Once Again I Face the Need to Power Down.

in #steemit7 years ago

Welp, I told myself NEVER again to powering down.



Once again, this cartoon is relevant.

But it turns out that is easier said than done. I just bought a new PC that I desperately needed when Steemit was going super well and I am as usual insanely grateful but now my payouts are really, really low and I am still disabled and having to cart myself all over to doctor's appointments, unable to work, and still need to pay rent. So, that $2,700 is kind of crucial to my having a roof over my head and food on the table. Powering down should keep my rent paid for 4 full months. Giving me time to invest into my other online businesses and start the process of fighting for SSI.


I am so grateful to Steemit for this entire past year and look forward to more years to come.


I just want all my fellow Steemians to know I will still be here and still continue posting. I do not believe in Steemit any less than I did previously. It ebbs and flows and the value of steem is volatile. It changes, grows, and adapts. This is nothing new. I love the community here and am just grateful to have the ability to power down. I have been hesitating as to when to pull the trigger and with the bills piling up I think now is the time.

Once I get diagnosed properly I am going to start fighting to get SSI. I have several disabled friends who have SSI and one of them gave me the number to her lawyer. I have so much hope right now with medicaid and the possibility of one day having supplemental income to help me through this rough time. If not for Steemit this past year I wouldn't be here. So, thank you Steemit.



Get these badges I made here.


HTML tutorial

Sort:  

Yeah, one thing I wish that would change would be the negative connotations for powering down. Powering Down doesn't mean you're leaving, but might mean you need cold hard cash.

I had to power down when steem was very very cheap. I really wish I hadn't but I needed the cash. I went from 12,000 SP to under 3,000 because Steem was so cheap, I needed to sell a lot of Steem Power.

Take your cash, you need it, you've earned it. You'll earn the SP back.

Hang in there.

Exactly. Like of course ideally it would be best not to depend on steemit financially but not everyone has that luxury and everyone hits rough patches.

I at least try to let people know my intention when powering down so my followers don't think I am leaving.

I may post once or twice a day instead of three or four times because I will also be hustling elsewhere online to make ends meet but I certainly am not leaving. :)

Thank you for the thoughtful, reassuring comment.

I wish you the best and feel confident you will keep improving your life on and off of Steemit!
You appear to be a VERY strong individual and I am sure you will continue to progress.
Its great that even though the payouts are super low now that you still love and believe in Steemit. So many people only care when the payouts are high.
Your a real Steemian!
SteemON!

Thank you. It is true that I am damn resilient and tough. Life's kicked me around a lot. I also feel like my life is on a definite up swing and that this next year will be the last rough patch. :)

I can smell the freedom and feel the constant walks, hikes, and bike riding being possible again in the nearish future. ^_^

And yes, I genuinely love Steemit rain, snow, sunshine, in all it's phases. :)

I may be around just slightly less due to having to work more elsewhere as I said in the blog but plan to still post daily or nearly daily and will probably get more active in the discord chats. ^_^

Great to hear!
Your a champion!

aww you have to do what you have to do to take care of yourself. Right now your health is your number 1 priority. We are still here for you! :)

Thank you. <3 Definitely putting my health first. So much so that I have finally nearly kicked my worst habits for my IC. Having a urologist has given me hope and I am kicking into action so I can get my life back! ^_^ Hopefully I can temporarily get supplemental income while I recover. I do think one day I will be able to travel and be active again. :)

Thanks so much for always being so supportive!

Yes yes yes! I love your positive attitude. You cannot always control what course your life will take you, but you are in control of how you react and face situations. That's awesome you are taking action and you are totally going to kick IC in da booty! :)

First stop when you get to full recovery is Australia :P

:heart: (I don't know why it doesn't turn into an emoji, but maybe just pretend it's a heart?)

:heart:

hmmm...

I'll show it... 😠

💛💚💙💜🖤❣💕💞💓💗💖

😃

That's why we post to earn Steem. It's yours do what you want and I do hope you get SSI. That will give you some relief.

Thank you. <3 :) I prefer keeping it as steem power and taking out my SBD but desperate times!

Isn't this admission to government dependence just painting a target on yourself for the libertarian, anarchist, and social Darwinian self-styled ubermenschen to lob snide and patronizing horseshit your way?
I wish you good fortune and universal positivity- WE ALREADY PAID FORWARD any social relief our situations may draw to us from the government we helped, if not build, maintain existence as a national entity, warts and all.

I intend to stay this way because blogging about my struggles has helped many people. That is more important than potential haters whose opinions don't matter to me.

I am not going to hide my situation. I AM disabled and I need to survive. I don't care what hateful people throw at me. I am honest and raw. :>

You can always power up again later :) Sending my best.

Yeah I know... I just wanted to stay invested butwhen I get to a comfy place in life I certainly will power up! :)

gotta do what ya gotten do, hard to track these trends at times. you see a determined person so i wish you the best, fight for every step forward! all the best!

Yeah I know. I just wanted to avoid it so hard. I was going to save up a few thousand after buying the PC so this wouldn't happen but as soon as I bought it the value dropped. At least I got the PC I desperately needed and bought myself a little stress free time.

i get it trust me, always seems like the best course of action but we can't rely on these platforms, heck, any source of income to come through on time, on demand, etc, that's why i started making mini courses on skillshare and udemy so i can drip feed monies in, it pays for my internet, food, etc each month, it's still hard and it's a challenge to turn up each day but i can't go back to a admin job that sucks the creative lifeforce outta me, so i have to do my best to be super positive even when i'm down and tired. so trust me, i feel ya pain! :) - i desperately need a new ipad to keep me online, if that breaks, i'm screwed! :)

Courage, you're going to get away with it.

I know It's a very hard time for you buddy,but plz don't worry we all with you in your support,just be happy and keep steeming

Thanks. :> I will definitely keep steeming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86