[dtube] Hello DTube 🙂 Learning Web Development & Japanese in LA, DC, Japan, NYC, ATL, HI

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)


Hi DTube 👋

I wrote an #introduceyourself post on Steemit last month, but I’ve decided to start making some videos and wanted to do a quick introduction here as well.

My name is Jeff and I’m a 32 year old from the east coast of the United States. I’ve been all over the place for the past 10 years, starting in DC, then to Atlanta, then New York, next was Japan, then Hawaii, and, finally, LA.

I actually starting filming some videos to upload on Youtube a couple years ago, but I ended up not following through with it. DTube feels a lot less intimidating so I’m just going to start small and film some videos on my phone, then upload them and see how it goes. I would love to have videos as an outlet to talk about the interesting things I’m learning — things that aren’t suitable for a full-blown Steemit post, but interesting enough to want to share and discuss.

I’m in the process of learning web development, so a lot of what I write and talk about will be related to programming. I’m enrolled in the full-stack flex program at the online coding school Thinkful. I started at the end of last year and I’m hoping to be done in a couple months. I also spent a long time learning Japanese and will probably end up talking about language learning and Japan (I wrote a series of posts on the topic). I lived their for a year back in 2010 while working as an English teacher.

Both web development and using Steemit have led me down the path of learning about cryptocurrencies, so I’ll make some videos describing my findings there as well. I’d really love to build an app on the STEEM blockchain after I finish up at Thinkful — I actually built my first project using Steem.js over the past couple weeks!

Overall I’d just like another medium to create content on the STEEM blockchain. I think this whole platform is really exciting and it has been a lot of fun contributing so far. 😀

Thanks so much for watching and I’m looking forward to chatting about the things I’m learning!


Inner Light by Kevin MacLeod is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)
Source: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?isrc=USUAN1300021
Artist: http://incompetech.com/

Emoji for thumbnail from Twemoji.


follow_jeffbernst.gif


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hello fellow beard / coder dude, nice to meet you. My first day here, so just saying hi to a few people, looking for interesting people to follow. I will check out your posts, interested in all of those things, travel, Japanese, dev.

Hi bearded coder friend. Welcome to Steemit! 😀 Thanks for stopping by -- looking forward to your posts!

Great introduction @jeffbernst.

By the way, You're looking great with beard. Waiting for your upcoming dtube videos.

Keep it up!

Thanks for watching! 😀

Welcome, Jeff! Nice introduction. Sounds like you've lived quite the exciting life so far! I would love to live in Japan and learn the language.
Best of luck :)

Thanks @devohier! Yeah, I'd recommend an adventure to Japan if you get the chance 😀 Looking forward to reading more about your experiences with learning to code!

Welcome Jeff. Glad you found DTube and sounds like it is working out for you so far. As a fellow DTube guy, I find the DTube platform to be much more "social" for me as well. Kind of weird to say that considering the other platforms are social as well, but the community is much more inviting it seems to me. Anyhow, I hope you are enjoying your time around here and wish you all the best!

Yeah, I'm definitely feeling less intimidated to post on DTube than Youtube -- everyone seems pretty encouraging. Thanks for watching! 😀

I'm curious about your upcoming development posts :)

Thanks! I'm looking forward to yours as well 😀

Welcome! Nicely done.

Thank you! 🙂

welcome . Hope you enjoy yourself here :).

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

This is good start.
All the best @jeffbernst.

Followed you.

welcome!follow me , Good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59