 1000+ is a big pride to them. Some follow 10k users and jump with joy when they hit 1k followers. Crappy. (Remember buddy! they will unfollow you too and you'll lick dust)

All this happens in other social medias. And now it's happening to steemit as well. Unless you're a girl, and some horny men's start following you. (Story of Instagram)



maxresdefault.jpg

Instead of all this, make this palace a better place. Remember, you can earn here with just sharing our thoughts and you don't need to sell yourself to make money here. It happens in Instagram and Twitch.

Admire the authors hard work. Follow because you find him/her helpful and interesting or you love their posts. Don't go with an expectations.

I have about 263 followers, but most of them ii feel are following with an expectation for follow for follow. I won't do that unless i find your posts helpful or are really good. If you are following me for Follow for follow then remember to unfollow me straight away.
But remember the one's i follow will always be in my followed list. because i like what they do.



Why self promoting is not bad


self-promote.png

As a new member into the community it gets harder to grow then the ones already up. To get noticed you may need a lot of help. Of course there are lot's of help available, for e.g. @minnowsupport of the whaleshare community. To self promote you may also decide to send some SBD to @randowhale, @minnowbooster,@booster. etc. But if your post is crap and you decide to use them to promote the post, it's no use. People may not like it.
The only way to get noticed in the community when you are new is either join @minnowsupport or Whaleshare community in the Discord channel.

There is no harm in using self promoting techniques, as you want to get noticed, don't you?

You could join the Minnowsupport channel here, Or the whaleshares Community this is the part of discord servers. They are there to help new users. You can find me too in there.

Feel free to Follow or Unfollow.

Join My Mobile Photography contest 1 Day to go.

DQmNbsydJ9F74caEf6k1zUvF7AzD729KHUmewyLmGnC7AP4_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Great read, I really agree with you on this one. And thanks for the heads up on self-promotion.

It gets important to self promote when your are new.

being guilty in my first week here on steemit of doing this follow4follow thing, I totally agree with you. I grew my first 100 followers this way. I am approaching 500 but to be fair I think a lot of them are still follow4follow people who didnt realize I didnt follow back.

I interact with a handful of steemers pretty much everyday and a couple more a couple times a week.

As steemit is still very anonymous it is sometimes hard to see who you are interacting with especially if they dont have a profile pic (note to myself get a profile pic).
And it is way more fun this way.

I saw people celebrating their 1000st follower, following over 3000 people and have no real interaction on their post.

I really really hope if someday I can make such a post most of my followers will be celebrating with me.

lol i see usres following 10k users and celebrating on reaching 1k followers.

same same but different but same shit

I want to see their feed. I miss with mine already a lot

Good post and a very valid point, follow for follow is a crap concept... I'm brand new to steem just this week and i'm really excited by the possibilities of the blockchain side and the social experiment side, and i'd love to see people deal with this problem from the bottom up, but people are obsessed with numbers, not putting out original content.The number of straight up reposts from other channels, with a badly written sentence as the posters only original contribution, is insane on here, but until there is an opportunity to personalise a channel or something i guess its hard to stand out from the crowd, in a sea of minnows screaming for attention..

p.s. i will follow you for the correct reason ;) if you like my art and stuff, feel free to do the same ;)

For help you are always welcome to the Discord community.. And i shall check your posts, as i get free.. :)

Follow me :p

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Manishmike10 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations for your post!

I've been on the internet for around 8 years now and I got used to the "follow for follow" thing. I learned to ignore it after realizing those people will never really care about what you do and all they want is to see you follow them.

When I first joined Steemit I was, of course, welcomed by all those people who wanted to follow me for no reason, if I followed them back. I kindly refused.

Since I've been on the internet for such a long time, I realized that there's nothing more important here than high quality content. If all you care about is the number of followers you have, while you create crappy content, you won't get anywhere, and you will, for sure, not make as much money as you want.

I'm not the kind of guy who writes only huge articles, like 2000+ words, but I do my best to post at least once a day and write about something that I know or like, in order to provide something for all the people that follow me because they are interested in what I have to say.

Congratulations again for your post, really enjoyed reading it, and best of luck!

I agree with you on the need for self-promotion. I've seen people with thousands of followers and their posts get no attention whatsoever. So it's not the number of followers.. it's the quality that matters.

What many don't understand is that online is no different from real life. It's important to create a niche audience and build relationships. Good post!

Agreed Mate! Good luck on your steemit journey

Great insights about the general trends of Regular Social Medias...Regular Social Medias like IG, Fb, Twitter or any other regular blog would flourish with these follower numbers But Steemit is totally different from stereotypic social medias. I have seen many users with followers in 1000's and their posts earning just few cents. That is pathetic condition. Even i have seen some users with one year of account and they have followers but due to lack of Content have just few real followers. I literally have distributed these followers as Real, And Pseudo followers. The Pseudo followers mean nothing even if you have them in tens of 1000's. However, Real ones even if in few numbers will fetch you more than 1000 Pseudo followers. Below is a link by @shaunmza to keep a check of your followers and if you see certain chunk unfollowing you it should not disturb your peace of mind as long as you have confidence in your content, The original content will definitely attract you some like minded followers.
https://steem.makerwannabe.com/index.php?username=mirhimayun&period=4 (type your username instead of mine)

And The GOLDEN RULE for success in steemit is Patience and Persistence with your original content and Go on Blogging Without caring much about the payouts at first (which is eventually gonna be small at first).
I as a Minnow believe Self Promoting is important to get your content noticed by some big guys and following and being an active member of certain communities would make a great impact as well... Also have conducive communication with your followers by replying their comments. That also will earn you some sincere followers.

Thanks For being a Patient Reader, although it is a long comment but i hope it will be helpful for some new users who consider Steemit like any other Social media platform.

I noticed this. I almost ditched Steemit because I felt that people had ulterior motives for being overly enthusiastic and positive. I then realised that this is human nature for the most part, and there's no avoiding it. For me I just use this as a place to vent, not unlike a self-help diary. The public space forces me to articulate my thoughts a little better than I would otherwise. I suspect that the concept of basically earning money for "likes" will cheapen the Steemit experience.

It's almost like a cult, except the people here aren't fishing for god's acceptance but rather money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59385.33
ETH 2590.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48