Is There A Serious Password Problem On Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit password problem3.png

Hi everyone. Earlier today I posted a video on how Steemit is without a doubt the future of social media as mainstream social medias dig their own graves by censoring people and pushing them away as well as having no incentives.

Well, I've been getting a lot of comments regarding a certain problem here on Steemit and that's the passwords.

Countless people are telling me that they copied the password for Steemit down exactly as they were given but cannot sign into their Steemit account. According to them, they're putting in the exact same password they've been given but it keeps saying that it's the wrong password.

I asked them if they accidentally used spaces in their password when copying and pasting it and they have insisted that they have not.

So I went to try and sign into my Steemit account on another computer using my OWN password given when I signed up and go figure...

IT DOESN'T WORK!

Luckily I'm always signed in here but this is something that seriously concerns me, having the money I have in my wallet and having the network I've been building since August 2016.

So I think this deserves an explanation and solution as soon as possible. A glitch or issue like this is incredibly alarming and risks the very platform itself in the long term.

So let's get some answers going on this post and please resteem this everywhere! Let's solve this problem and make sure this doesn't happen again. And let's also find a way to change our passwords while we're signed in without being logged out or forced to remember your initial password if it doesn't work for whatever reason.

Oh... and one more thing.

Save your private keys on a piece of paper and store it in a good place!

Thanks for reading and resteeming folks! This is a problem that needs to be addressed!

Sort:  

I think it should be called for much much more attention for the new users on steemit to a one simple yet top important fact:

There is no password recovery on steemit. Deal with this properly !

And there is only one person in a whole world responsible for safety of your passwords, and your funds on STEEMIT:

YOU !

There is actually a password recovery system!

You can read more about it here:
https://steemit.com/security/@acidyo/why-steem-offers-one-of-the-most-secure-wallets-in-crypto

Hey @themonetaryfew, you are a great Steemonian. I see you post all the time with helpful comments and stuff. You got a new follower. Thanks for the work you put in.

Remembering your password is one thing, but copying and pasting the initial password given and saving it only to paste it back in on another computer and it not work is another issue entirely.

I totally agree with this. It's scary that you only have one key for all this and that's it. I would LOVE to see some sort of security improvement with steemit ASAP

There are actually 4 different keys with different types of ownership. What improvements would you like to see?

I have never had this problem myself, but I really hope this is getting fixed for the sake of others... If this is a bug it is indeed a serious one!
Upvoted and resteemed!

Thanks! I'm logged in all the time on two computers, but the fact that the password I've always used and they gave me in the beginning doesn't work on another computer is not something I want to be seeing. This needs to be fixed ASAP.

They need to fix this, it´s everyone´s interest, not just ours, but theirs as well. I tried to log in from a different computer today, but I share the same experience. Nonetheless, Josh, keep up the good work, I love your stuff :)

So I managed to log in to my account on my cell phone with that looong pasword I got in the beginning. What a chore...

I have never seen a password problem on this site that wasn't the person mis-entering it. Of course, this generates a huge long password string of unintelligible letters.

There is the off chance that someone has gotten ahold of your password, and has changed it for future use. Look for activity on your account that is not you.

To check if your entering your password correctly, type it into notepad, so you can see it, and then copy/paste it into the steemit login.

Yes, this is exactly what I do.
When I initially got a password on Steemit assigned to me in August 2016, I copied and pasted it into a notepad file on a usb. Copying that same password as it was then does not work on other computers when I attempt to log in. So I'm rather confused about the issue. I'm hearing this from a lot of people. No spaces, no numbers or letters wrong.

I meant using notepad to make sure you had no numbers or letters wrong.
As, I have found, from past experience, that I missed upper/lower case, and once had caps-lock on.

Yeah, but this shouldn't happen when you copy and paste the exact password given when you get an account. Cap locks shouldn't be affecting copying and pasting.
I'm telling you, I've repeatedly tried the very thing that I copied and pasted into a drive on notepad. I've copied and pasted this password back into Steemit in the past to sign in on other computers and it worked but now it's not working at all.
Lots of people are reporting this exact problem, I'm far from the only one. It's the number one issue I'm asked about when promoting Steemit everywhere.

I did the same. I have both a paper copy and a USB I never use for other things storing the password. I figured it was too probable that I would make a small error on the password and screw myself which is why I also have the USB.

I actually have had an issue on a private email account I locked myself out of where I had the password written down but it didn't work. It isn't cool being locked out of something you can't recover.

Hey joshsigurdson,
Thanks for sharing

You said "copied the password" .. that is unclear and makes me wonder if they tried to write it down. I never write down that string of upper and lower case letters .. always copy/paste it as one backup method.. Printing is probably Ok too but don't be freaked out if it takes an entire beverage before re-keying it correctly.

I get this problem too. Reset my password multiple times and tried to (very carefully) enter it into my mobile device and it never works. Something is wrong.

@joshsigurdson As far as I know Steemit does not let you log in with your master password, only your posting key (maybe also active key?). I think its designed that way on purpose as a security feature.

I have never been able to use my master password for Steemit frontpage login. My posting key on the other hand has always worked.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge comes and adds more info to this train of thought. I am sure i have read some info on this somewhere here before, but I dont see it mentioned in the offical FAQ.

I was using my master password to login until i found out i shouldn't.

Where do you find the posting key?

I have a friend who signed up with a dying computer, then could never get back on with her new one. I think you just solved that mystery. Wish the problem were as easily solved but thanks for pointing it out.

Limited one thing I find very bad about, such a large social media site but they have no password recovery system.

The problem with that statement, is your assumptions are all incorrect.

This is not a large social media site. This is an interface to the block-chain.
There is nobody back there. There are no admins. There is no support staff.

Further, your password is not a security feature to allow you access to the site.
It is a cryptographic key that has to be used to sign every transaction you do with the block-chain.

This crypto-key is yours and yours alone. Everything you do on this site is tied to it.
If someone could modify it, then they would be able to steal everyone's steem.
If someone could break it, it would mean breaking the cyptographic lock that is the basis for all things crypto.

So, there is no site, there is no admin, and their is no way someone can recover your password.

Thanks very good explanation..

I hope they find a good solution to this... What does account security matter if you lose your password and can't access your account yourself?

You're right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74