Your Originality adds VALUE on STEEMIT

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is your boy @keban typing from Portharcourt in Nigeria.

money-1428594__340.jpg

I have discovered that some people are stranded, some confused, others are giving up because they are not seeing the reason why they came on steemit, I understand your pain and penury because I have been in that shoe before.
If for the first time you type steemit.com on your browser am sure you would see trending posts with very high upvotes first even if you are not registered, this high amounts attached to these post have been the reason why some signed up on steemit, they want to make this money too, but when they come in especially without a guide they make their first post and instead of tagging communities, they begin to tag friends, most get frustrated after the first and second post wondering why they are not yet making this thousands of SBD they saw others making, many came for the cash, quick cash I tell you is what some people are looking for on the internet, forgetting that steemit is a community.

sky-2996551__340.jpg

Let me quickly tell you my story.........
I heard about steemit from a friend called Victor, he told me that he had finally found what is working and trending, saying that we could be making thousands of Dollars if we can post what people will like, he said that steemit was just like facebook, the more people like your post the more you make money, it sounded that simple, he registered and his username is @sirvic, I also registered too, he said all we need is to build a community of people and all of us will begin to like each others post to make money, that was his @sirvic mentality that he sold to me, I bought that mindset ran with it and did my first post (https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@keban/many-still-wonder-bitcoin-is-what) four months ago, I waited for the thousands of dollar to come and I got three upvotes which included me but with no SBD, I got discouraged and abandoned my account, but prior to this time I had introduced other people in excitement of hearing about the goodies I will receive from steemit, so @samiwhyte who heard about steemit from me but registered before me and got active in the community with experience began to learn, at this time I had also lost contact with my introducer @sirvic who had also abandoned his acount, but @samiwhyte understood with experience like as @surpassinggoogle would say

everyone have something to offer

@samiwhyte educated me, tirelessly followed me up and finally said to me that it is a community where your originality is rewarded, it is not a ponzi scheme, it is a place where people interact, he @samiwhyte made me understand that I need to add value to the community and by this I will also begin to earn.

aec-1782427__340.jpg

Mentality changed, after 3months of inactivity I got back with the right mindset, adding value and that is why am doing this post.

thumb-3055702__340.jpg

You want to be successful on steemit you must start out with the right mindset, is not all about the money here, but add value to someone, I remember in the WELCOME post on the steemit website it is even adviced

Earning on Steemit
The best attitude to have is to expect to make nothing. Have fun. Get engaged. Make friends. If along the way you earn something - bonus!
It is possible to earn thousands of dollars, but most authors who are doing this have put in a lot of time and work to contribute to the community and build followings.

Get the right attitude, also read and study the

WELCOME (https://steemit.com/welcome)
FAQ (https://steemit.com/faq.html)
EXPLORE (https://steemit.com/tags) etc. on the steemit community at the right hand nub, it is essential for every newbie to help them fully understand this community, there you would see alot of examples to folllow like @teamsteem example for the introduceyourself post found https://steemit.com/almost-famous/@teamsteem/hello-steemit-coinmaketcap-com-introduced-me

Many questions you have about the steemit community is already answered there, if those examples and laid down order is followed I tell you that success is yours in this community.

You are adviced to also join the steemitchat and discord in order to relate with people directly, where you can send private messages and also meet new people from other communities, cities and nations of the world, you also meet people who are willing to help you like in #steemgigs, #untalented, #credo, #adsactly, #tkc and many others

You have come, in a way you heard about steemit, maybe by a friend, or through a social media, or by any other means, you found out and you are here now, tell someone else, invite someone, but give them the right concept, I got active 22days ago and I have told my friends who have in turn told other friends and some have signed up like @hibiz, @chisaka, @mandywillz, @matimo and others, some have not really done any post yet but are still studying to do it right, I wish I can re-do my introduceyourself post which I may still do. Remember to spread the right concept and encourage newbies to read the WELCOME, it will go along way to helping them remain active and not abandon accounts.

Be present

Always do your best to be present and active on steemit and on steemitchat or discord, post, comment, upvote and reply comments like as @samiwhyte said in his post which can be found https://steemit.com/steemit/@samiwhyte/support-one-another-to-acheive-their-goals-on-the-steem-blockchain

team-386673__340.jpg

This will help you and other people in the community to be active and benefit from the rewards from the community, all you need sometimes is just to be active and present, you might find what or who you are looking for by just being present, that opportunity might just come to you because you are present like as @surpassinggogle said in his post here https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-is-not-noah-s-ark-but-even-for-potential-success-on-steemit-and-in-life-you-may-need-to-be-present-present-yourselves

Being present can also help you to see and participate in a contest like the one @anomadsoul created and he rewarded evenly those who truly needed rewards to encourage them, like me, and free steem was given to the winners and I was part of them which you can also see here https://steemit.com/my2017/@anomadsoul/my-2017-welcoming-this-new-year-winners-223-steem-in-prizes

Being present helps you follow up peoples posts and drop comments that might get upvotes by curators like @cryptoctopus, be original, have fun, meet new people, make friends, meetup, add value to someone, learn also from the steemit community, come with the right mindset and I tell you, success awaits you here.

Thanks for reading.

All pictures are from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Thanks for posting your experience and the people you met in Steemit. You have endurance and a learning mind. Thanks for welcoming your friends.

Thank you so much

You got a 5.75% upvote from @upyou thanks to @keban!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34