My Second Month on Steemit in Review

in #steemit6 years ago

2nd month in review.14809cbe1fe9451e8180d4daf9f0eacc.png

Emoji Source

This ended up being another great month. I reached my goal of continuing to post each weekday — I originally planned to post some videos on DTube in addition to my weekly Steemit posts, but that was a little too optimistic. I did, however, post two more videos this week and something exciting happened — both got big upvotes from DTube! It was so exciting! 🎉

My post DTube vs. YouTube vs. Patreon got a 25% upvote, and What Could a Steem University Look Like? got a 20% upvote. Because of those upvotes, I’ve made more than twice what I make in a normal week in the past three days.

Stats For This Month


Even with those two DTube posts, though, I made less this month than last month, mainly because of the dip in the crypto market. This month I made $842.30 and last month I made $1,160.69.

At the end of last month I had 150 followers and 138 posts and I currently have 221 followers and 235 posts. I think I got almost 20 followers just from my two DTube videos over the past three days.

For some reason I didn’t record my reputation score last month! I’m curious what it was — at the end of month two I’m sitting at a score of 57.

Last month I set a goal of reaching 500 SP by the end of this month. I came a bit short — currently at 430 — but still a nice jump from my 214 SP last month.

Here’s a breakdown of all of my posts from month two:

PostValue
$7,035.99 Awarded By @dtube Upvotes in 12 Hours: Incentivizing Participation on New STEEM Sites$29.49
Hello DTube 🙂 Learning Web Development & Japanese in LA, DC, Japan, NYC, ATL, HI$23.82
My First Month on Steemit in Review$39.90
Coding Journal #2: Honing My CSS Skills & Learning Client-Side Routing$36.55
Avoiding Injury in the Dangerous World of Web Development$33.04
Managing Time & Expectations While Learning a Language$28.65
Coding Journal #3: Regular Expressions & Client-Side Routing$56.52
5 Courses to Help You Build a Javascript Foundation$40.25
My Favorite Mac Menu Bar Apps: A Crypto Ticker, Calendar, Productivity Tracker, Clipboard Manager, Measuring Tool & Window Organizer$35.88
A Subprime Education Crisis$32.89
Chingu Cohorts: Free Group Projects With Other Web Development Students$26.83
Coding Journal #4: Local Storage, JSON Web Tokens & Wallaby.js$25.91
Is Reading Enough? Combining Frequency & Memory Strength to Find the Natural Retention Point$29.58
Three Books That Have Influenced My Life$28.86
I Interviewed Myself$27.70
I’m An Open Source Developer$26.48
Things 3: The Best Task Management App For Mac$22.45
DTube vs. YouTube vs. Patreon$154.45
Coding Journal #5: Test Driven Development, Mocha, Chai, Mongo & Mongoose$28.39
What Could a Steem University Look Like?$114.66

Favorite Thumbnails


Here are my favorite thumbnails from this past month. Still very simple, but I tried some slightly new styles. 🙂

dtube-upvote-analysis.409ea7fcc64e4ac0ab79743c07aa2aca.png

js-foundation.acfad14c386547ee88cc172d370b54a2.png

menubarapp.d7fbdc43ffee41e0ab8804b926fe705f.png

open_source.6a31a02532c346b9b588b164eb157980.png

steem_uni_play.d32b0bd3a97740e3b0ddab2ce3c06d19.png

March Goals


In March I’d definitely like to start making more videos. I had a lot of fun making the two this week — I don’t have a ton of experience with writing or video editing, but I tend to watch a lot more videos on DTube/YouTube than I do read articles, so it’s cool to contribute to the medium I am more familiar with.

I want to continue with my posting schedule of one post per weekday. I’ve got some fun coding projects to work on this month and I’d like to try posting at least a couple times on Utopian.

Overall, I just want to stay consistent. It’s been great so far and I’d like to keep the habit going.

Thanks for sticking with me through another month! 🙂


follow_jeffbernst.gif

Sort:  

good job.congratulation bro.

Thank you! 😀

Hey Jeff, congratulations. You made awesome progress. And with excellent content, too. Still waiting for your first Utopian contribution :) or, have I overlooked it?

Keep up the Steem :)

Thank you! 😀

Haha, yeah I still haven't made my Utopian post yet! I decided I would submit a post that includes all (or most) of the back end for my site, but I keep getting hung up >.< Should be done soon though!

congratulation dude...really you r a legend

Thanks! 😀

you are most welcome 😊

Wow, you are a beast)) Do Programmers mostly use libs? I found out recently THE power of libs.

Thanks! :) Actually I'm not sure what a lib is! Is it something like lodash that is a collection of functions you can use?

Yes, library of functions/classes ... which someone made. Frameworks in some sense can be named libs too

Fantastic. Congratulation

Glad to hear @jeffbernst.

Don't think Jeff that In the February month you earned less than the previous month because the best part is that you finally started posting videos on DTube. If you do post consistently, Soon you will see improvement in your March month than the 2 previous months.

Best of luck and best wishes from me for your March month. Looking forward for your DTube, Utopian and general posts. Keep it up!

Thanks @mslifesteem! I always appreciate your support and comments! 🙂

You're most welcome Jeff.

Nicely done @jeffbernst. Congratulations. Steem On man. You have my upvote today. Cheers😀👍💯

good blog brother....great job.please countinu..✌✌✌

Thank you! 😀

Nice job jeff.

By the way, what is sndbox? I've been seeing it around

Thanks!

Here's sndbox's website. Here's the basic explanation:

We are an incubator built on the Steem blockchain. Our community is a global and diverse network of artists, writers, designers, musicians and neighborhood leaders. Sndbox helps members earn cryptocurrency to empower innovative projects and creative ideas.

Basically they give advice and help us succeed on Steem. They also do manual curation of people who are in the incubator. So far it has been great to be a part of it! I think they'll open up applications to new members in May :D

Hahaha may is far, i hope i remember this by then

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54