Where Does Steem Fit In With the Numerous Altcoin Scams?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

As I said in my introductory post, I have been apprehensive about Steemit--and quite frankly, most altcoins--since I first learned about digital currencies. And as I've watched new coins launch left and right, new "projects" that are going to be the future, I watch in disappointment as people lose so much money. That's why I've always stayed on the sidelines and held my bitcoin.

But people were saying the same thing about bitcoin early on and it has proven otherwise. 

If anyone has ever found my writing about the stock market, one thing that becomes pretty clear is that I'm not really a fan of gold. As Warren Buffett once said, "gold gets dug out of the ground in Africa, or someplace. Then we melt it down, dig another hole, bury it again and pay people to stand around guarding it. It has no utility. Anyone watching from Mars would be scratching their head."

He also said: " Gold is a way of going long on fear, and it has been a pretty good way of going long on fear from time to time. But you really have to hope people become more afraid in a year or two years than they are now. And if they become more afraid you make money, if they become less afraid you lose money, but the gold itself doesn't produce anything."

That, fundamentally, has been my problem with gold. We dig it up, turn it into bars, and then put it in another hole. And, unless people are more afraid in the future and are buying gold, the price isn't going to do anything. Along the way, it does nothing for you. It doesn't generate income, it doesn't become a business, it doesn't innovate; it just sits there. 

But bitcoin is different ... Because it possesses the traits of a store of value (limited supply, etc.) while also being a fantastic method of value transfer, suddenly you have an asset that has utility. And once something has utility, its growth is not based on an emotion, such as fear, but rather, it is based on how much demand there is for that particular asset. 

My bitcoin is one part hedge against economic calamity and one part investment in that value transfer tool. Therefore, because there is utility behind bitcoin while it also has fundamental traits of a store of value, bitcoin has a bright future. 

What About Steem?

Back to my original point, though, we're left talking about altcoins. Let's talk about some of the top coins on the market and what their use cases are:

  • Bitcoin: Store of value and, essentially, decentralized wire transfers
  • Ethereum: Smart contracts, but which ones currently exist?
  • Steem: I'll get to this in a second.
  • Ripple: Wire transfers, but not much adoption
  • Litecoin: The silver to Bitcoin's gold. 

For the most part, Bitcoin is the only coin that is production ready. Ethereum is interesting, but is about to bastardize itself by initiating this hard fork. And really, other than proofs of concept, what scalable products have launched? Ripple is interesting, but I still don't see much going on there. And then Litecoin, which is the silver to Bitcoin's gold. 

Now we talk about Steemit. 

The use case of rewarding people for creating high quality content, curating content, and voting on whether that content is valuable is impressive. And when a coin has utility, suddenly, my interest is slightly more focused. 

The value of Steem is derived from the level of activity on this site. If there are more people that are looking to become whales on the site, there's the potential that they'll buy steem to give themselves a head start, thus increasing the value of said steem. That boosts the strength of the platform, which results in more people participating. Hell, this is my third post in a week, so clearly the rapid rise in value piqued my interest.

Further, as the utility becomes more pronounced and more people realize its existence, it creates liquidity, which is necessary for any coin survival. Many of the little ones can't provide that, which results in a slow, painless death. 

Creating an environment whereby people are rewarded for contributing to that community is a viable one and, presently, is not one that exists in bitcoin. That could change one day, but for now, this self-funding machine seems to have some room to stretch its legs. 

Steem Will be Volatile

That doesn't mean that it won't be volatile. The price of steem was 0.00052BTC/steem on July 9th. By July 14th, it was 0.006BTC/steem. And by July 18th, it had dipped hard to 0.003BTC/steem before jumping up again today. 

If you've been trading steem, initiating shorts and longs based on these rapid rises and falls, you've made a lot of money. Anytime a coin goes from 0.00052BTC/steem to 0.006BTC/steem in five days, you're going to have people who are very happy and very excited. 

But that volatility makes it a risky asset to hold. I've seen many articles where people suggest you should not take any of your steem out, instead just reupping it into more SteemPower, continuing to boost your ranking on the site. And that makes sense if your ultimate goal is to accumulate more steem. 

However ... Steem doesn't have real world applications yet. While it's true there is someone on the site trying to survive 30 days only on Steem, I am skeptical of this. Bitcoin is still looked down upon and that's seven years old; I don't expect people to warm up to Steem as an offline asset. 

Because of this, it's important to take some chips off the table to use a popular poker analogy. Could it result in less long-term earnings? Possibly. But because of how volatile Steem is, it's hard to know whether it will succeed long-term. And for all those people that are putting in hours and days of their lives to create this great content, it's important that they get compensated. 

It's important to hold onto something that can be used outside of the world of Steemit: bitcoin & dollars. 

And then you have to ask yourself ... Why is a post worth money? Presently, the value of said posts are increasing because the value of steem is increasing. But is any single post worth $20,000? Why should it be? Sometimes when you're thinking about whether something is too good to be true, you have to ground it in reality: who makes $20,000 for an article?

So during this insanely volatile time, my recommendation is you try to cash out when you can. Sure, keep some of it on SteemIt, but make it tangible. Use that money to pay bills, go on a vacation, or invest in bitcoin. And then use the rest to create an even stronger account so that your content goes that much farther. 

I could be wrong ...

What makes Steemit great is that average people who have never been exposed to cryptocurrencies feel as if they are going to become truly wealthy on it. And the thing is, with all the coins in the image above, there were people who got really rich riding the wave. 

But then there were people that lost money. People that bought at the top as insiders and early adopters dumped. And why wouldn't they? Even if it didn't start out nefariously, when you see your asset increase by 1,900%, you realize that tangible assets are worth something. 

And unfortunately, the people that buy at the top are uninformed, late adopters who make it possible for all of us to get out. 

It's important to recognize that every coin--even bitcoin--has seen meteoric rises and then cataclysmic drops. But other than bitcoin (and maybe Ethereum a little), none have survived. 

So what the future holds remains to be seen. I would love if Steemit succeeded and I'm certainly writing on the platform. But the importance of having something tangible to show for your work doesn't go away. Even if I'm wrong, isn't it better to have something you can use?

That about wraps up this piece ... I'd love to engage in some conversation about this. If you have anything constructive to say, please post it below. I look forward to talking with you all. 

Sort:  

What makes Steem valuable?

I'm surprised that so few people see the answer: Steem gives you control over the conversation! If you spend any time in the "New Posts" section of steemit.com, you find very quickly that the number one question is "how do we get whales to vote on us?" This is because it's become very clear that your post will basically never climb out of double-digit territory until a whale votes for you. So far, the community is populated with friendly whales who want the system to succeed. Unfortunately, the system won't be successful for long before money starts flowing in from advertisers and politicians who realize they can purchase the power to censor their competitors. That's the paradoxical value proposition of Steem!

If you like my ideas, read my series on the game theory of steem!

You make a very good point. I think it's too early to see how this is going to pan out. You have to bear in mind that because this is really pioneering stuff happening right now , lessons will be learnt and the system will adapt over time. If we look at the lessons from Ethereum over the past month and the voyage of discovery that has happened in the whole crypto space. The one thing I am sure of is I'm glad I'm here to witness this unfold! Exciting times!

As someone with a good amount of vested Steem I want this to keep growing, but I did take ~1btc worth out because I don't if this will scale when free money isn't being thrown to every new signup.

Agree...There should be a balance with everything in life. So, if you've made money and can transfer it out, but still invest in the future of Steemit...I think that is a fair balance.

This is the approach I took yesterday. I put $0 into Steem starting out on the platform and to me if I couldn't turn that into something on here then it wasn't going to work for the masses. I took $209 of Steem Dollars and sold it for $259 on Poloniex yesterday. Shot the BTC over to Coinbase and sold that and shot it to my bank account just so I can pay some bills and say that I made money on the platform. A lot of my future activities are going to be focused on becoming more powerful on here. It is a risk I'm willing to take. I put up a post yesterday which explains why the post are earning so much and how that relates to mining other cryptocurrencies. The difficulty is really low right now compared to the price. The market will likely re-balance at some point but for right now we are the ones in the know and have an amazing opportunity! https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/the-top-reasons-steemit-will-bypass-the-moon-and-will-beat-nasa-and-spacex-to-mars-not-click-bait

Constructive criticism is welcome on this site (I hope). The Steem euphoria has blinded some people to possible problems and many people here are living in a Steem bubble of sorts. Your advice to cash out (I assume you mean into Bitcoin) is very solid. Steem dollars are worth something NOW. That does not guarantee that in a week anyone will be willing to give you Bitcoin for your Steem dollars. Take advantage of the situation and don't end up wondering why you did not get Bitcoin for free when you could have. I am not saying to power down, just don't power up with your Steem dollars when they currently have value in the real Bitcoin world. With all that being said, the Steemit platform is a great way to get people into Bitcoin and cryptocurrency. I hope it succeeds and brings down Reddit and all the rest. I HOPE it is sustainable. Time will tell. My most recent post: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@bitcoinmeister/why-you-don-t-hear-much-about-the-buy-and-hold-bitcoin-strategy-on-youtube

Steemit cannot really be equated to an Altcoin. Most Altcoins offer nothing except the chance to lose money. This is a novel blockchain implementation which is gathering steem (no pun intended) and users at an unprecedented rate. A great distribution system for tokens to people who genuinely put effort in to making this a productive and interesting platform. With its reward model it will likely make reddit obsolete.

I like its applicability, which is why I am here to begin with. And I do believe that a reward model akin to Steemit's will make reddit obsolete. And I like that it could prevent spam (though it still has work to do on that front). But new coins make me hesitant, whether there is utility or not.

Dude... you're going to get > 1500 USD's worth of a token for the few hours it took you to write this piece.

Sounds pretty much like utility to me :)

You're not wrong there. But what about longterm? Or are we all just doing as much as we can for short term gain?

Hell no. I'm long term. I earned a good deal of Steem up front from posts so this is not an investment for me. This is a career opportunity.

Looks like it could be for you as well.

Biggest gap I saw in your analysis was the effect that freezing up the liquid tokens in Steem Power does to prevent whales from crashing the markets and creating panic. That's almost necessary in something like this.

Value comes from the content. You're going to have a great head start with this article. Liquid Steem Dollars that are going for a high premium on Poloniex and ~2 BTC worth of Steem invested into your account as Steem Power. Now you're a baby tuna :)

Don't invest in the coins. Just use the system as it was intended. A big problem with the whole cryptocurrency scene is that it is almost wholly based on speculation rather than utility.

You are completely right about that. Though, if no one is investing in the coins, what's the value for me? And if there is no value for me, why use the system? The markets are such an interesting thing.

I meant that more for your average anticipated user of this platform. I think speculation and speculators will always exist and will be driven by the platforms popularity and user growth. It really is the first time that non-speculators can use the blockchain tech.

How did you get $1229.31 from 15 up-votes and a comment, in only 22 minutes? Teach! Teach! Teach! Teach!

A whale hit the upvote button, and got several hundred dollars themselves. Now that's value creation right there.

I AGREE! Thank you for posting. Hope you get this to snowball to the top!
I up-voted you too... BTW, should steemit let us steemers advertise using steem? Be sure to tell everyone you know to come vote here at: https://steemit.com/steemit/@kingtylervvs/if-steemit-ever-does-decide-to-advertise-there-is-only-1-way-it-could-work-in-my-opinion-debate

This is a democratic community decision.


Its from a Whale that has Steem Power Baby!

Look at the people that voted first - there is your answer. @dan among them.

If I knew the answer to that, I would replicate it. I have no idea.

His post is worth $1200 but his wallet says he only has $48.... wtf?

He hasn't gotten paid yet

And the whale is.... @dan.... with roughly 2.2milj. STEEMpower :)

You are paying attention to the wrong metric. Read what he writes and you will start to understand.

Would I be so clever before as my wife is after

I MIGHT KNOW WHICH WHALE DID THAT
UPVOTE ME I will reveal it 😜 The answer

bullionstackers

The system works so perfectly that similar posts are worth $1-$10 and this one worth $2,728.54.

It's called the FreeMarket™ , and the system works perfectly.

The incentives are not flawed

The free market implies that there is an exchange of currency. So if you vote up this story, you are losing something because of that vote. Instead, if you vote up this story, you'll receive something for doing that. That means you're incentivized to vote irrespective of whether the content is high quality or not.

If, instead, each vote cost a certain amount of money and there were people STILL making $2,728 per post, then I'd be sitting here completely amazed. Right now, I'm skeptical. I want to be convinced, but for now, skepticism is healthy, I believe.

Thanks for the well written article. I've been interested and investing in various cryptocurrencies for years and am always cautious when I hear about the next big thing. IMO Steemit is the 1st in a longtime that is really combining 21st century phenomena to become bigger than the sum of its parts. It provides an immediate real world strong application beyond just currency speculation. Lots of altcoins have failed because they do not provide a more convenient solution to what already exists. Steemit has an immediate USP, similar to ethereum and this will be the key to its future success. I hope.

Great article. I've bought and sold crypto for over four years now and I've seen this all before, so I'm cautious.

The voting system is broken and needs to be modified or this will turn into a Digg circlejerk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60740.76
ETH 3388.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52