My love hate relationship with Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I have been here since July 2016, I have posted between 1 and 2 posts a day sometimes missing the odd day so I can catch up with the members I follow. This is my 157 blog post and wrote 3995 posts, that's including my messages and replies. I have 313 followers and follow 169. I have had the odd good post, I can't emphasise the odd enough lol What I have noticed is my account isn't getting better its getting worse, my reads and votes are dropping like flies. I'm starting to think I am invisible or maybe there is something else going on, yeah I am paranoid

What am I doing wrong

I love Steemit, I love being able to write about my life, how I feel and what's going on. I am housebound so talking to people on here is a big thing for me, I am meeting people from all over, learning a lot about others lives and cultures. I find Steemit a brilliant place if you need to learn something as there is always plenty of brilliant posts full of information. Another love of mine is you can earn a few pennies to help you out, I don't make a lot and get excited when my post makes more than a couple of pence, when it moves on to the pounds, a couple of pounds make me smile, even better is seeing how many people have read your post and if they leave you a message even if its just to say Hi. I love to go on to Steemststats and watch those little green boxes pop up and tell you who has voted on your post, I then go and check as many out as I can.


I feel like I am doing something wrong, My account seems to be having a slow painful death, I am ready to book the coffin. What can I do to revive it, Does my account need medical help, does it need resuscitating or shall I let it die off and try something new.
I'm asking for help


@karenb54

Made by @creatr

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

Don't over think it and don't rely on Steemit users alone for views. Grab a Twitter, stay on Reddit, share your posts with Facebook friends or family still. Encourage people to join, make sure you are browsing and commenting and enjoying Steemit yourself. Also don't over think it ;)

That's my big problem I over think everything , Thank you for replying :)

Fantastic idea! Upvoted this comment.

I once asked a musician friend why second albums tend to suck.
He explained that groups will take 10 years to get famous. They'll write 100 songs in that time, then put the best 15 on their first album.
When it sells, they're given one year to write another one.
They either have to, rush 100 new songs and pick the best 15, write 15 new songs and put them all on the album, take another 15 from the 85 which weren't good enough to be on the first album, or usually, a combination of the above.
Multiple posts a day are going to be burning you out. Take a few days off and give your mind a chance to regroup.

I write 1 sometimes 2 a day, haven't got the brain to do anymore, I couldn't handle being famous but could handle being liked a little :) Thank you :)

Stay true to yourself and post about things that make you smile or cry but keep it close to yourself. A reader can read between the lines and they will feel you so much more if you keep it close to yourself. At least that's how it works for me. I post mainly about my art and crafts and on some occasions I write something else down but it will still be about something close to my own heart!

I will carrt on being me, I'm not much good at crafting but since joining here I am trying a few things, I have started to draw the not very good but in time I may have something to post :) Thank you

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.07 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 29 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

The user interface of steemit is not conducive to a real social interaction. Certainly it is social media, but I don't think we can easily interact here at a personal and conversational level like some other methods.

What I have found is that I get great follows with articles, lots of votes with fiction, and almost zero interaction on personal posts. 10-20 people only.

Maybe try writing specific articles on your interests, then find conversation in Steemit.chat or Steemtrail

I am going to go through my posts and see what I can update or maybe re-write with more information, thank you :)

That sounds like a pretty efficient approach. And it would directly address your concern about whether you are getting better or worse as a writer. I bet you will find you are getting better! Whether that means more interaction on Steemit now vs. then - that's a different question. Here's to a great 2017 for you on Steemit!

To you too and thank you for your input :)

Unless you want steemit to be a job then all you can do is post about what you like and hope for the best.

I try my best maybe I need to try harder :)

Just understand how life really works... The big accounts you see only represent one percent of the real world of Steemit posters.

Sure there are big names in acting, in journalism, in singing etc. But for every one you see living the high life there are 999 living in squalor trying to make it into the big league.

Just remember everyone gets to get up and spend 30 minutes getting ready before the 45 minute commute to work. Then they have to put up with brown nosers who are wimpy sycophantic lackeys to the supervisors and bosses who lack the ability to make coffee but think they can make managerial decisions.

Throw in working with retards and the inevitable clients who for some reason feel " the customer is right " motto applies in this modern new age crazy millennium.

Throw in the office romances scandals and having to answer the phone in your lunch hour before the awesome commute home trip to hell. After all remember while you have been at work all day the tooth fairy and some of Santas elves have done your washing and cooked dinner before you crawl out of your expensive car in the garage.

(assuming you are lucky enough to have a garage), then after you throw the dishes out the window since you are to tired to wash them up, you shower and crawl into bed and think...

Well F*** , huhm which is worse,? doing this same ole shi* again tomorrow or having the privilege of doing this same ole shyte almost every day for the next 38 years...

Depression is an individual thing, but always remember one thing; every one elses life sucks dead dogs b*lls far worse than mine. Compare to other crazy saps I AM THE QUEEN OF ENGLAND; (or is it Great Britian ?)

Whatever, after all who cares as long as your not the Queen of SCOTLAND; I only mention Scotland since Ireland and Wales have been " ignored" due to a lack of interest by any thinking person...

Hugs & good Karma @ U ;)

I do like good karma, Thank you @crok, good to see you back :)

I have experienced that it can be totally random what posts get attention for a number of reasons. Some posts are seen and upvoted by a hundred, others only get a few views. I've followed and upvoted!

Just noticed lately things going backwards and not better, hopefully things will get better soon, thank you :)

I missed the early days of Bitcoin but I was fortunate enough to be connected with @DollarVigilante through FB and discovered Steemit. What makes Bitcoin so fascinating is the rules it uses, and Steem uses a different set of rules. These are still the early days but we are creating a new landscape for social media. We are only where Facebook was in 2004, so what will Steem look like in 2027?

That's where I really fail. I can't get a hang of Bitcoin or Cryptocurrency, I have read loads but it still doesn't click, Think my 52 year old brain just doesn't want to know , :)

Just keep blogging away with what interests you. I have reposted stuff I wrote that got Zero interest first time around and got some cents.

So reposting is OK on Steemit. As long as you say it is a repost and the story is interesting. Cheetah will of course jump on you in a Nano second, but I've got used to that little Scamp. And he does serve a useful purpose.

As has been said many times on Steemit, the strangest things get the upvotes.
So when in doubt, go with the singing Cat Video;D~

DateSteemShirt9d710.jpg

Off to search for a singing cat lol Thank you :)

Encouraging lion says

keep on being awesome. Don't worry about the votes or the money. Think about the friends you've made. They are the real treasure to be found on Steemit.

And since you're awesome, I'll follow you. See, you're onto another winner already ;-)

Ahhh I love the lions thank you, I have made some lovely friends on here but some are very quiet and have been for a while, Thank you I will pop over and get to know you more :)

That's the thing with friends - they don't have to be around all the time. They are still friends though.
I too have seen the number of votes going down since I joined. But that's ok.

2017 will be the big year for Steemit, and we are in the box seat to reap the benefits of it. It's nice to be at the forefront for once. ;-)

Next year is going to be a wild ride ;-)

I hope so, would be nice to be apart of it, I have lost so many friends over the years since I became housebound, My real friends live in my laptop :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94