One Year on Steemit and it is Getting Personal.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A week from now marks my one year steemit anniversary.



Drawing from my illustrated Steemit Love Story.

I am constantly in awe of this community and the longer I stay the more attached to it I become. One huge thing that has changed since a year ago is that I have convinced many of my friends to join Steemit. My first friend I got to join was @AlexBeyman who seriously deserved reward for his awesome stories and the amazing tech and science facts that pour from his brain. He has been my close friend (and chosen sibling) for...maybe a decade now? How long has it been @Alexbeyman?

Since getting him to join I have gotten several other friends to join, especially recently as I am being really pushy with trying to inspire people that they deserve rewards for their awesomeness. I got my dear friend @stitchybitch to join which I recently blogged about and @rlyeh an internet friend I feel lucky to know. She needs a welcome by the way, guys. Very interesting, beautiful lady.

Also got @rachelkelly to join. She is another amazing person. I am about to bug her to post more and try to help her more with learning the ropes around here.

I have several friends who are waiting to be approved who I finally inspired to join. So, pretty soon I will be surrounded by a lot of my friends here on Steemit. Not that I don't consider my fellow Steemians friends as I certainly do and have connected with many of them on facebook so I can talk to them more often. I love my fellow Steemians. It's like having this big diverse family.


We make a real difference here.


DESCRIBE IMAGE.
I have also seen many charitable blogs do really well and it warms my cynical heart and let's me have my faith in humanity restored. The kindness and generosity I see from my fellow Steemians is so wonderful. Even when I have disagreed with people here I have been able to generally have really amazing conversations that don't get nasty.


I had a rocky start with Steemit because there used to be a lot of trolls that didn't like my posts about my sexual abuse and mental illness. It was really stressful and hard to post during that time but I stuck it out and due to the nature of Steemit the trolls rep was tanked and they grew bored. So many people helped me back then by downvoting them, posting about it, and just being open to chatting with me in steemit.chat. So even during my worst time on steemit we had this really incredible, strong community.

I have started to learn so much about crypto currency.


Initially when I came here I knew nothing about cryptocurrency. I mean I knew what bitcoin was sort of and I had a wallet with a few bucks in it just for funsies but I knew nothing beyond that. I started blogging before really knowing anything but over the course of the year I have started to learn more and even have 4 different cryptos now. Diversifying my portfolio and what-not.

I don't pretend to be super knowledgeable but I am always reading blogs here to try to learn more and I am already fascinated and enjoying the journey.

So, then there's the money. I can't not talk about the money as it has changed my life drastically. I am physically completely disabled and struggling to get diagnosed, out of work, and bed-ridden mostly. Steemit is paying my minimal rent but also moved me from Florida to MN where I now have medicaid and an appointment for a urologist. I wouldn't even be able to get medical help without Steemit and I would likely be homeless as I had no options left in Florida. I am also about to replace my breaking laptop with a nice computer that will help me to get so much more work done creatively. I can't believe how life-changing Steemit has been for me.


...and it has made me smarter.


Seriously, I learn so much from blogging on Steemit. In order to get inspiration I was TedTalks and documentaries, look up new technology. I am also constantly learning from other people's blogs. Perfecting my writing skills. Opening up creatively. I have gained knowledge in so many ways from being here on Steemit. I have serious memory issues and it was making me feel pretty unintelligent and down on myself but the more I blog here the more confident I feel and the more I realize I can still retain information as long as I find it incredibly interesting.


I get to experience different worlds and cultures.


Being so disabled and barely being able to leave my home let alone go traveling Steemit has offered me the ability to live vicariously through adventurous users. I can see different countries. Awesome Events. Nature. I can see all sorts of beautiful scenery thanks to the bloggers than document their travels and I get to learn about new cultures because of the diverse user base.

Well, in short...I love Steemit and I want to shout it from the rooftops. Thanks for this beautiful year and I look forward to many more to come.


HTML tutorial

Sort:  

It's been my great pleasure to watch you succeed, and to help in whatever small ways I'm able to. I can think of few people who deserve that support as much as you.

Thank you. 💜 I am very happy to see you succeeding here as well. You deserved it. :)

hey Laura!!! Congratulations on a whole year!!! That's wild =) It's so awesome that you've managed to get a handle on your finances and living situation especially with all the shit stacked against you. It's very inspiring!


Itchykitten's favorite post today is: #womenofsteemit original series by @melkay

I wouldn't say I yet have a handle on it! But I am surely getting there. I have insane debt that I can probably never pay but I am at least not stressed about how to pay rent and I will soon not have a laptop that is falling apart! :) Moving on up! I like your little signature. What a good idea! :D

Thank you so much for introducing me to steemit. I've only been here a day but I am here to stay.
I'm so happy to hear what a positive experience it has been for you, it couldn't happen to a more amazing person 💜

Awwww this is so sweet of you. <3 I hope you get much success here and with the attitude of being here to stay coupled with your awesomeness I am sure you will thrive. :)

I am kind of new here, but I also see very good and some bad in this site! I have not been trolled like you in the past, but hang around and you will just have more success! Good luck in Minnesota a little colder then Florida! I am also in your shoe's where I don't travel. My Wife and kids are going on a cruise to the Bahamas in Sept and I just can't do it! LOL, Have a great night!

A year, congrats!! great post .. you are a great role model.. I am working on improving everyday.. :)

I hope I will stick to this and remain active. Basically I love steemit simply because people can contradict you with solid arguments in a civilized way. And I love debates like that because it forces me to see other perspectives, whatever the topic might be.

Also, no censorship... The best part of it!

I am so glad that you joined this wonderful community and in turn, got me to join. It has done some wonderful things for you and it has been marvelous to witness.
Happy one year!

Congratulations on your one year anniversary! I have only been with Steemit a few days but you are an inspiration to me and I love reading your posts. We all hope you grow to be an even bigger success on Steemit.

Interesting post and add information .. thank you.

This was so heart warming to read ^_^

Thanks. ^_^ <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.20
ETH 2421.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63