Who Are The Bitcuners? - My First Meet Up With A Group Of Cryptocurrency Enthusiasts In Cancun

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

The Bitcuners are a group of crypto enthusiasts that meet every week in Cancun at a Starbucks and talk about cryptocurrencies with an emphasis on Dash and Bitcoin.

who are the bitcuners.png

This afternoon I paid them a visit and got to know some crypto lingo in Spanish. On Cinco De Mayo no less, a date which doesn't even ring a bell in most of Mexico.

It was really cool to see there are so many people getting into cryptocurrencies in Mexico or as they call it here, moneda digital, which translates to digital money.

The group was a mix of geeks, merchants and people looking to have another payment option besides fiat.

bitcuners 1.jpg

Crypto enthusiasts are growing in Mexico

Before I moved back to Mexico I was thinking about starting a group or a MeetUp in the area once I got here to talk about Bitcoin, Steemit and had the idea of submitting a proposal to Dash to promote cryptocurrencies in the area. The idea was to build up awareness, help people to install wallets and start using crypto, then to sign up merchants to BlockPay so they can accept crypto directly from people meeting up at their venue.

I started looking at the proposal process on the Dash website and searching online for any crypto groups already meeting in Cancun. That's how I discovered the Bitcuners were already having weekly meetings and they recently got approved by Dash to sponsor their events. Awesome!

Congratulations to JZA who organized the group and for getting his proposal approved by Dash who is sponsoring the meet ups! He has patiently helped people install a wallet to start using crypto and has steadily built up a group that meets each week to talk crypto. JZA is like the Andreas Antonopoulos of Cancun.

The work is already being done and the crowd of people showing up is outgrowing the Starbucks where they meet. Starbucks doesn't accept crypto where they meet but any purchases made there in fiat is reimbursed in Dash by JZA, the event organizer.

bitcuners 2.jpg

My friend Ariel I used to work with in Cancun

It was so cool to see how many people are getting into crypto here and I even ran into a few friends that I already knew but didn't know they were into crypto.

Before I moved back here I signed a contract with BlockPay to be a BlockPay Ambassador in the area. They are still working out a few technical and legal details before I can start. Looking very forward to signing up some merchants and already have some merchants interested.

One of the first things planned is to find a bigger venue for the Bitcuners group and I'm going to sign up that venue on BlockPay so they accept Dash directly.

BlockPay will also allow a merchant to directly accept BitShares, Bitcoin, Ethereum, LiteCoin, Dash, Doge, Steem, and PeerCoin.

This area is a wide open market so I'm very excited to be part of bringing cryptocurrencies to the Yucatan area.

JZA, the community leader is doing great work growing awareness of cryptocurrencies in the Cancun area and I had a chance to talk with him a little bit about Steemit. He is on Steemit with the username @jza where you can follow him. His take on Steemit seemed lukewarm but when he saw some of the early results of some new users I have been helping he seemed to perk up a bit about it.

bitcuners 3.jpg

JZA is the guy in the middle and the group organizer

For example, @lizanomadsoul who you all helped me onboard to Steemit 2 weeks ago has over 100 followers and her posts are earning the best of anyone I have had a part in helping so far. She has turned into a genuine Steemian thanks to all your help and encouragement.

Also, @anomadsoul is off to a really good start thanks to all your help.

bitcuners.png

Image credit

So, I plan to meet up with the Bitcuners regularly and help them get on Steemit. Each time I sign someone new up, I'll make a post about it asking the Steemit community to help welcome them and will transfer any rewards made from my post to them. This technique seems to really help get people off to a good start and keep them blogging.

With your help, we can grow the Steemit community here in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, Mexico.

I'll keep you guys posted on the progress of all my efforts and the growth of people using Crypto here in future posts.


Related Posts

My First Time Using Localbitcoins Com To Buy Bitcoins --- by @luzcypher

How Steemit Introduced Me To Cryptocurrency Investing And Opened Up A New World Of Possibilities --- by @luzcypher


luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

Full Steem Ahead! I think this type of mentoring is fantastic!

I agree. Hands on is the best. It's great JZA got sponsored by Dash already. One less thing I need to do. I bought a moka latte with pesos, took a pic of the receipt and sent it to him and he sent me the equivalent amount to my Dash wallet. Free Starbucks courtesy of Dash!

Sounds awesome man. I gotta attend this meeting when I'm down there next!

That would be a great way to finally meet up with you and you have to bring your guitar too so we can jam.

I'm just hoping to be able to make it this year

On and upward. Good job!

Thank you. JZA did all the work. I'll do what I can to help.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 07 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60270.38
ETH 3307.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40