Moved To Cancun And Starting A Steemit Weekly Meet Up

in #steemit6 years ago

I moved from Playa Del Carmen back to Cancun, Mexico a couple days ago. Started my first day at a new gym called Energy Fitness that's a 7-minute walk from my place. Feeling a little sore but generally feel good.

One of the reasons I came back to Cancun is a lot of my friends are here and I want to start a regular Steemit meet-up group. Some of my friends have signed up and use Steemit and I know I can get a good size group going here.

steemit_meet_up.png

I would like to know is who is successfully building large Steemit meet-up groups around the world right now?

Also, what tags are people using for Steemit meet-ups when they blog about them? I've looked and can't seem to find any relevant tags for meetups.

I know some of you know and if you would be so kind as to let me know in the comments below it would really help. I want to connect with others doing the same thing and learn from them. I'm pretty sure of what needs to be done but why reinvent the wheel. There's much to be learned from those who have done what we ourselves seek to do.

My plan right now is to get the 5 people I have signed up together and ask each of them to bring someone. If we all do that every week before you know it there will be hundreds.

Wish me luck!

Remember, if you know of people doing regular meet-ups around the world please let me know who they are. Thanks.

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Sort:  

Best Of Luck :)

Good luck. In London or UK we are not doing great with this meetups, but i am sure that they are people out there that are able to meet. I will start to travel to South america and my plan is to find all this meetups over there :)

That sounds like fun. What countries are you visiting?

i would set something up with meetup.com right now for the local area, search for crypto groups already in the area (if any) and work from there, it's fairly easy after a few months to pull a team of people together to help out with that. best of luck with it. have a great christmas man.

Good tips. There's a local crypto group called the Bitcuner's and I'll be starting there.

I'll be attending my first steemit meetup in Denver, Colorado on December 16th. I look forward to seeing how it turns out. I also wanted to mention that I love Playa Del Carmen! I just visited there, Tulum and Bacalar last May! Beautiful sights. Glad to see these are gaining more steem ;) @luzcypher

There's a bunch of new Steemians in Playa now that I stayed there this past 8-months. Cancun is about to get Steemed.

you are building large Steemit meet-up groups around the world, Really amazing concept, I am sure it will make us easy gathering and hang up with steemit friends and also will find new friends too :)
I am waiting your project update !!!

Congrats on the move! Don’t be surprised if I crash one of your Meetups! It so cold in Canada right now lol

Anytime bro, anytime. Would be good to see you.

I hope this comes together for you 👍🏻👍🏻 I had no idea you were living in Mexico.. I lived in Puerto Vallarta for about 7 months, about 5 years ago.. was a humbling journey and very much a learning experience. Glad to say I did it. If I was still down that way, I would travel for a meet up!

Cancun is still here. Come on down. Been living in Mexico for 15 years of my life so far with just a 2-year break.

I may just do that eventually.. will bring my British hubs and leave the kiddo with grandma haha

Good luck with your meetups.

We are just organising our first ever steemit meetup in Wales, UK. There are only 15 active steemians in the whole of Wales so I am happy to have 8 of these people interested in coming to the meetup in the new year.

We are holding the meetup in a meeting room at a fortnightly People's Market. I am hoping to add on a 'Find out about Steem' drop in session for people at the market as well to help recruit a few more.

I am targeting a 100% increase in active steemians in Wales in the first quarter next year.

That's a good start and projection. Good luck. The People's Market sounds like the right setting for meetups.

that is so cool! i wish i lived Mexico!! you are awesome L!! doing a lot for the Steemit community!

I do what I can when I can, which is all the time.

hahah! well, you see?? that is what makes you awesome! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85