Who's my best friend on steemit? ๐Ÿ‘ช The first version released! ๐Ÿš€

in #steemit โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

Original Post (Korean Version) : https://steemit.com/kr/@jeongmincha/2iufta-steemfriend



http://steemfriend.com

It has a lot of loopholes now, but I decided to release the first version of steemfriend and get feedback on it.

What Is It? Steemfriend?

  • It is an utility site which allows users to know who are his best friends on steemit. If you want to know who have communicated with you a lot, you can use this site!
  • It collects users' recent 20 posts and calculate friendship factors by summing votes and comments of the recent posts. So, it will especially show who have been with you recently.

My Results

Serious Things To Improve

  • I have developed it by using nginx + uwsgi + django and it is not optimized as I am not a good server developer. Accordingly, it produces 502 bad gateway sometimes. While a user is calculating his friends, it seems that another user cannot easily access this site. Anyway I should learn in terms of optimization.
  • It takes time to produce the result. (about 30-40 seconds) I will dig into how to get it to have better performance.

What I Want To Add

  • This is the first version, so there is a lot of things to add.
  • I will add the feature which allows users easily to copy & paste the results from this site and write a post sharing the results.
  • I will add a UI component which allows users to select the ratio of importance between votes and comments.
  • It will calculates the friendship by considering not only incoming activities but also outgoing activities. I know that according to API, it is easier to implement by only using outgoing activities. I will calculate the time and performance when I use both activities or only outgoing activities as well.

Please Let Me Know If There Are More

  • Please let me know more ideas about it. I will record them as my milestones and I'll try to accomplish each of them.

Last Stories

(These are Korean versions, you can ignore it)

Sort: ย 

I added your app to steemtools.com

Please edit your post to explain more about what it actually does.

Thanks a lot. I added the explanations.
I really appreciate your interest!

transisto you are right we need more beautiful article like this

Could add an option to do a deeper dive. Say to 50 back posts. Obviously this would take a lot longer to load but you could just add a warning..

Keep up the great work.

Thanks for that idea.
Actually, I had developed the previous version which collects WHOLE posts of users before.
However, it took so long that it was about 5 minutes for my case. (It depends on the number of user history)
That's why I decided to collect only recent 20 posts. I think I can make more optimizations for performance, then I'll try more.

Would you be a part of the steemit.vote community? We search for Leaders in Korea. please contact me on FB. https://www.facebook.com/steemit.vote.9
i gave you a 100% Upvote. Thanks for make steemit.com a better place.

We also have a own chat >> https://steemit.chat/channel/steem.vote

Best regards

Yeah, I sent a friend request on Facebook.
I joined steem.vote channel on steemit.chat as well.

Wow thanks a lot. it is a honor for me :)

Nice concept!

Thanks for this ideas the community needs people like you.

SteemFriend is a nice concept. It's like those social apps on Facebook. Continue creating great apps like this and Steem will definitely live long! :)

Thanks. I'll keep developing this site more and more.
Have a nice day!

very impressive post. keep posting.

Thanks a lot. I'll keep developing this and posting about it.

Thanks for providing this wonderful site. it will help the steemit family to grow in right direction.
Since i m newbie here . Please upvote me.

Here is my introduction post. Have a look.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@raist/namaste-from-india-the-beautiful-city-chandigarh

Thanks

Yeah. I visited your post :)
Have a good day!

Thanks

Nice feature

Thanks for visiting.
Please share the result within your own post :)
Have a nice day!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77