[REPOST] Pokémon GO! and Anarchism (Experiment in Regard to a Potential Pitfall in Steemit's Posting System)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hi all. I just was tipped off to an extremely well-written and thought-provoking article written by @dragosroua, a relatively new Steemit user. The article deals with the author's doubts about time limits on receiving rewards for content posted to Steem. It is an interesting read, and I highly recommend checking it out and joining the discourse.

In the piece, the battle between "timeless" vs. "timely" material is discussed and addressed as one of the potential downfalls of the Steemit platform. The author maintains, in essence, that great, "timeless" posts get lost and buried under whatever current "timely" post is on top of the list, and that after 30 days, are largely irrelevant.

Think Emerson's "Self-Reliance" being lost and buried forever under "Justin Biebers New Haircut! 2 Cute!! Lolz :) :)"

Another issue brought up in the piece is the problem of image hosting at off-platform sites. What if a host site crashes, or just becomes defunct and goes away? Bye, bye, pictures in your entire blog on Steem. Sure, you may have them backed up, but do you really want to go and manually replace the pictures for a thousand plus posts? I don't. I would hate for my content to lose its images, but as it stands, it is a possibility.

Finally, and to get to the point of this post, what about simply reposting?

If other Steemians view a repost as spam they can ignore or flag it. If they think a repost is a pertinent, timely, and valuable revisitation of an article that maybe deserved a second chance, they can upvote it. I think the free market economic system on Steemit can handle this quite well. Perhaps the plagiarism bots would take notice in a detrimental way? Hmmm. Well, let's try it.

In that spirit, and in the spirit of experiment, I am reposting a video project which I poured a lot of time and effort into, and am proud of, but which didn't get much attention as I posted it early on in my Steemit career, when I had just a few followers. In this video, created on the day after Pokémon GO! hit Japan, I walk around town talking to people about Pokémon and use this conversation as a segue into a dialogue about free market anarchism and government. Very subtle, I know.


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist residing in Niigata, Japan.

Sort:  

you can now upload pics to ipfs.pics and they will be hosted in a decentralized way, vs on a centralized service with the risk of going down.

I happen to agree with @dragosroua. I have written an article in response.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79