Three Years on Steemit ...About Dedication

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)



1963863.jpg



I can't believe it's been three years since I first posted on Steemit and earned a few cents for one of my best stories. I was really insulted and tempted to quit right there and then, but I didn't.

I also saw posts being upvoted that weren't worth reading, posts that writers were simply putting out to make money and it all seemed so nepotistic and arbitrary.

I have this innate sense of justice and it bugged me that things weren't fair, but I persisted because I had been on social media for some time and had quite a large Twitter following and good Klout score but it hadn't really gotten me anywhere.

So I figured I had already wasted a few years on my writer's platform so I might as well gamble a few more. I wasn't really committed to Steemit long term.



About that time a writer friend from Twitter met with me to ask advice about a novel he was planning to publish. He was worried that he didn't have enough social media presence and was wondering how he could attract more followers.

We brain stormed for a few hours and I gave him my honest opinion—work hard, write quality work and give away some of your writing so readers can get to know you.

I was astounded a few days later when I visited his site and he had a quarter of a million followers. No, it wasn't my advice--a lot of those followers had Russian surnames. He had bought followers. The deception completely floored me.

I can't begin to tell you how depressing that was for me and at the same time the lack of traction I was experiencing on Steemit added to my disillusionment.



People were telling me writing was a failing trade and expecting me to cave but I refused.

For one thing, I've never been one to quit anything—truth is, I hate change and if I start something I finish it simply because of momentum. Some call it being stubborn—I call it being loyal.

Besides, I've always been a writer and it's all I know. Even when I taught, I taught writing.

I'm not the type to walk away. I didn't realize it then, but that's the same quality that has enabled @countrygirl and me to stay married for so many years and has enable me to persist in developing my art.

Gradually, I grew a small, faithful following on Steemit and through good times and bad times I've hung in.



Lately, many people have deserted the site but my advice is simple: work hard, produce quality work and if you're a writer, give away some of your writing so readers can get to know you.

When my novel was published I wrote the dedication to my wife, @countrygirl, because she also stuck with me and helped with proofing, formatting and doing the work of a book shepherd.

The main characters in the novel, A Familiar Rain were Alex and Abbey—they were actually @countrygirl and me.

Dedication is the secret to success, however modest that may be, so I'm including the poem in this post tonight to honour my wife and also to encourage anyone else out there who's struggling to write and produce those magical 2,000 words per day.

As for Steemit, stay loyal to where you write and the friends who've helped you write late into the night



Dedicated to You



I write novels
And it’s you, of course—
It always is.


From Alex to Abbey

You roll your eyes
The same way you did
When I asked you
To make coffee—

The first time we met.

I know I’m a nerd
And you don’t believe
Half what I say…

Neither do I, but

From Alex to Abbey

That’s huge—
A dedication to you
Of our whole life…

And yes, you can roll your eyes,
Like you did
When we first met…

But I really am,
You know,

Dedicated to you
And this writing life.



Sort:  

Since I first joined steem 2 years ago I went through the same process as you went through (as do many here I guess). Sometimes I wonder why I keep posting, gaining only a couple of votes and even fewer readers. But then again, I do see some progress. And on the other side (and perhaps more importantly) my dedication to post once a day keeps me creative. I think this is actually the most that has come out of all of this: that I write and post about things that I normally would not have; and that is reason enough for me to keep going.

Thanks for you post, and keep steemin' 👍😉

Thank you, @tobetada. It's actually improving again - I powered down during the worst part but the whole crypto market is depressed - bitcoin is low, so steem is low, but there is still a community here and a few loyal readers. I've scoped out other pay for blog sites but Steemit is best.

now is actually a good time to buy again, if you still have money that can be lost ;)

I agree - Yeah, I'm buying

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Precious. That is the first word that comes to mind when I read these sweet words. The two of you are a beacon, and dearly loved. Congrats on 3 years here, John!

Thanks lydon - miss you guys - hope you and Abi are doing fine :)

Apart from @countrygirl I am your biggest fan! Your poetry is beautiful and I try to support you on my own account and via steemiteducation. I also received my 3 year notification last week. Here we both are...still writing....just keep on doing what you're doing...

Thank you so much, @giantbear, for your generous encouragement. You exemplify the very qualities that make the Steemit community so supportive. I also read your posts and count you among the quality writers who regularly post original good content, I appreciate your kindness :)

Congratulations! Hoping to get there too...

Well, been there, had to power down through rough times, but am powering up again. In other words, Steemit is one place where if you persist you will make it!

Wow, your story is really all about how amazing you are.. lmfao

ha ha, I don't think you read between the lines, @solarshutdown, but that's just my opinion :)

"Anybody here seen my old friend John?"

Greetings, old friend. I am happy and thankful to have (accidentally, incidentally, providentially) dropped by at a time appropriate to congratulate you on three years before the Steemit mast... :D

Sadly, I am just passing through at the moment. I want to write more. I hope one day to write more. However, I seem to be in what (in scientific terms) might be called an "energy minimum," and too distracted by survival issues to write. Not where I want to be.

It is good to see you carrying on, and that you also seem to have gathered substantial traction since the last time I looked. Hallelujah!

Take care my friend, and thank you again, especially for all the lovely poetry and inspiration and encouragement. Please greet @countrygirl for me.

Blessings,

- @creatr

😄😇😄

@creatr

P.S. Thank you for steering @arthur.grafo in my direction. :)

Thanks, @creatr - sorry you're just passing through - miss you and your posts - I will pass along your greetings to @countrygirl - happened to mention you to Alex (Arthur) but he decided to look you up - he's a thoughtful man and makes very insightful comments

Thank you, my friend. :D

BTW, thanks for the re-steem too :)

My pleasure!

Three years is something to shout about... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67