INTRODUCING #WOMENOFSTEEMIT [ A Steemit Orginal Series, #Tag & Movement Rolled Into One ] !!COMPETITION TIME!!

in #womenofsteemit7 years ago (edited)


I know I might get a bit of slack for this post and competition. And I may ruffle a few feathers with this hashtag. Men & even some women will most likely come along and say "Oooh this is so sexist! Why don't men have a comp and hashtag exploring their side of the story.

To them I say.. Go for it. There is nothing stopping you from emasculating a #tag for any purpose you wish.



This is a decentralized system isn't it?

To take a quote from Snoop Dogg: Being a woman ain't easy!



Woman face challenges in our patriarichal society. Of course, we have taken great strides in the past century to provide equality to woman but still there are many places in the world that woman's rights are abused.

  • Did you know in the Vatican City woman are still not allowed to vote!?
  • Over 60% of woman in India suffer from some form of domestic violence?
  • Literacy rates for women in Yemen are lower than 35%?
  • Just 25% of woman in Nepal get any form of higher education?
  • Over 60% of woman in Peru have suffered some form of physical abuse?
  • Under 30% of Turkish woman are employed?
  • Afghan woman get thrown in jail for running from their husbands?
  • Even in America, women cannot travel alone without verbal street harasment.

So what is #womenofsteemit all about?

...and did you mention rewards? I like those!


The #womenofsteemit will start off as a #tag, documenting woman on Steemit's lives. A combination of a photography project as well as to create an exhaustive catalog of the females of Steem!


Once a week, most likely on a Monday, I will compile the best few stories and images and present to Steemit the #womenofsteemit weekly roundup as a nice showcase.

Those featured will share the Steem dollar rewards the showcase post receives plus whatever amount of SD has been donated to the pot that week!


The Current Week 1 Pot Total: 25 SD +

The Current Week 2 Pot Total: 50 STEEM +

The Current Week 3 Pot Total: 50 STEEM +

The Current Week 4 Pot Total: 12 STEEM +



If you would like to donate to the pot please send to @melkay
with the memo '#womenofsteemitpot'.



And as a special bonus for week 1 all SD rewards from this post will also go in to the pot!
If donations get to 25 SD they will be rolled over into week 2's pot to keep this momentum going.


Week 1 Pot Contributors:
@melkay - 10 SD
@uniwhisp - 5 SD
@teamhumble - 2 SD
@itchykitten - 8 STEEM!


Due to @itchykitten's massive 100 Steem Donation into the pot Week 2 will have a 50 STEEM + Pot Cap with Roll over!


Week 2 Pot Contributors:
@itchykitten - 50 STEEM!


Week 3 Pot Contributors:
@itchykitten - 42 STEEM!
@lenadr - 8 STEEM!


Week 4 Pot Contributors:
@lenadr - 12 STEEM!

The rules are simple.

  1. Repost this post to show your support!
  2. Find a picture of yourself that captures a moment you remember.
  3. Post a story about the picture on your own blog. (Perhaps your story is about your struggle, perhaps its about your victories, perhaps you do not feel being a women is a struggle at all and would like to just write something fun.. All up to you!)
  4. Make sure to use the #tag #womenofsteemit.
  5. Comment here with your link to your post.


    It does not have to be the length of a novel or a masterpiece to be featured (Though it can be if you like!)... I will share with you mine for this week:





    I had just taken a few days off from work, and my boyfriend surpised me by saying we going on a week trip down the coast. We pulled over at this spot because I needed a wee really bad and there was a place hidden with bushes. Oh so tuff being a woman! :P I was so happy to be able to bring my doggie with for the holiday. We ended up having an awesome week visiting family and seing some new parts of South Africa I had never experienced before!




So if you still don't know me by now...


I am that spunky young chick from Cape Town that seems to have...


a Steem Power addiction problem. . .
https://steemit.com/steem/@melkay/tonight-i-exchanged-all-my-sh-t-coins-for-steem-power-and-i-will-explain-how-and-why


...Drinks tons of wine...
https://steemit.com/travel/@melkay/cape-town-spotlight-bon-courage-wine-estate


...And am busy building The Grilled Cheese,
a food truck to achieve my dreams and quit my day job...
https://steemit.com/life/@melkay/i-just-bought-a-1972-vw-camper-van-and-am-turning-it-into-a-food-truck-the-grilled-cheese-part-one


...I also like to tease the whales, cos we have fun, don't we?...
https://steemit.com/steemit/@melkay/a-steemit-guide-to-papa-pepper-and-how-to-achieve-the-mysterious-whale-aura


So follow if you haven't. Upvote if you got em.. ;)



Sort:  

I think this is a great idea and I'm happy to help out. Sent you over a little SBD for the pot. Keep up the awesome community building!

Thank you so much! You rock. I will update the thread with your donation.. (Just been swamped at work today... Sigh* ) =)

Of course! Really happy to help. Found you via a re-Steem from @jessandthesea, so some thanks should probably go there as well.

Awesome! So happy to get so many people resteem this and get the comp rolling. It is an honor to do something like this for the community. Thanks again. Oh and Thanks @jessandthesea if you get this notification! You rock girl!

First Weeks Pot - 25 SBD + !!

Second Weeks Pot - 50 STEEM + !!

3rd Weeks Pot - 50 STEEM + !!

4th Weeks Pot - 12 STEEM + !!

  • @teamhumble has just donated 2SD to the POT!! It now stands at 12SD + whatever this post ends up at! Thanks so much @teamhumble! You rock!
  • @uniwhisp has donated 5 SD! ROCKSTAR STATUS! :D Thank you!
  • @itchykitten Just donated 100 STEEM to the pot! WOW WOW WOW. Thank you!
  • @lenadr Just donated 20 STEEM to the pot! Yes! Thank you so much

We are now funded for 4 weeks strong!

NO NO you rock ;) (ahem, we could be here all day, lol)

hehe. Indeed we could/most likely will be. :P

Holy crap this is awesome! I found you on Discord - SO glad I did!!

Yay! I am glad you found me too! GIRLPOWER! :D

@rhondak is singing the praises of Discord and doing great things. I'd better spend more time there so I can find more people like you, @lenadr and @melkay!

i love it! don't stop

Wow! Thank you much for your generous donation to the pot. I have split your contribution into the next 3 weeks so that I can keep this rolling and funded for as long as possible and to be able to spread the rewards to as many women as possible. Do you mind if I convert it into Steem Dollar so that the comp is all in one currency?

You do your thing, whatever you think is best. And Thankyou!

Yayy!! I love this!! Such a cool movement, that I plan very much to take part in :) I am yet to disclose my face to Steemit!! ^_^ How exciting-Now I have incentive! <3 Upvoted, Resteemed and to be entered!!! <3 will donate too! <3

Thanks, @ancientmystique! I am glad I could incentivise you into action! :D

i just sent 2 SBD to the #womenofsteemitpot for you. brilliant idea. i hope my other half @dayleoo see's this. i think a swarm of upbeat, smart and focused women bring so much to the mix! all power to you! :)

Seen. Read. Pumped! Will be jumping on this today for sure!

Thank you so much! Really will mean a lot to the ladies I am sure!

no problem. if i have it, i'm gonna always be giving back to projects. especially from a perspective of tech, access and crypto. so much unbalance in the world when it comes to wages etc. gotta support my socially connected sisters, hey @dayleeo dear i think you would like to be part of this ;)

I think you may have to tag dayleeo by actually posting a comment under one of her recent blogs with a link to here if you really want to get here to notice. Not sure tagging people in other threads works . . . ? I could be wrong tho.

ah yeah maybe - i'll tell her the hashtag anyway, we are on chat together now ;)

Ok great. Thanks again. I look forward to hearing her story.

Super excited about this challenge, going to help me share more here on steemit- funny how we dont assume anyone cares about our stories until someone straight up ASKS! It's so simple! so, Thank you! <3

Pleasure. Cannot wait for this project to blossom each week and showcase various #womenofsteemit! :)

Here's my entry! Thank you for creating this tag!! https://steemit.com/womenofsteemit/@lenadr/the-gas-that-brings-us-together

Great entry. Made me laugh a lot! And awesome font on the Women of Steemit part at the top! Really cool!

Sweet, thank you! I'm glad it made you laugh!

Thank you! And thanks so much for the donation to the pot. Will edit the post to update your donation soon!

No problem. I'm glad I can support this!

A great post, I upvoted and resteemed!)

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it.

Here's the link to my post! Oof there were tears, but I'm good now. I swear... I'm good. ;) https://steemit.com/womenofsteemit/@dayleeo/this-this-is-a-moment-i-always-want-to-remember

I have resteemed....wonderful idea. hope it work out, and I do plan on entering

Yay! Thanks Paula. I look forward to seeing and hearing your story and carrying on this series each week. :) Something fun for me to do on these dreaded Mondays. hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25