So many video posts....

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm gonna be honest. I hate video posts on steem. I'm thrilled it has the capability, and I'm looking forward to #steemq. Right now however, it feels cheap. They're cheap posts. Unless you're posting your own videos, you're making a cheap post.
meme-101.png
Have I said that enough?

Now as to why it's cheap.
Most people making a lot of video posts are essentially the tumblr equivalent of "Guys!!! Check this out! ". Clickbait at its clickbaitiest.
download.png
A simple solution.
Add something of value. Write a short paragraph as to how you found the video, or why you think it's right, or what parts appeal to you. Let us know why you want us to see it. It's that goddamn simple.
6ab3c85415ad8ae121905976c7702d02.jpg

P.S.~ #steemq might end up being a solid kick in the nuts to YouTube. They have my full (if useless) support.

Sort:  

About two dozen people in the wide world give a flung turd what I do. The more effort I put in, the less interest I generate. I almost always try to add something, but it makes no real difference, if votes and views are any guide.

I hear ya on that. The weirdest stuff gets noticed. Ramen post? Tons of upvotes.
Post actually describing how and why i become homeless? Much less.
Though that ramen post got picked up by @sykochica, so it got a lot more eyeballs on it! I'm very appreciative of that, it's just weird how the post that took more effort gets less recognition. Which seems inherent to the human condition. Otherwise clickbait would never have become a thing in the first place. Facebook became Facebook because of the people of Facebook, it didn't start out that way.

All too true, maybe all of this desire to convert more people to Steemit is misguided, and we should be hoping for the idiots to give us a pass while the smart ones find their way here.

In the future we will all use the mute and flag function. Until then I try to avoid doing so. Stay cool people.

As far as the post with a lone video and no comments goes, There are a few people I follow because they do just that. I follow them because they are good current events curators, no commentary necessary. It's not nearly as infuriating to me as the brief glance, about once a week, that I give the trending page. About one post in twenty there has any real value at all. I guess it's about who you know.

I think a beta will be out soon. I'm not involved in the project beyond looking forward to it. @furion is the guy to talk to about that. He released a post two weeks ago teasing at it though. You can also follow it using the #steemq tag.

I've been wondering about the etiquette for this. I co-run a blog and we've started promoting on Steemit.

Is it "appropriate" to write a short blurb and link to the page? It is a bit more work to transfer the coded text to Steemit than to simply link.

Would love to get community feedback on this!
Do people dislike external links from Steemit?

You could probably write a script to automatically reformat for you.
There is no real etiquette for this. The post was really a rant about something that annoys me. No doubt I've done it myself at some point.
As for your blog, if it were my blog I'd repost here. Otherwise a simple title announcing the post and short blurb on what it's about wouldn't ruffle my jimmies any.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23