Thanks To the Steemit Community, I Bought My First DSLR Camera

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

nikon2.jpg

A few weeks ago, I made my very first purchase ALL from SBD:

The Nikon D3400, the best camera for beginning photographers around (at least according to my extensive research, both online and with friends). I have been so busy the last few weeks finishing up the semester of tutoring (my day job) that I barely got to use it. Except for once, and that was for last week’s episode of Skin on Sundays.

I was sick and too tired to really anything, so I ended up just taking it of myself, which I think was a good way to practice without annoying anyone else :)

Here is what I took:

the-first-eye-web.jpg

The First Eye

Don’t forget about the first eye.
The interior world may not exist
without the exterior one.

I wrote it with a lot on my mind, and one of the drawbacks of overthinking is not paying attention to the world in front of you, living in the moment. I also believe that part of living in the moment includes introspection, exploring the world of the interior, but the best case scenario is if there is a balance between both looking out and looking in. Do you ever have days where you just feel empty for no apparent reason? Everything is going well, nothing outrageous happened to change the mood, yet somehow, there is an emptiness overpowering things, a feeling that the world has lost the meaning it had been full of just before. During these times, for me anyway, my best course of action needs to be to start looking outward and more simply instead of inward for meaning. To enjoy things like the smell of garlic, the feeling of the warm sun or a soft blanket on my skin, to stretch the body out in a yoga-like fashion and feel the difference, not in the soul, but in the muscles and bones. That’s where the poem came from.

My photography skills will be gradually improving as a result of watching a lot of YouTube tutorials on the camera itself, YouTube tutorials and blogs about photography in general (perhaps even here on Steemit, if I can find some good ones—any suggestions?).

Up until this point, I was using my iPhone 6 to take the photos, collaborating with other photographers, or sometimes, even borrowing a DSLR from someone else (like @kindstranger <3). My skills are not starting at 0, but in terms of working with a DSLR on manual, it will be a trek uphill to a peak of glorious vision. My physiopoetry project, which has been going on for 2 years, and which seems to center on photography, was actually an idea I had to be centered on writing. Taking the pictures I originally thought would be less important. Now, in these two years and over 100 episodes (1 per week, every Sunday), I have realized that the project is equally poetry and photography.

As I embark on this new journey into the world of photography, I’m feeling excited. As excited as I was in 2008 when I arrived in Spokane, Washington to study poetry for two years, in the end receiving a master’s degree? I don’t know, but maybe?

nikon1.jpg

It was ridiculously, ridiculously cool being able to buy the camera with only money I have earned writing here on Steemit. There is no way I could have afforded the camera otherwise right now, and for that, and for many other reasons, I am infinitely grateful for what Steemit has done for my life. The project can now take off to new heights because of this camera. Thank you guys, and thank you Steemit. So much love.

...and, I can also take endless pictures of Luna!!!

lumba2.jpg

lumba3.jpg

Sort:  

have you really studied poetry for two years?
do you have Instagram account? or anywhere I can see more photos and read more poems of yours ?

I studied a MFA in Poetry at the Inland NW Center for Writers in Spokane, Washington. Truly lovely, those two years. What I learned is indispensable. AND I do have an instagram account. It is @skinonsundays and that is where the project has been most popular (over 11k followers now!). I also have a book of poetry published if you're interested in that, plus lots of poems online. You can check all that out on my website, jessicalakritz.com. The shop has the book, and the poetry you can find in the portfolio. xoxo, thanks for being interested!

thanks for all the addresses u shared, nice playground of words I bet..will check em all..good luck

Wow I really love that photo, and the poem. Photography and Poetry are two massive things I love!!!

I'm so glad I stumbled across your steemit blog, now I can watch your progress in photography.

I too myself love photography and I think my skills have come a long long way over the last year. I've posted some of my photos here, here are a couple I think you may like:

https://steemit.com/photography/@slayerkm/southwold-pier-photography-mission

https://steemit.com/photography/@slayerkm/seaside-street-photography-mission

Photos of the year @jessandthesea amazing photos

Some beautiful pictures of you are really nice to see you a dog. It looks very good to all. In fact, the post is very good.

Very exciting!
I remember my first dslr and look forward to seeing what you can do with the new tools if those where the results you got out of a phone camera

thank you!! wow, that's a nice thing to say :)

The wife got me the D3200 as a birthday gift a couple of years ago. I grew up doing SLR film photography (fully manual exposure settings!) so it was liberating to suddenly have the same kind of control and not worry about paying a fortune each week for film development!

I've been reasonably happy with it, although the build quality is rather poor. The focus mechanism no longer engages reliably, so I have to hold down the focus override button and focus manually - which these lenses just aren't built for. It's a drag when I'm trying to do nature photography and quickness is essential, but on the whole it still takes lovely pictures.

I can't wait to see what you do with yours!

I can't wait to see what I do either, actually. I have ideas, but I just need to learn how to execute them. Do you still do SLR photography, or have you transitioned fully to digital?

No I'm fully digital now.

Several months ago I decided to scan in all my old film negatives. It took weeks! Film does have a charming quality all its own - but good grief, it's just not worth it.

Congratulations @jessandthesea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31