We All Need Somebody To Lean On - Helping Your Friends Get Off To A Good Start On Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Since joining and finding some success on Steemit a few months ago, I have introduced a few people to the platform with varying degrees of success.

I see the huge potential of Steemit and all of the applications that will evolve from this platform and have drank the kool-aid to a certain extent and creating content online is not new to me.

Some people are just not ready to be content creators or they are green when it comes to creating content online. In time though, one by one, they will jump on the bandwagon I'm sure.

It's amazing what a community of like-minded people can do when they put their minds and talents to a task. I have seen group magic happen many times in my life and if you're a Steemian, you'll see it happening more as the months progress.

Steemit reminds me of that Pink Floyd song...
...remember the lyrics?

Everybody else is just green,
Have you seen the chart?
It's a helluva start,
It could be made into a monster
If we all pull together as a team.

by Roger Waters from Pink Floyd from the song, "Have A Cigar"

Some of my friends though are very good writers and the Steemit community would benefit from their contributions. Still, the way the platform stands right now in its beta form, it will be a while before the vast majority of people feel comfortable using the platform.

That doesn't discourage me from trying to attract them now though. When email first came to the internet people didn't flock to that right away and look what happened to the internet. Everyone is online these days because there's an app for everyone and Steemit and blockchains will be like that one day.

helping friends on steemit.png

I have tried various methods to attract and entice new members to join and one way that seems to be working the best is to help them with introductions once they make their first post.

My friend joined Steemit a month or so ago and just posted her first post yesterday. It took her a while to post because right after she joined she went to the demonstration at Standing Rock and has been there for the last six weeks.

She's a great writer, but also very active and influential on social media and online communities so having her move her online activities to Steemit will be a great addition to the community and will probably influence many others to migrate here.

Early adopters with an online following are some of the best people to concentrate efforts to bring their followers along with them once they make the move.

Once @decomposing sprinkles her magic into the mix of this community, more will follow her and the magic will take root.

The Process

Here's the process that has worked so far to introducing new users to Steemit in a way that maximizes their results and gives them a good first impression of how Steemians are a community. I'll share with you the results.

First off, I had the chance to show her first hand my results while she was visiting me and some of my enthusiasm hopefully was contagious.

Next, a friend of hers joined and posted first and had some early success.

Yesterday I noticed she made her first post about her experiences at Standing Rock titled, The Meaning Of Life At Standing Rock --- by @dcomposing

As soon as I saw she made a post, which I didn't catch until six hours after she posted, I resteemed it and commented on her post.

Then I made a post about her post and asked my followers, you, to show her some support. Her post was good so it was easy to recommend it. I titled my post, My Friend Is At The Standing Rock Protest Fighting On Our Behalf Please Welcome Her To Steemit

In my short post, I said a little about her and asked people to check her out and also promised to transfer all rewards that my post made to her account because it's not about me, it's about helping a new member and a friend.

decomposing rewards.png

decomposing transfer.png

The rewards of my post and transfer of rewards

I think it's important when a new member who potentially would be a benefit to the Steemit community makes their first post, they see some results and not get lost in the feed and discouraged. Transferring some Steem is a small price to pay for a great new author joining the platform and more importantly, sticking around to Steem on.

My first 4 posts when I joined made zero rewards but I understood it takes a while to build up some value. That's why it's called sweat equity. You need to sweat, but a little help never hurt.

Next, I commented on her post and of course upvoted it, but also added it to some of the chat feeds on Steemit Chat, Curie, post-moderated-others, etc.

Then I found a post on the trending page titled, Dakota Access Pipeline Protestors Win A Victory Or Do They by @pfunk.

That post was totally related to the Standing Rock demonstrations, the topic of the first post by my friend @decomposing.

I made a comment on @pfunk's post talking about my friend who is at Standing Rock and added a link to her post. Not my post, hers and only because it was totally relevant and current. I would not have added a comment if it was not related to her post.

All of this helped it get restemmed by others and it got picked up by the Curie Project! First post! Pretty cool.

decomposing resteems.png

Her first post got some ReSteems from the community

She's still at Standing Rock in the thick of what's going on there and I don't think she's even seen her Steemit post yet since posting, but when she does, I'm sure the support she sees from the community will go a long way to encouraging her to Steem on.

Her Rep shot up to 51 and she picked up 11 followers and Steem Power all because we came together as a team. This couldn't have happened without all of us pitching in and responding.

She also had her post picked up by Project Curie which helped her het noticed right off the bat. that was a big help and the fact that her post was that good made them selecting it more likely.

decomposing picked up by curie.png

Her post was picked up by projects curie

Here's the link to the @curie post with her post added The Daily Curie 5Th Dec To 6Th Dec 2016

dcomposing first post.png

Payout from @decomposing's first post

The post I made asking the community to show her support made some SBD too as you can see below. All of that was transferred to her and curators as promised.

dcomposting helping post.png

decomposing wallet.png

Final results in her wallet after her first post

Thank you to everyone that helped and upvoted her and I'm sure you're going to love what she shares with us.

Final Notes

The moral of this story is it helps to help others especilly on a platform like Steemit. I see many people use spammy comments and self-promoting techniques on Steemit and while there's nothing wrong with promoting yourself and your content, social media works best when you promote other peoples content . Each time I have done this and wrote a story about it, the post that I write earns the rewards that I gave away right back. Pay it forward works on Steemit


Related Posts

Dakota Access Pipeline Protestors Win A Victory Or Do They --- by @pfunk

The Meaning Of Life At Standing Rock --- by @dcomposing

My Friend Is At The Standing Rock Protest Fighting On Our Behalf Please Welcome Her To Steemit --- by @luzcypher


luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Sort:  

Nice post! I've been trying to get some friends interested too but they either don't have the time or seem reluctant somehow. It is hard to get started, for a variety of different reasons.

You can lead a horse to water but you can't make them drink. You can however, hold a palmful to their lips and give them a taste of that water.

Great story and great advice. Keep up the good work.

So nice of you!! She must be enthusiastic after this first post!
By the way, where do you see this "First payout distribution" charts? It's so cool!!

This is great! You know I'm all about recruiting. As soon as I get my brother here I know more will follow. He's got a dedicated group of fans in the city of Rochester NY, and many of them have talents that would add greatly. Between the two of us, and helpful tips like this post, we'll be a force ;)


Hi @luzcypher, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thank you. I appreciate what you're doing.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

You are so right @luzcypher, now is the first time I've been back online since posting that first post.. it took me a long time to get to where I had my story in place, and enough information to feel like I could back up my statements with links to relevant stories for people who want to know more about Standing Rock to find good sources.

I'm so grateful for your assistance, we DO need friends to lean on because we can have such a profound impact for good when we work together..

Thanks and Love!

I figured you were busy so when I saw people responding to your post, I answered some of them for you. Posts on Steemit have about a 24-hour lifecycle to earn rewards so posting and running will not work so well.
Here's a site that someone put together that has some good tips you may find helpful. https://www.steemithelp.net/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37