Seeking Community Feedback On An Idea - Would You Offer Or Pay For A Service With Steem Or Steem Dollars?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I want to run an idea by the Steemit community to get some feedback and insight first before going any further with it.

Everyone here has so many good ideas, talents, and skills that I was thinking of starting a site like Fiverr.com that would except Steem and Steem Dollars.

steemcart.png

If you've never heard of Fiverr, it's a site where people can post things they will do for people starting at $5 or as they put it:

Freelance services for the lean entrepreneur Credit

Here are a few examples of some recent gigs posted on Fiverr that I screen captured so you can see what it looks like.

fiverr gigs.png

I have sold things on Fiverr and paid people to do everything from helping me with SEO work, create a promotional video for me, create a logo, do video testimonials on a product, create a landing page, hold a sign up with my website written on it in Time Square, and even make a video singing happy birthday to a friend while dressed as a clown.

Anyway, I know that Peerhub.com is a cool site that sells things online and accepts Steem and Steem Dollars and was thinking if we had a site that offered services to Steemians for Steem or Steem Dollars it would help the community and create more ways to use and trade Steem.

There are some very skillful people selling their services on Fiverr but also some fun and entertaining services that people will do for 5 or 10 bucks.

For example, here's another screen shot of some of the more fun and entertaining gigs on Fiverr.

fiverr pranks.png

First I want to know what you guys think of this idea and do you believe it would help the Steemit community.

Let me know what you think in the comments below. Thanks.


luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

It's a great idea. If possible, rather than limiting it to Steem, how about just making it work with several cryptos? Your userbase would expand massively.

That's a fantastic idea. Brilliant actually. There are some multi-crypto wordpress plugins out there but Steem and Steemit are not on them yet however, I think I have a solution that would work.

I know that CoinPayments accepts over 50 coins (including steem) and has plugins for shopping carts, point of sale, invoice, etc. Not sure if that would be helpful or not.

Thanks. I have heard of them but didn't know they take steem and sbd. I will have a closer look

you can use the bitshares exchanges like openledger and bittrex but I'm not sure how managing a auto exchange bot would work, it would need the current price of the currency and they are quite a bit different, also the volume is low in some crypto. If you can make a wallet that is used for shopping and maybe use the existing exchanges. I'm growing to like bitshares :D it seems like there are some great people there and they are trying to expand.

You're the first to show me. Thanks

No prob, hopefully it doesn't crush your dreams ;)

No worries. As soon as I posted that post someone told me about @surpassinggooles post and we have been talking and may collaborate together. You got to love this community. Great minds think alike.

ya seriously. Well that's a good turn of events then!

I was messing around on Simbi for a while. The site has a great idea of trading services for one another. If I'm an A/C mechanic who needs his computer fixed and you are a computer tech who needs his A/C fixed then the idea is you can find each other on Simbi and trade services. This is a great idea except I don't need anything from anybody on there. So if you don't trade services then you can trade the Simbi's currency (also called Simbi) in exchange for a service. This would be good if the Simbi currency had any value off their own website. It doesn't. So, after I did a few drawings for people in exchange for simbi, I sort of lost interest because it's not worth anything. I just have a pile of simbi dollars that I can't really use.

My point is, there are all kinds of people on there using that site so there is a market for it. It would be amazing if the same site was setup to use steem instead of simbi. I had thought about that almost immediately after joining Simbi.

They also have a marketplace to sell things as well. The problem with their market is you have to pay fiat currency for shipping. Woudn't be a problem with steem as you could just add the right amount of steem for shipping and handling.

@anotherjoe had another great idea of building a site that would accept other cryptos for services and not limit it to Steem and SBD. Brilliant.

@luzcypher I love your idea!
consider this resteemed!
Let's do it!
but then how? why not here? maybe we could post about the service we want to offer and someone would just collect it? we could still track it tag wise and someone could perhaps post an update on it.

EDIT: damn I should have scrolled till the bottom of the comment thread :D
but why not?

@buzzbeergeek mentioned that @surpassinggoogle just posted a similar idea here about doing it on steemit under the tag steemgigs. I'm reading about it now.
I am thinking a dedicated site that looks like fiverr and accepts multiple cryptocurrencies.

Oh yeah accepting a bunch of cryptocurrencies would be much better for sure.

I definitely think a site like this needs to happen. Fiverr takes a pretty good percentage, a decentralized fee free system would be great. You could still charge for advertising/premium site features & placement to cover your costs and make a business of it.
I think it would be important to make a convenient tool that utilizes the blockchains smart contract features & escrow to make users feel comfortable and trust the experience upfront.
I want to be able to do Fiverr, Patreon, and Kickstarter all on the Steem blockchain!

It's easy to get a Fiverr clone website up and running which has it's own escrow features built in and it could use something like BlockPay which would also give the ability to accept multiple cryptocurrencies and keep everything on the blockchain.

Cool, thanks for showing me this. Great minds think alike. I was thinking of actually creating another website entirely, not a tag offering gigs. But it looks like people are interested in the idea.

I did buy a domain called Steemcart months ago and was going to build it on that but just wanted to see if people had an interest first. What do you think of the idea of having a dedicated website for people to exchange services using Steem and SBD?

I think it is an awesome idea. Then we just need a larger community! Feel free to copy my ad if you get it up and running. Ask @surpassinggoogle too, he has a lot of ideas...

Oh, my last post.

Cool, I took a look. Good idea.

Great idea. Go for it, man! I'd suggest accepting both SBD and Steem (rather than depending on SBD only).

I definitely think there is room for a service like this. Maybe you could join forces with the other suggestion by @surpassinggoogle

The second I posted this I got a response from @buzzbeergeek telling me about @surpassinggoogle's idea and am reading it now. Sounds like we are thinking along the same lines. I bought a domain called steemcart.com months ago and was just waiting for a time when I could dedicate some time to is.

Good suggestion on teaming up. I'll get a hold of them.

You should have a look at this one from @timcliff.
https://steemit.com/bounty/@timcliff/information-bounty-list-ways-to-spend-steem-and-sbd-usd1-sbd-per-qualified-response
There are some interesting comments there. I left some too. :-)
Another initiative is by @samstonehill on #steemshop

I read that post but will look at it again. Thanks for the tips.

You're welcome.

Love it, let's pay someone a Fiverr, to make us a site.
Seriously, good idea complete with a visual of "One way" it might work.

I did buy a domain called steemcart.com and was going to build it on that.

Yes and I do. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79