I've been hacked and I've got about 500 STEEM stolen

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So right off the bat I will admit that getting hacked is certainly mostly my fault. I was playing some steemdice and I got most likely tricked into using a fake clone of this service.
And I'm an idiot for using these services

know-how-hacked-what-to-do.jpg

This is the post by @pharesim 's @steemdice1 talking about these fake services.

https://steemit.com/steemdice/@steemdice1/scam-alert

So let's get the story out there fully.

Yesterday at about 2 AM CEST I started playing a bit of steemdice as I was in a mood for a bit of gambling. Yeah, I know gaming is dumb but I was in a mood for a bit of risk. But I got waay more then what I bargained for.

I actually managed to win about 200 STEEM and then, went for a snack and when I came back in to play a bit more more I noticed the system suddenly telling me my password was incorrect. At first, I was thinking this was just some sort of error as I was still logged into my steemit account in my browser. But then I got logged out even there and wasn't capable of logging in.

At that moment I realized I got most likely hacked. At that time I wasn't sure how exactly it happened, whether I got some malware or if it happened in a different way. I immediately issued a account recovery and luckily (as you can see) that part has been sorted out with the help of @picokernel .

On the other hand, I have lost about 500 STEEM in the process that I had ready in liquid form to transfer out and pay my rent for the next two months.

The interesting thing right now is that I actually know where the STEEM is currently, because I did a bit of investigating.
So right as this was happening I saw that the transfer that went from my account to blocktrades

1.jpg

I immediately sent them an email asking if there is any chance of them stopping the money being transfered. Sadly the money was already transfered away from their system, but they did tell me to what steem account it was sent.

Untitled.png

Here the money sat for about 12 hours until it was transfered to account @steemdice3 . I'm not claiming it was @vominhquoc that hacked me, because the image suggests that this account was hacked as well in the same exact manner.

2.png

So right now I know where my money is currently and I do realize that most likely I never never get it back. And it's my clearly fault for getting using these gambling services.
This post is here for two reasons.

  1. To warn others
    Don't use these services. It's dangerous and as you can see from the evidence, you will lose money, whether to gambling or to hacking.

  2. To show off the evidence.
    I just wanted to show the people who might be a little, disbelieving that this is happening - to show that it is happening.

Sort:  

thanks for warning sir @kralizec , i got scam to , scam btc address change

Windows 7 in crhome they change my address btc in blocktrades i copy A they paste B thats example

scary. do you know how? out of date browser, mal-ware?

i think re-install your PC,laptop or OS, thats mal-ware and become scam you laptop or pc

Had identical issue with chrome because a bad extension was installed....

1 solution you can do : re-install your OS and install antivirus

thanks for the great advice. It is already hard enough to make some money on steemit and these scammers are destroying the hard efforts of its users. Surely will keep in mind.

This comment has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @scorpionking.

I'm an accountant in my so-called real life and as soon as I read the word "steemdice" I knew this story would not be good.

I'm one of the people who cannot put quarters in a slot machine because I think about the laundry I could do with them. I hope you never go back and I'm glad it was not a more costly event.

If there is any steemfootball or steemlottery or steempoker - stay away from those too!

there is steempoker, and it's good... free to play, SBD to win... organised by @spl (steemit poker league) ...they play games on pokerstars and lucksacks.com just using the sites playchips, winners get rewarded SBD here on steemit... i've been playing with them for a few months, won lots, not been hacked yet... if anyone feels like playing i would say it's worth checking them out.

it's good to advise caution but there are some good games out there...

As an accountant and busy person - I don't recommend games under most conditions. Most of the experience I have had with gaming ends up to take the person's time away from more important life issues if not their money. I don't have any direct experience of playing any myself.

As long as you feel you get a benefit and are not going to get hacked when walking away from your computer as in the story above - go ahead and be safe.

perhaps i'm lucky being very not busy most of the time, perhaps not... to me enjoying life is a fairly important issue, and playing a few games every day which can pay me a few steemdollars or a few hundred thousand satoshis seems like a good way to do that... better than wasting time on angry birds or some other nonsense... also stops me going crazy from thinking about the real world too much...

I can guarantee you that if I spent any time in any games i would not be winning any money. It would definitely be me paying the piper so I do not even try.

I just never got into any games at all - my to do list is too long. My son is pokefreak and I do not get it one bit but he's all in for about 20 years now I think.

I did see that bird game once being played by a friend of mine. I think I saw his brain matter dripping out at the same time. He tried to show me the thrill, but no - not buying it :)

I'm so sorry for your STEEM loss :( I hope you can get it back soon. @originalworks

Here are my few cents. I hope it helps recovering.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @raserrano. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kralizec to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Likely I will never get it back unless the person who stole it voluntarily gives it back

Yeah I understand that, but I meant to recover quick.

thanks for info! sorry for you..

Yikes. Im sorry for your loss, but thank you for warning others. I hope that you are able to recover some of it, but it's most likely gone for good. I'm also one of those people that is never lucky with winning, so I rarely gamble. Thanks for sharing your story with us.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kralizec (Jakub (James)) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Good heavens my friend, how horrible I am sorry that this happened to you, you have to be more alert thanks for warning. Damn thieves find it hard to be honest and get their own money honestly.

thats so sad, but i am pretty sure that whatever happens that happens for our good, don't worry about it..just move on in life.....and heartly thanks to you for bringing such awareness......

I am sorry for for what happened to you and thank you for warning us with this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61