You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: Survival tool for Africa? (Original Analysis & Thoughts)

in #steemit7 years ago

Wow, excellent post. Very well done. I knew the reputation I've worked so hard to build was valuable, but I hadn't seen it in data like that.

What I find really interesting is thinking about how, if the price of STEEM continues to rise, the charts could look the same in the future but with more people and more value on each rung. Or, if the price of STEEM doesn't rise, it may just flatten out a bit. The question also remains as to whether or not it will be harder and harder to get noticed by SP holders in the future compared to how it was in the past. Will those who earn nice rewards continue to get the majority of the votes or will new accounts find their own niches and get the attention of Steem Power holders?

At the same time, those who are already well off have time to write, research, engage, build relationships, hang out in chat, etc. Those who are fighting for survival may not have reliable internet connections, power, or computers to use.

That said, tools like Steemit are certainly pushing us in the right direction, and I love how you've made this post data driven. If you ever have any questions about the SQL side of things, hit me up in steemit chat, and I'll help if I can. I love SQL. :)

Resteeming.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this, Luke, and for posting it @vm2904 . I probably never would have seen it otherwise. I have a good childhood friend who is working for Doctors Without Borders in the Democratic Republic of Congo right now (among a bunch of other jobs he has done in Africa in the past) and I have been trying to persuade him into getting onto Steemit as I think (as many others do) it can benefit the poorest of poor in the world. This post definitely helps show the stats in clear and plain sight. Emailing this to him this moment, thanks again for the great info!

@lukestokes - You bring up a very valid point that has been plaguing me. I, as a person with some time on hand and perhaps not in a 'daily survival' mode, can find time to produce posts and engage but how will those who do not have food to eat find time? Difficult to answer but suppose, given a choice, a member of such a family can stay back and spend time to blog and earn instead of carrying loads on his/her head all day, perhaps the family can end up earning more than those meager $1-2 per day?
About the point you bring up about it getting harder to get noticed - well i am sure it is not easy now but since I have personally been able to make a little progress (however small it is), I still believe that persistence pays off
In any case, since Steemit takes no other investment other than time and wit, I believe that this is a chance we must offer to the underprivileged by spreading the message to them.
I hate to be a bother but may I request your help in spreading this post far and wide (if you deem fit of course) to provide a practical, data based look to people who are willing to try Steemit.
I truly appreciate your offer of help for SQL. My training in my previous Avatar as an executive sometimes takes over and makes me data driven. In those moments of weakness, I go seeking data like crazy and SQL would certainly help :) I spent 4 days doing this analysis - not even bothering to post anything else and in spite of very spotty internet connections as I traveled. I will try to keep my cries for help about SQL limited but I do appreciate having a great support like you. Thanks again

I've already resteemed it, and I'll tweet it out and share it on Facebook as well. Really great work here. I've seen your approach to getting noticed and though it started a bit aggressive in the beginning, I think you do add real value to your comments and you are not afraid to ask. That's a good understand of reciprocity which has served you well, IMO.

tip! 5

A bit aggressive is an understatement. LOL. Was really zealous in the beginning. I am wiser now I think. I had never been on any social media so it has been a bit of a learning curve for me. I honestly appreciate the patience shown by you and other Steemians. I salute you all for that!

I have no bunghole!

Hi @vm2904! You have just received a 5.0 SBD tip from @lukestokes!

@tipU - send tips by writing tip! in the comment and get share in service profit :)
By upvoting this comment you support the service - thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79