Reminder: Update Your Automated Voting Percentages for Hardfork 19

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hardfork 19 is less than 10 hours away and one of the changes involves the target number of votes per day decreasing from 40 to 10. This means if you vote the same way you do now, the influence of your vote will be 4 times stronger, but the strength of it will go down 4 times as fast.

If you're not sure what your current voting power is, you can always view it on Steemd here:

Or on SteemDB here:

If your voting power is usually quite high (as mine tends to be) you will pleasantly find your vote having more influence tomorrow after the hardfork and you may not even notice much difference. If, on the other hand, you do a lot of voting each day or you have automated voting set up, now is the time to adjust your vote percentages or you may quickly find yourself with depleted vote power.

Here's how you do that within Steemvoter which I use to support some authors and friends who I think bring consistent value to this platform:

Edit a rule:

Change the percentage and save:

That's it!

I'm really curious to see what happens tomorrow. I often find my voting strength in the 90%'s, so I think I'm going to leave things as they are for now and keep giving out 100% votes via steemvoter until I know just how HF19 impacts my vote power.


As a side note, I also wanted to slip in a little milestone celebration point in here.

I'm up over 2,000 followers and 6,000 comments/posts!

Thank you for following me on this fun Steemit journey. According to steemstory.com, I registered on Saturday, June 25th as the 13,452nd account. I didn't post until July 6th. It's fun to think I'm coming close to my 1st Steemit anniversary. Some of you have been with me through much of that ride.

Thank you!


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Very good article, but one question: do you know how to change one's voting power for manual upvotes?

I just wrote this on chainBB, but can't see a way to do it within Steemit nor Steemvoter.

Thanks

Hahah... nice

lol! nice. +1 follower for that.

That's the cutest think I saw today :) meow !

Chuckles irl. Here's an upvote :)

Congratulations @lukestokes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for reminding, I believe lots of the fellow Steemians do not know much about what's going on with HF 19, and what is going to change to their Voting Power.
I am looking forward to this HF, the very first HF of my own. Finger crossed, hope it will have a positive effect to Steemit!

the very first HF of my own

Nice. Welcome to blockchain history. :)

I just heard this news.
Although I have not understood correctly the problem of HF 19.
Hopefully I am not wrong using voting rights, and also hopefully my voting is useful for steemit

You can follow @steemitblog for more on changes and upcoming news.

Oke thanks for more information

Awesome milestone!!

And great update on the hardfork. I barely even vote 10 times per day as it stands, and when I do I fork over 100% lol

Probably stupid, but it seems like this update might be lending itself more to my style of stupidity lol

@shayne

Thanks Shayne! I usually vote 100% for the same reasons, as I don't vote a ton compared to the bots out there.

Hi Luke,
That's a really great post - it's quite confusing sometimes to work out how much voting power I've got and when - and I've just learnt a whole lot from this - which will be really useful. Much appreciated and Congratulations on your amazing Steemit Journey!! ;-)

Thank you! It's been a fun ride for sure!

This is a really well written post about the hardfork. So many people are going to have questions about this tomorrow...

Thanks, I couldn't have said any of this better myself.

I should mention though, I personally don't use steemvoter, and don't know anything about it (yet). I'll check into it though.

Thanks intelliguy. I tried streemian a while back and didn't really like the idea of other people controlling my votes, but I do use steemvoter a bit in order to reward consistently beneficial authors and friends who I think regularly provide great value here, and I want to encourage them to continue.

Thanks for reminding us! I tend to upvote everything I do with 100 %, so I will need to change this after the hardfork, or else my SP will be drained quickly.

And congrats on those milestones ;)

Thank you for the congrats!

I think my plan is to just keep doing what I've been doing and see what happens. It's going to be fun!

I'm planning to go to sleep now, and I almost forgot about Steem Voter!
Thank you very much:)

You're welcome!

Is steemstats.com reliable for monitoring voting power as well? That's the only thing I've been looking at.

Yes, it uses the same data as all the other websites that show it, so it will show the correct number ;)

Sure! That works also. Both Steemstats and SteemDB were built by @jesta. He rocks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97