Where did my upvotes go?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I saw this post of @abh12345 about what class of users his upvotes have been given and he presented that through a colourful pie chart. That made me wonder about my upvotes. Many actually got curious too and asked for their respective chart. Whatever tool he uses to extract the data, he got my pie chart.


This is my pie chart.

Here is how @abh12345 classified the authors.

I did not have the least idea that my upvotes were mostly for small fishes because when I upvote, I do not usually check which class the author belongs to. I do this only very rarely because I do not want an extra step of going from the article page to the author's page just to check the author's class. I take a look at the quality of the post then the estimated payout and number of votes that the article already got.

The reason that I think why I do not have much upvotes or even zero for the bigger fishes is because I do not see them posting much, at least for those I know their username. They may be posting once in a while but their post could have been drowned in many other posts of smaller fishes that I no longer get to see it. Most of the time, I cannot scroll on my feed down enough to reach the latest post that I have seen from my previous visit. The list of posts is just really very long.

I am glad that most of my upvotes then went to my fellows who need boosting. Even if my upvote does not yet have dollar value, I believe that still helps motivate authors to keep writing. On other other hand, I have no problem upvoting posts of bigger fishes for as long as their posts are really of good quality.

Now I wonder... can we also extract data of which class our upvotes are coming from? Let us ask @abh12345 if that is possible.

I just made a few checks and noted that I have upvotes from some minnows, few dolphins, and an orca! Some of them are actually somewhat my regular upvoters. Yes, I notice my regular upvoters even planktons like me. Thank you to all of you!

Curious to know where your upvotes have gone to? Check it out with @abh12345 on his article. Actually, thanks to him for coming up with this idea.


Join #ccc and get guaranteed daily income and payout for newbies by following the honor code - The Creed - with conditions and limitations. Click here for the details.

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Sort:  

Thank you for mentioning my Post and appreciating the pie chart @macoolette.

Perhaps I can look at where the votes to you are coming from soon :)

You're welcome. And thank you too. I look forward to the next report with my voters this time. 😊

thanks for the info, this is actually a good idea, never thought about this before!

You're welcome. Yes, I also thought it is a good idea so I shared it for others to know.

I agree with you, even if the votes are not much as yet, a vote still shows the author the appreciation for their hard work! Good on you!

Ditto. Thank you. 😊

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44