How to Stop Worrying and Start Living | WEDNESDAY WISDOM #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Wednesday Wisdom

Welcome to the first installment of Wisdom Wednesdays here on my blog! Every Wednesday I share with you wisdom that I learnt from reading books throughout the week!

This weeks' book is How to Stop Worrying and Start Living by Dale Carnegie.

What I learned from reading this book:

How-To-Stop-Worrying-And-Start-Living-By-Dale-Carnegie.jpg
And yes, I meant to post this on Wednesday. Oops

Preface – How this book was written and why

Carnegie says how in 1909 he was ‘one of the unhappiest lads in New York’. Hated his job, always wanted to just read and write books. Not necessary interested in making a lot of money but making a lot of living. He wanted to overcome his problems but couldn’t find an adequate textbook so instead, he wrote one himself. The lack of books covering worry was to the extent that in New York’s Public library there were only 21 books listed under worry and 189 listed under worms. 9 times as many books under worms as about worry. Carnegie claims that this books is: a collection of successful and time-tested recipes to rid our lives of worry.

Part 1 – Fundamental Facts You Should Know About Worry

1 Live in ‘Day-tight Compartments’

‘Our main business is not to see what lies dimly at a distance, but to do what lies clearly at hand’. Living in day tight compartments, just living for today. The load of tomorrow, added to that of yesterday, carried today, makes the strongest falter. This isn’t to mean that we should not prepare for tomorrow. The best way to do this is instead concentrate all your efforts on doing today’s work superbly. Jesus: ‘have no anxiety about the morrow’. One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us tend to put off living. We are all dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon – instead of enjoying the roses that are blooming outside our windows todays.

‘Everyday is a new life to a wise man’.

My life has been full of terrible misfortunes, most of which never happened. So has mine, so has yours’. – Montaigne.

  1. Do I tend to put off living in the present in order to worry about the future, or to yearn for some ‘magical rose garden over the horizon’?
  2. Do I sometimes embitter the present by regretting things that happened in the past – that are over and done with?
  3. Do I get up in the morning determined to seize the day – to get the most out of the 24 hours?
  4. Can I get more out of life by living in day tight compatments?
  5. When shall I start to do this? Next week?...tommorrow?...today?

2 A magic formula for solving worry situations

  1. Ask yourself, ‘What is the worst that can possibly happen?’
  2. Prepare to accept it if you have to.
  3. Then calm proceed to improve on the worst.

3 What Worry May Do to You

The effects of worry he said: seventy per cent of all patients who come to physicians could cure themselves if they only got rid of their fears and worries. What shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world – and loses his health? Even if he owned the whole world, he could sleep in only one bed at a time and eat only three meals a day. Even a new employee can do that – and probably sleep more soundly and enjoy his food more than a high-powered executive.

Relaxation and Recreation

The most relaxing recreating forces are a healthy religion, sleep, music, and laughter. Have faith in god – learn to sleep well – love good music – see the funny side of life – and health and happiness will be yours.

‘I went to the mirror. And when I looked in that mirror, I saw what worry was doing to my looks! I saw the lines it was forming. I saw the anxious expression. So I said to myself, ‘you’ve got to stop this at once? You cant afford to worry. The only thing you have to offer at all is your looks, and worry will ruin them!

I am not so idiotic as to imagine that merely smiling can cure cancer. But I do believe that a cheerful mental attitude helps the body fight disease.







Thank you for reading my content! I am very grateful for that!

Did you enjoy the content?

If so, leave an upvote. Comment. ReSteem!

Feedback is greatly appreciated!








Check out my other content:

OTB Podcasts

OTB Snap.jpg

Thought For The Days

IMG_1153.JPG

Sort:  

This post has received a 12.41 % upvote from @boomerang.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@alamgir140491 Did the blog provide any valuable information? Please let me know I would appreciate that!

You got a 3.25% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @luppers!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 9.22 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @luppers.

Too difficult for me to understand the whole artcle.But give you upvote~

@changxiu Thanks! I will try and work on making my English easier to understand!

Congratulations @luppers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49