What's the largest non-English community on Steemit? I have THE Answer! Story, statistics and graphs INSIDE!

in #steemit7 years ago

Intro

When I was recently scrolling through Trending page I found something interesting - among top 100 articles there were 15 of them written in Korean! Even more interesting thing - it was the only trending language other than English. Does it mean Koreans are the largest non-English community on Steemit?

And since I’m a member of Polish Team, which is trying to do something in Polish community, I was wondering how it looks in other languages.

There is only one major problem, how to find non-English communities? There are no portals, no main pages and you can’t really browse anything on Steemit. The one and only method (at least for me) is to simply search for tags. Every post needs a tag and you can use up to 5 of them. Let’s put it in this way - if you wrote something in language other than English and you didn’t use it in tags than sorry - you are not a part of community. How anyone should ever find your post? Right now that’s impossible.

Choosing languages

As I said: tags. The only way. Let the hunt begins.

At first I tried searching for some random languages but I soon found out it won’t be as easy as I thought. I needed a list of languages to focus on one by one. So I decided to help myself with Google and that’s how I found List of languages by total number of speakers (based on https://www.ethnologue.com/). In that moment I had no better idea so it was as good as it was.

So you all know there are no rules in tagging posts. You can do whatever you want, so different language tags don’t look the same. My discovery, Korean posts, are under kr. On the other hand my native language, Polish, is under polish, not pl or polski (Polish name of our language).

I needed to create some kind of scheme for this to work. For each language on my list I had to check tags for:

  • ISO 639-1
  • ISO 639-2
  • ISO 639-3
  • English name of language
  • foreign name of language
  • English name of country
  • foreign name of country
  • other ideas (like Korean kr which is none of above)

Languages by total number of speakers

That’s how first list was created.

RankLanguagePrimary tag
1Mandarin Chinesecn
2Englishn/a
3Hindi / Urdunone exist?
4Spanishspanish
5Arabicpossibly arabic (last post: 1st September 2016)
6Malaynone exist?
7Russianru
8Frenchfr
9Portugueseportugal
10Bengalipossibly bengali (last post: 9th January 2017)
11Germandeutsch
12Hausanone exist?
13Punjabinone exist?
14Japanesejapanese
15Persianpersian (last post: 5th March 2017)
16Swahilinone exist?
17Telugunone exist?
18Italianitaliano (last post: 18th February 2017)
19Turkishtr
20Javanesenone exist?
.........
22Koreankr
.........
?Polishpolish

As you can see, that idea was a dead end. Almost half of languages from list don’t exist on Steemit or maybe they are so hidden that I couldn’t find them. And if the second option is the truth then let’s simply assume they don’t exist.

Also there are languages that maybe you didn’t even know that are on the world. Come on, don’t be afraid to admit it. Ask yourself a question - how many of Punjabi people have time, technology and know Steemit to write a post on it? Amount of speakers is not linked with number of internet users and that’s the real problem.

I had to rethink it all.

Languages used on the Internet

I knew it wasn’t the end and I didn’t gave up yet. There must be a better list of languages used in internet. And there is!

24th March 2015 W3Techs created what I was looking for. List of Languages used on the Internet.

New table looked much better:

RankLanguagePrimary tag
1Englishn/a
2Russianru
3Japanesejapanese
4Germandeutsch
5Spanishspanish
6Frenchfr
7Portugueseportugal
8Italianitaliano (last post: 18th February 2017)
9Chinesecn
10Polishpolish
11Turkishtr
12Persianpersian (last post: 5th March 2017)
13Dutchnl (last post: 26th March 2017)
14Koreankr
15Czechpossibly czech (last post: 8th November 2016)
16Arabicpossibly arabic (last post: 1st September 2016)
17Vietnamesevietnamese
18Indonesianindonesian
19Greekgreece (last post: 24th March 2017)
20Swedishpossibly svenska (last post: 1st August 2016)

1 week of posting

For my “experiment” I had to choose a period of time. I knew that the longer time I choose the better results I will get but with this amount of searching for data I decided to limit it only to one week. From Monday to Sunday, from 17th April to 23rd April.

I was counting only posts written in foreign language or in two languages. All English posts were not included in my statistics.

Only 6... and the rest

My next step was to limit languages to those with at least 10 posts in a week. I was really surprised when I was left with only 6 options: Chinese, German, Japanese, Korean, Russian and Spanish.

It was time to answer most important question: what’s the largest non-English community?

But before... let’s look at the rest of 13 languages (without English).

RankLanguagePostsPrimary tag
7French7fr
8Turkish7tr
9Polish6polish
10Portuguese1portugal
11Vietnamese1vietnamese
12Indonesian1indonesian
13Dutch0nl (last post: 26th March 2017)
14Greek0greece (last post: 24th March 2017)
15Persian0persian (last post: 5th March 2017)
16Italian0italiano (last post: 18th February 2017)
17Czech0possibly czech (last post: 8th November 2016)
18Arabic0possibly arabic (last post: 1st September 2016)
19Swedish0possibly svenska (last post: 1st August 2016)

Graphs & Statistics

My posts must have graphs or statistics. It’s time to show them. In the beginning we will see how many posts were published day by day.

17th April (Monday)

18th April (Tuesday)

19th April (Wednesday)

20th April (Thursday)

21st April (Friday)

22nd April (Saturday)

23rd April (Sunday)

Average per day

All posts

Finally we get to the point where I’m going to tell you how many posts were created by top 6 non-English communities. Here’s the graph:

So does it mean this shows everything and we have the winner? What’s the largest non-English community on Steemit? Not so fast...

But... Users?

Posts are really important, that’s the real content. But it’s not the only criteria to answer our question. Why? Because users really matter. To be precise: number of users, who write all those posts. There can be for example only 3 users with 20 posts a day. Is that a big community? Of course not! So let’s be sure and just check this statistics.

Posting users

When we know the amount of posts and number of users, we can determine average posts per user. This time smaller results are better.

Average posts per user

THE Answer

With all data, statistics and graphs it’s time for conclusion. Big community needs not only a lot of posts but also a lot of users to produce content. More users equal different topics and it attracts even more people. And that’s a good way to create the largest non-English community.

In my opinion bronze medal and third place on the podium goes to... German with deutsch!

Second place with silver medal takes... Korean with kr!

And finally golden medal and first place for largest non-English community on Steemit goes to... Spanish with, hmmm, spanish. Why? Answer is simple - everything is just bigger and better than in other languages.

PlaceLanguageTagPostsAvg posts per dayUsersAvg posts per user
6Japanesejapanese213,0063,50
5Russianru192,7192,11
4Chinesecn415,86123,42
3Germandeutsch14420,57413,51
2Koreankr24034,29494,90
1Spanishspanish24935,57803,11

Now you can tell me, what have I done wrong? :)

Sort:  

Hi, we need a flag for the spanish speakers community :-) The flag is from spain and I´d say 2/3 of the users are from other countries.

I felt very proud reading your post and I remembered last year when I first joined steemit and there was only content written in english. It is just GREAT to see posts in so many different languages.

Good job!

Languages should have graphic equivalents, it would be much easier to show them! What else will be better for Spanish than flag of Spain?

Something like this maybe?

Jen ni estas:

But it's not Spanish :)

Dam Straight!

I'm talking about simple symbols easy to remember.

Now you can tell me, what have I done wrong?

I feel like that's about right. You have done nothing wrong.

Thanks!

Some guys outside of Germany also speak #deutsch :-)

I know it's not only Germany (there are 6 countries to be exact: Austria, Belgium, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Switzerland) but since there are no flags or any signs for languages I deided to use countries flags. Spanish is official in 20 countries :)

Vielen Dank für Ihre Stimme!

GREAT POST! Very useful information!

Your post a while back ..
https://steemit.com/steem/@kurtbeil/south-korea-will-save-steem
.. appears prophetic! ;-)

so.. actually you discovered how to write a post with perfect tags :)

Too bad you can only put 5 tags...

Great post and very detailed analyze!

I do not want to spoil your conclusion, but another way of measuring number of users, would be the number of people which wrote something in general: post or comment. I would exclude voting, because of too many voting bots.

Nevertheless, those number looks accurate in comparison to my experience on Steemit.

I see one problem - comments on post written in two languages don't mean commentator is a part of foreign community.

Great stats!

Your statistics are good. Thank you, friend. Please be friends with me.

20 Swedish possibly svenska (last post: 1st August 2016)

Haha when there are 2 posts in total with the tag and one of them is yours... :D¨

"sv" could be used for a swedish tag.

There is only 1 post on sv so svenska with 2 is better :)

yeah, my post has both tags in it - I just meant sv can be used for a shorter tag just like "ru, fr, kr, cn"

When community is young you can still determine tag for your foreign posts. Too bad there are only few users who can really understand the content.

Interesting analysis. It does seem that despite fewer users, the Koreans are per user more active, I guess they have more active stake as well.

Koreans on Trending are the reason I wrote this text. They are conquering Steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47