Rocky Mountain Region STEEM/Steemit Accelerator Meetup October 4, 2017 (7:15 PM – 8:45 PM Highlands Ranch Library)

in #steemit7 years ago

Rocky Mountain Region Accelerator_MH .png

Approximately six months ago I floated a proposal to the community about establishing a Meetup/accelerator in Denver, Colorado. At that time, the response was very tepid, and I decided to table the plan until the Colorado community grew a bit more.

Just over one week ago, I decided to attend the first Steemit Meetup in Colorado Springs hosted by @broncnutz and @amvanaken. I had an opportunity to sit with a group of new arrivals to Steemit and share my knowledge and experience. After that first Meetup, the personalities and the passion made me focus on breathing life into my proposal from six months ago.

I’m pleased to announce the first Denver Steemit Meetup/Accelerator will take place at Highlands Ranch Library on Wednesday, October 4, 2017, from 7:15 PM – 8:45 PM in the Shea B meeting room.

Highlands Ranch| Douglas County Libraries
9292 South Ridgeline Boulevard
Highlands Ranch, CO 80129
(303) 791-7323

Buttonwood Exchange at the Meetup

Rocky Mountain Region Accelerator Buttonwood_MH.jpg

In the spirit of the original Buttonwood exchanges which spawned the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), the first 45 minutes will be dedicated to an informal meet and greet and some trading for those so inclined to participate.

I’m looking forward to seeing new faces and meeting new people in the Colorado Steemit community.

Meetup/Accelerator Portion

Rocky Mountain Region Accelerator Meetup_MH.jpg

In the original proposal, the accelerator was envisioned to have two tracks: the publishing track and the application design track. I feel for Steemit to succeed and grow, both sides must be addressed.

For this first accelerator, I’d like to spend some time acclimating new users to Steemit, discussing how this portion of the Accelerator Meetup will be organized moving forward, and taking inventory of the resources we each can contribute. For example, I’d love someone with programming and dev experience who could handle the application design track.

Cryptocraft Marketplace

Rocky Mountain Region Accelerator Cryptocraft Marketplace_MH.jpg

Before I floated the proposal to make a Denver Steemit Accelerator and Meetup, I’d floated a proposal about increasing the utility of SBDs with a marketplace in which vendors could sell consumer staples (food, alcohol, gifts and some specialty items) with one caveat – they can accept any form of payment, but they must accept SBDs as well. It’s been my dream to bring that to fruition here in the Denver marketplace.

I have recently convinced a grower from the weekly Farmer’s Market I attend to consider a CSA model, which would accept SBDs for payment. For the time being, I have agreed to handle all currency translations for him from SBDs to fiat, so we can get this project off the ground.

At this Meetup, I’d like to get some feedback from the community to see if this is a viable product which, as a whole, there is interest in. I feel strongly that if we pool our resources as a community and patronize this business with our crypto, the Cryptocraft Marketplace has a very strong possibility of becoming a reality in Denver, Colorado. It will give these growers and craft artisans the ability to recognize real savings, and empower their businesses in unique ways they have not experienced before.

Ideally, I’d like to add one business per month to this marketplace and I’d like the help of the Colorado Steemit community. I think embracing the localvoire movement provides one of the the best opportunities to make this happen.

******

It’s exciting to form a Steemit community in the Rocky Mountain Region both in the virtual and the corporeal sense. I’m looking forward to meeting each of you.

******

"When you grow up you tend to get told the world is the way it is and your life is just to live your life inside the world."

"Try not to bash into the walls too much. Try to have a nice family, have fun, save a little money."

"That's a very limited life."

"Life can be much broader once you discover one simple fact: Everything around you that you call life was made up by people that were no smarter than you and you can change it, you can influence it, you can build your own things that other people can use."

"Once you learn that, you'll never be the same again."

-Steve Jobs


Rocky Mountain Region Steemit News

If you are part of the Rocky Mountain Region and would like to join the community chatroom on steemit.chat, please Direct Message me (@lpfaust) on the steemit.chat application to include you in the Rocky Mountain Region community private chatroom. We would love to hear your voice and have you participate in upcoming events (or host your own). Some upcoming Steemit Meetups in the Rocky Mountain Region:

  • @rebele93 has formed the Colorado Front Range Steemit Meetup. The first scheduled meetup is slated to happen on Thursday, October 12, 2017. Please visit the linked page for their Meetup.org page and more details. If you’re in the area, be sure to catch up with them.

  • @rebelmeow and @in2itiveart have a meetup in Denver scheduled to happen on Thursday, October 26, 2017, at the Mercury Café . I’m currently clearing out that evening to join them and I hope to see you there as well.




Sort:  

Awesome to meet you! Thanks for putting this together!

@geke thanks for coming to the meetup/accelerator. It was great meeting you and everyone else who attended. I've been enjoying meeting up with the Colorado community, and I hope you can make it to the next Meetup in Boulder hosted by @rebele93.

BTW I did talk with my wife about the Writer's Block, and she is interested. I will see about having her follow up with you directly if you're up to that. Thanks for the info on that.

Of course! I'd love to meet her. And if you guys would like to check out our new digs, they're here: https://discord.gg/CwhuPyz

Faust, I am stoked on this Accelerator!

What a time to be in the Rocky Mountain Area. This is going to be fun.

Looking forward to seeing you all Wednesday. I am planning to attend all of the events.

@intuitivejakob looking forward to catching up with you on Wednesday. I'm sensing an opportunity with some of the growers and craft/artisan producers at the farmers market to potentially introduce cryptocrrency. I opted for Steem Based Dollars (SBDs) over Bitcoin for a number of different reasons.

I figure if we can create a built in community who will patronize them loyally and demand they accept SBDs for payment, there is a very real possibility of picking up more of them.

Brilliant, my friend.

Way to employ those neurons. ^_^

I am excited by this idea, but I won't be able to make the Highlands Ranch one. Hoping to attend the one at the Merc though, so will see you there, maybe!

@phoenixwren if you'd like I can add you to the rocky-mountain-steemit chatroom so you can meet with some of the community in there.

I still have to set up the chat part of Steemit, haven't even tried it yet, ha. It's on the hey-remember-to-do-this list. ;)

really good idea .best of luck,,,,,

@blueorgy thanks for the warm regards. Let's see how it all turns out.

Hey @lpfaust
I wish you all the best for this steemit meetup...
Upvoted...
Cheers/~~~

@dinisanda thanks. Let's hope for a solid turnout.

Congratulations @lpfaust
MinnowsPower listed your post "Rocky Mountain Region STEEM/Steemit Accelerator Meetup October 4, 2017 (7:15 PM – 8:45 PM Highlands Ranch Library)" as one of the top 5 upvoted and commented posts of the day...!!!

Exceptional information about Steemit meet up. Incredible planning and wish joy and success of the event...!!!

100% Upvoted by @MinnowsPower

MinnowsPower is not a bot, I am a Crowdfunding Hybrid
One small UpVote of Yours build MinnowsPower and MinnowsPower will Not Forget Your Support...!!!

the most attraction of this article is SBD could be use to buy food, drinks, gifts. as i feel it has good platform over the community to build up a market, thanks for sharing.

@sheikh27 thanks for taking some time to check it out. I appreciate it.

I may also use the SBDs for the prize pool in the Rhapsodist Writing Contest I currently run and fund. I am the only sponsor and I'd love to see that community grow as well.

I am dammm sure that meetup will be awesome....

@amanrazz let's hope for a solid turnout. That aside, it's a fun time to be part of the Rocky Mountain region when we have at least four different groups forming meetups throughout the state. I will be sure to put up some pics of the event.

I am excited to see the pics of the meetup. .....

Great idea. thanks for info
100% like and resteem

@lpfaust,
That would be a great news! I read the last Colorado meeting hosted by @broncnutz and @amvanaken! They said you were there! It's nice you decided to host a meeting too! STEEM on!

Cheers~

@theguruasia I was there and it was very awesome to meet them and everyone who attended. Exciting times here in the Rocky Mountain Region.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57258.35
ETH 3065.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33