Save SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

It seems like a spirit of doom and gloom pervades the platform lately. When it's not a crybully whining and moaning about their status as victim and threatening to move to Canada....er...I mean to go back to FaceBook then it's something else.


Source

Oddly enough some of those sounding the alarm make sense. What @dragosroua wrote in the Post Timeless Content vs Timely is perfectly reasonable.

A good ole boy once told me.

"Son" he said. I wasn’t his son. We weren’t even related that I know of, but that’s how we talked in Texas in the day. Still do some places. Nothing personal. "Sometimes if you have several problems you can use judo on them and make them solve each other"

I've found that to be true.

Everyone seems to think we have some problems. I’m not sure I understand some of the complaints.

I've been on FaceBook since it started and before that I was on AOL and before THAT, I dabbled a bit with Compu-Serveand Fido-Net I actually had to pay to be on CompuServe. It wasn't cheap either. So why are people complaining because they are getting paid, a little for what they had to pay, a LOT, back in the day.

"That was then and this is now." you say “ And I bet you had to walk five miles, through the snow, to school”

As a matter of fact, I did, and it was uphill and into the wind both ways.

So ok. It’s different now, for some reason.

One problem. As @dragorousa so concisely stated, is that After the thirty day payout the content just sits there on the blog chain. It no longer benefits the author.

Oddly enough there happens to be this Thang. It’s called Peer-Hub. The good folks there are trying to make it grow and they need content.

Peer-hub has a problem. Steemit has a problem.

Make them solve each other.

A modest proposal.

AFTER the 30 day payout, Aggregate, or Anthologize selected content on Steemit. Bend, fold, spindle and mutilate (an opportunity for a DEV to write an app?) it in such a way that it can be ‘sold’ on Peer-Hub. It can either be sold for USD or, (and this is the fun part) for Steem. (they do that now).

I would suggest the option be available to auto-magically power up any Peer-Hub sales if the author so desires. In other words. Suppose some discriminating reader were to select one of my many thrilling, exciting, yarns of high tech and cookies, such as Ride the Lightning or The Yggdrasil Highway (which, oddly enough, are on Peer-Hub right now) and elect to pay me in Steem.

As it happens each of those magnificent books are woefully underpriced for the value the reader receives. Each one is in excess of sixty thousand words (probably more like 100K but I’ll low ball the guess) which will take a few hours to read.

A few hours. The average reader snails along at the tortuous pace of 250 - 300 words per minute. Suppose they pick one of my shorter works and it’s only 60,000 words. That would take them about 200 minutes to read. A little over 3 hours. At the pitiful price of $2.99 that’s a dollar an hour. What else delivers so much but costs so little?

ahem Sorry. Gratuitous self aggrandizement over. Where was I? Oh yeah. A book has been purchase, paid for in Steem, the steam goes into my account as “Paid for in SteemPower”.

Power Up in other words.

That solves many problems in one swell foop. I (the author) get paid. New life is breathed into old content. In fact there is the potential for life time (and beyond) revenue since e-books never go __out of print__There would be NO reason for me to leave Steemit. Ever.
The same could be said for the producers of Music, PodCasts, Video’s, Web-Comics (I’d LOVE to get Schlock Mercenary on Steemit) and other forms of digital content.

In fact the procedure might be considered something like providing a ‘trailer’ on Steemit, with the complete works on Peer-Hub. Or, in my case, I’m serializing TEOTWAWKI on Steemit as we speak. It’s up to episode 39 right now. I expect there will be a hundred or so MORE episodes. If Peer-hub comes through the whole saga could be aggregated into one e-book for ease of reading.


Likewise What’s not to like?

Sort:  

Hi everittdmickey
Thank you for following me. I hope you enjoy my content. Your Blog looks interesting. I will follow you as well.
~Cheers~

The picture you posted is so spot on. Upvoted

I've went and had @joyoftech join Steemit, and I'd absoultely love to get Scholck Mercenary ot Steemit as well. Lets find someone who knows Howard personally (rule of so many handshakes), and get him here as well! :-D

out standing. The more the better and if they happen to be 'famous' that doesn't hurt either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56500.57
ETH 2341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33