I travel the world #28: Berlin Musical Instrument Museum (Why Blockchain matters !!!)

in #steemit8 years ago

Since 2013 I was telling people how important Blockchain is and of course I bought some Bitcoins and started to invest/ trade other cryptocurrencies. 

While I somehow understood, that a permanent ledger would be awesome, and I even loved the instant, non-regulated fast BTC transfers, I never understood the true value of Blockchain technology.

I Travel the(1)

These days, I am a very active user on Steemit.com, trying to help build this awesome community and I am constantly going through my travel pictures for my next story.  

So before explaining why Blockchain is so important, let me introduce you to one of the leading musical instruments museums in Europe 

The Berlin Musical Instrument Museum

2016-08-20 15.41.04
"The Berlin Musical Instrument Museum (German: Musikinstrumenten-Museum Berlin) is located at the Kulturforum on Tiergartenstraße in Berlin, Germany.  The Museum holds over 3,500 musical instruments from the 16th century  onward and is one of the largest and most representative musical  instrument collections in Germany. Objects include a portable  harpsichord once owned by Prussia’s Queen Sophie Charlotte, flutes from the collection of Frederick the Great, and Benjamin Franklin’s glass harmonica " (Wikipedia)


2016-08-20 15.42.51

A lot people have been to Berlin, but i am sure that 99% of all visitors did miss this museum.

2016-08-20 15.43.42
Yes, time to wake up!

2016-08-20 15.43.57

2016-08-20 15.44.12

2016-08-20 15.44.46

2016-08-20 15.45.26

You can hear the music of all instruments, if you enter the number of the instrument in this player
2016-08-20 15.48.24

Have you ever seen a piano/Cembalo like this one?
2016-08-20 15.49.54

2016-08-20 15.52.17

This is a very rare Stradivari valued 1.8 Million Euro
2016-08-20 15.53.43

2016-08-20 15.55.06

The museum is next to the famous Philharmonie in Berlin (where else would it be?)
2016-08-20 15.56.05
There are some strange but super interesting instruments...
2016-08-20 15.58.07

I wanted to try, but no touching ;)
2016-08-20 15.59.39

I dont know who is able to play this beast, but there must be someone...
2016-08-20 16.25.38
So beautiful!
2016-08-20 16.31.31

Wonderful pianos
2016-08-20 16.35.43
You see all these beautiful instruments? It is incredible that we are able to see instruments, which were made hundreds of years ago.

There has always been people who saved book, instruments and art for us. So for the non-digital world museums have acted as an offline blockchain, saving all these precious things for us. 

Going through the pictures I had a moment of total clarity, I realized that we have to be grateful for the museums and everybody in the past, whom had saved these important cultural assets for us. It must have been so hard to save and protect all these assets. 

Today our data is constantly growing and in my opinion data is our cultural asset for the next generations to come. So Steemit.com made me realize, that we have to protect the data we are creating at all costs. We have to make sure that the data we create is not tempered with by governments or evil corporations. 

So the use of block-chain will help us so efficiently protect our data for eternity or centuries, I am sure that in 200 years, block-chain technology will be rated higher than the invention of mobile phones (of course there is more use cases to use Blockchain technology, but saving our data seems to be very important to me)

What you do you think about my thoughts, please leave a comment and let me know!


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------   

If you like my Post, please follow me! 

I am blogging about the following topics :

  • I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
  • Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
  • Lifehacks (How to save money, Introduction of cool products) 
  • SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food and Drinks)
  • Steemperlen (German Version)
  • SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
  • COOKED (4 Episodes Cooking Series)
Sort:  

what an interesting post. Some of these instruments look crazy!
My favourite is definitely the piano, who ever is able to play so many different notes must be the master of piano!

Hey sir, if you ever go to berlin you should check it out. there is a piano johan s. bach owned !

@knozaki2015 That museum looks like a great place to visit. Intricately built and decorated, the blockchain or these beautiful musical instruments demonstrate the amazing capacity humans have for greatness in all that we strive to achieve. Sadly, these abilities can also be misused or abused.
full $teem ahead!

Yes thats the reason I am 100% into Blockchain, if its not ethereum you can alter it ;)

dude!! check my profile ;) i am saying no more!! if you like ethereum just look ;) blocktrades related ;)

I invested into eth when it was 3 $ :) sure i like eth too

It only mean that music existed way before us.

;) music is so important. check out my buddy @thisisbenbrick

this right here, is an example of a brilliant post. Great photos, great writing and loved the way how you have presented the museum as an analogy for blockchain itself!!
Loved it! :D

Thanks man. I wish my English was better. But I am glad that you understood what I am trying to say ;)

Great pictures and post.

Im totaly agree with you @knozaki2015 Im fond of steemit first of all because I can make here the catalog of my art, whith my original stories, memories and thoughts. when I write my posts i try to remember what I thought, felt or what was happening to me when I was drawing this or that picture and all this lives here and its great :)

Yes, well I was not referring to steemit. but everybit of data you create could be there as long as mankind exists.
Nobody could ever alter or censor it. thats very important

referring to steemit was just the exhample :) in our country, for exhample, censor problem is very actual :(

History brings a lot of memories. These instruments only showed us how amazing the life of our ancestors.

yes. especially I loved the cemballos!

@knozaki2015 Love the mention of blockchain and music. They are both of great Math beauty that will stand the test of time beyond our average life span. Awesome to see so many beautiful instruments preserved too! Thanks for sharing again as always.

;) yes you should check it out if you ever go to berlin!

Thanks for sharing, this looks great. I would love to get there one day.

Very much I love musical insturment! I would like to visit there

Great article and nice pictures of the museum in Berlin, my hometown!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52