Bringing Steemit To Jakarta's Slums - Together We Can KILL Poverty!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

In the next few months I plan to move to Jakarta's slums and train residents how to use Steemit. There are millions of people in Indonesia who scrape by on less than USD $2 per day - imagine your life on $2 a day!

The opportunity for Steemit to provide improved income and liberty to these people is obvious and I want to help facilitate this process.

I am writing this post to canvas the opinions of Steemians and try to gauge the prospective response from the community. All comments will be greatly appreciated!

I believe in Steemit and I am excited by the opportunity that Steemit brings for economic liberty!

holi-594333_1280.jpg

Indonesian Statistics

In 2015 Indonesia had a population of 257.6 million. The capital city Jakarta alone has an estimated population of 10 million people and is the largest city in South East Asia. The UN Human Settlements Program estimates that there are more than 5 million slum dwellers in Greater Jakarta alone!

As Steemit grows the opportunity for a large internal market within Indonesia is phenomenal.

It is my intention to go and live with the most dispossessed of Jakarta's population and gift a laptop and smartphones to 2 intelligent young people. A laptop in Indonesia costs approximately $300 and a smart phone with a good camera can be purchased for $120.

I will spend perhaps one month living and working within the community - with the intention of continuing to assist through Skype and returning regularly throughout the first year.

saigon-53144_1280.jpg

Steemians Posting From The Slums

As these new Steemit users learn the system they will be able to photograph and blog about their lives and experiences, sharing them with the Steemit community.

I believe they will be able to earn more money from Steemit than would be otherwise possible working minimum wage jobs. This will help to highlight the issues faced by Jakarta's urban poor.

As their profile on Steemit grows the Steemit community will also benefit from greater understanding of the problems faced by some of the poorest people on the planet.

I hope that this project will encourage other Steemit users to do the same in other parts of the world!

vietnam-1276917_1280.jpg

Potential Issues & Dangers

There are several immediate issues to overcome with this plan.

  1. The lack of English skills: My initial plan to address this will be to post in two languages: Indonesian and English - by using Google Translate. Having used Google Translate between English and Indonesian I know that the translations are not always accurate. However I believe that the Steemit community will be understanding of this. As their financial independence grows perhaps these new Steemians will be able to afford English lessons!

  2. The process of converting Steem to Bitcoin and then Bitcoin to Indonesian Rupiah: My research has shown that there is a Bitcoin exchange in Jakarta which can facilitate this process.

  3. The potential dangers of increased financial liberty: A sudden abundance of cash can cause problems. There are no shortage of examples where a sudden access to money has lead to drug abuse or other potentially dangerous problems. The only solution is for me to work closely with the community and do my best to choose grounded individuals - hopefully they will act as roll-models for the rest of the community!

xiamen-824233_1280.jpg

The Opportunities

Bringing financial freedom through Steemit will hopefully assist with improving:

  • Healthcare
  • Education
  • Nutrition
  • Living conditions
  • English language skills
  • Lifespan
  • Cultural understanding

My hope is that the first 2 new Steemit users I work with will eventually be able to teach another 4 new users - then the opportunity for economic freedom will spread exponentially throughout the community!

Considering that with minimal effort I have been able to earn almost $500 in my first 2 weeks on Steemit, I believe that I can swiftly assist in improving the lives of people who live on $2 a day.

To test this theory today I ran my first training session with a teenage friend of mine who lives in my village here on Bali. Please follow her on @baligirl and show her some support - she is amazing and very intelligent!

DQmbMXutRQdJKzULNivCbxTYf62EaNHTnN4BvVFgyJvY1xR_1680x8400.jpeg
Image credit @baligirl

If this initiative is a success I hope that perhaps I can use the income from my posts during my time in Jakarta to start a Steemit restaurant - run as a cooperative by women within the community. However I will have to look into the feasibility of this project once I am on the ground.

children-1822559_1280.jpg

Why Do I Want To Do This?

I believe in liberty. When people are struggling just to feed and shelter their children the opportunities for liberty are almost nonexistent. I will be proud to assist in changing this situation and improve liberty through financial freedom. I believe I have the skill-set to do this!

I know this experience will be positive and enjoyable for me. My Indonesian language is not fluent but will suffice for my goals. I look forward to the opportunity to improve my Indonesian through the process of teaching.

I have no fear for my safety as my life experience has shown me that people with less money are often more loving and giving than people with more money. My only vague concern will be staying healthy but I feel confident that I will be able to do this.

Please let me know what you think - I will be most interested to know!

people-216677_1280.jpg

Perhaps I will even start a unique Steemit account to raise money for this project. If this initiative is successful I will be proud to replicate this project in other parts of the developing world. One of this project's best aspects is that all Steemians will be able to share and encourage this process through following these new members.

So here's to financial freedom through Steemit!

I hope that Steeming From The Slums will become a global phenomenon over the coming years! =)

@jockey loves liberty and all of You! =)

@jockey - introducing me l.jpg

All uncredited photos courtesy of Pixabay

Sort:  

Awesome @jockey defiantly worthy!
upvote_initiative.png
100% UpVoted, @randowhale UpVoted & Re-steemed! More about the Initiative here...
Remember To Vote blueorgy for witness!

Soon I'll be staying in West Java for three weeks. We land in Jakarta. I won't have the time to introduce Steem, but we'll we doing a great many things locally! I must agree though that knowledge has got to be available to anyone, and a platform such as this is where awareness may begin.

This is a fantastic idea. I have sent a donation from the Giving Steem initiative. Spend it as you see fit to help the Indonesians, I only ask that you provide an update on how the funds were spent. Best of luck.

GivingSteemSmall1.jpg

Thank you so very much! I believe in Liberty and that goes hand-in-hand with Transparency! I will always provide full accountability for any donations that are facilitated through @jockey!

You rock!

Followed and upvoted! =)

Love from Bali!

@jockey, Wow! I think this is amazing! There never should have been "poverty" in any country. There never should have been 1st, 2nd, 3rd world countries. We ALL live on this planet and we all have our own ways of living but that shouldn't account for who is better than another. You have my vote! Thank you for creating LOVE!, one person at a time.

Very noble task @jockey
You will be able to help Indonesians a great deal and it will make their lives easier especiallly those who are in deep poverty.

This is a very moving post. I also think we can all kill poverty within our lifetimes!

This is so AMAZING!

What an incredible effort you are going to be putting in to help people improve their desperate lives!

... talk about teaching a man to fish, rather than give him a fish ...

A big upvote and resteemed.

Thank you so much beautiful woman!

We all know how amazing you are and your input is always appreciated! =)

All that is needed to change the situation of our world's poor is a tiny percentage of us to stand up and be proactive.

That is my intention. I am sure my posts from Jakarta's slums will be very informative!

As usual thank you for your support! =) Upvoted!

I was going to post about a similar initiative here where I am at a homeless encampment. Hope it goes well for Jakartans. I know the city and the slums are prone to flooding an myriad other hardships on top of the evident poverty. A chance is a chance.

Yes my friend all we need is a "chance"!

I have lived with the dispossessed in several countries around the world.... I hope I can bring my experience, knowledge and love to Jakarta within the next few months! I know I will make a big difference!

Where are you on this heartbreakingly beautiful planet my friend? I would be most interest to know!

Upvoted and followed! =)

Right by the longest and least protected international border on this planet and about 5 miles away from a massive homeless camp in the forest.

Interesting jockey. Those coins, my god

they do need the help in indonesia.i have been there and i saw how poor they can be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87