How to Exchange your SBD for Steem Power in 5 Simple Steps [instructions + photos]

in #steemit6 years ago

As you perhaps already know, every post you write, is being rewarded with an amount in SBD & Steem Power or only Steem Power after the 7th day of its publication.

Let’s go through how the amount is broken down.

Let’s say that the final payout amount is $100. From this amount, the 25% will be distributed amongst the curators (people who upvoted for the post) and the rest 75% will go to the author. From Steemit FAQ

In this case $75 (75% of the $100) will go to the author.


Rewards Options

(a) If the author has chosen to Power up, he will receive 75/4.78 (current price of Steem Now - 22 of January 2018) > 15.6903 Steem Power

(b) If the author had selected to split 50% the rewards into SBD and Steem Power, then he would have received:

  • (50% of rewards) 75/2 = 37.5 SBD – and
  • (50% of rewards) 37.5/4.78 = 7.845 SP

If the SBDs would become Steem Power through the Transfer section (I will show you in a while), then the 37.5 SBDs would be > 58.691 SP

So, in this case the total SP would be 58.691 SP + 7.845 SP = 66.536 Steem Power (instead of 15.6903 if the author had powered up)

So, my suggestion is to keep your rewards in the 50/50 split and re-evaluate this strategy depending on the steem and steem dollar rate.

Please dear Steemit Friends let me know in the comments below if you agree with my suggestions and please share any advise with us : )


You can you visit this post by @dragosroua which includes more information regarding the payouts and let’s go immediately to see how it is possible to make your SBDs > Steem Power in an instant!

STEP 1

Go to your wallet > Click your wallet or click at https://steemit.com/@YOURUSERNAME/transfers

STEP 2

Make sure you have at least a few SBDs 🤠

STEP 3

Click on the arrow next to your SBD and then click on the ‘Market’

sbd1.jpg

STEP 4

You are in the market now .. We are here to buy steem with our Steem Dollars so we will just press F5 (in case the price SBD/STEEM) is not yet appearing.

stepmarket.jpg

I will convert 24 of my SBDs to Steem, so I enter the number 24 to the SBD( $ ) field
buysteem.jpg
It will immediately show me the amount I will buy in Steem and as long as I agree, I click on ‘BUY STEEM’

A screen will ask me to confirm and I may need to re-enter my password
confirm.jpg
password1.jpg
The order confirmation will appear in the down left section of my page and then you should go back to your wallet.

confirmation-.jpg

STEP 5

The steem appears in the wallet almost immediately. (In case it does not appear, be patient, a couple of times it took 5-10 minutes to appear to me)
You can do anything you want with steem, as it is liquid, transferable etc. I choose to ‘Power Up’

powerup.jpg

Click on Balance: or write a different amount if you do not want to Power Up with all the amount

clickonbalance.jpg

After clicking Power Up you will see that the Steem is not added in your Steem Power Amount.

1 Steem = 1 Steem Power

The estimated account amount is also going to increase.

I hope this was useful, I remember it took me for ever to discover this and I wanted to share it with you!

33.jpg

Thank you very much for reading my post, I will welcome any feedback, comment, query.

Katerina

cover5.jpg

Sort:  

Καλημερουδια!!
Να προτεινω σε ενα ποστ σου να μαζεψεις ολα τα λινκ σου (αλλα και αλλων χρηστων που εσυ βρισκεις χρησιμα) με οδηγιες για αρχαριους; Θα ειναι πιο ευκολο να βρισκει καποιος ολα τα sos :)

Καλημέρα!! Ευχαριστώ πολύ κατ' αρχήν!
Έχω αρχίσει και ετοιμάζω ένα index των δημοσιεύσεων γιατί νομίζω ότι (α) χρειάζεται για τα νέα παιδιά και (β) πολλές φορές ψάχνω κάτι και δεν το βρίσκω :)
Εδώ είναι σε πολύ draft μορφή αλλά θέλει αρκετή δουλίτσα (και χρόνο) για να το κάνω όπως θέλω.
Φυσικά κάθε ιδέα είναι καλοδεχούμενη :)

Μολις το ειδα. Πιστευω πως αν μαζευτουν μερικα ακομα θα μπορεις να βγαλεις εναν πληρη οδηγο με clickable εικονες (δεν θα ηταν πιο φαντεζι;)

Ω ναι...!!!
Για να δουμε ...

Ummm, I'm new here. I read this and I'm wishing that I could understand some of it!

I haven't felt less smart since my first philosophy class!

Anyway, I don't see the relevance for me. If it's about cash, I didn't come here to spend or make money.

I do feel bad about my ignorance though...[sigh]

Hi @rortian and thank you for taking the time to read my posts.

First of all please do not feel discouraged. The fact that you are not here to spend or to make money is actually an advantage for you : )

Every user of steemit has a wallet which stores their steem tokens. Steem comes in 3 forms. Steem Dollars and Steem are in liquid form (which means that you can immediately transfer them and exchange them for other cryptocurrencies) and Steem Power which (as the name implies) gives you power in the platform.

The more Steem Power you have, the more your upvote is worth.

(If you visit https://www.steemnow.com/@rortian you can see information about your steem power, (15) and the worth of your upvote is approximately 0.001. If you click on https://www.steemnow.com/upvotecalc.html you will see that (i.e.) a 10000 (10K) Steem Power will give you an upvote value of 1.17 $) It can take a long time to increase your steem power, depending on how active you are here and how often you post.

When the users first get here, steem delegates (lends) you an amount of steem power. As you continue being here and you will increase your steem power.

You can use your steem power to upvote quality posts or comments. Please keep in mind that all upvotes are gathered at the post and the author receives 75% of the total amount. The rest 25% is distributed among the people who upvoted (they are called 'curators')

The payout of every post is 7 days after the creation date. You can upvote a post past the 7 days window, but it will have no affect to the amount of the post, even though the number of upvotes will be increased by one.

I feel that there is too much information in my reply, but I hope that I have managed to give answers to some of your queries.

I recommend to any new user who might bump into this post to read my beginner's guide and also please read the wallet explanation by @sndbox as well as the Steemit FAQs

Let me know if you have more questions : )

Well, thanks for this; it's very clear and concise. Greatly appreciated, and I'd like a bit more, if you please.

How does one's steem power get incremented down the road? (I'm curious about everything! It's a problem that I live with all the time...!)

As each of your posts reaches the pay out day (7 days after its creation), you will be rewarded with steem + steem dollars + steem power. The amount will depend on the amount of the post.
After you visit your wallet section, you will see how much you have been rewarded and all you need to do is click on the button 'Redeem rewards / Transfer to balance'

wallet1.jpg

Every time the steem + steem power + steem dollars (sbd) will be accummulated into your wallet. You can then buy steem with your steem dollars and either exchange them with cryptocurrency or power up to increase in steem power.

I hope that I understood your question, please let me know if there is something else you would like to know.

Oh. Thanks again.

I have been searching for better posts to find how SBD can be transferred for SP. This is informative and easy to understand as you explained along with pictures. Also the way you explained how rewards given to authors and curators are helpful and I hope minnows make good use of it.

Useful and pretty easy instruction - that's how instructions must be done ;)
Thank you!

Very useful post, especially for people that don´t understand much about markets and exchanges!
You should never use the 100% SP reward option, as you can see in the post you will be losing some "money"... Be smart, guys!!

Thank you! It took me a while to discover this, so I thought of sharing :)

the information in your post is very useful, thanks for sharing

Καλημέρα Κατερίνα..πολύ ωραία ενημέρωση

Σε ευχαριστώ Νίκο ... Ελπίζω να βοηθήσει κάποιους

Hello my steemit friends introduce me khairil come from aceh
I really need upvote from my friends, karana I need money to pay my debt. If my friends want to donate upvotenya maybe I can be helped thanks to you my steemit friend.
This is my steemit account @ khairilanwar90
Thank you

helpfull post...thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61470.93
ETH 3436.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52