Tips / Reminders for New Steemians!

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

There are a couple of very important recommendations when you are first on here as a "newbie" Steemian;

so, the first order of business on the Steem blockchain is to never lose your passwords. Three are very important, the fourth is not in much use right now. Try to run these off of a printer making a hard copy, and put them in a safe place.

  1. Use the posting key for posting only;

  2. Use the active key for wallet transactions only;

  3. Never use the master key, it's main use is to change the other passwords if your account is compromised;

  4. Please don't learn this the hard way...

  5. So, next when when making a post, if you are using photos or quotes that are not yours, be sure to list the source of where they came from, to give the owner or creator credit for their work. No one wants someone else to take their work and post it as their own. That is called plagiarizing, and Steemians take a very dim view of it and it can have an extremely negative impact on your career here on steem.

  6. Even when the photos are from you, it is always safest to proclaim that in your post; you can say it on every photo, or make a blanket statement such as "all photos in this post were taken by me" at the end, as long as it is said.

  7. Please don't learn this the hard way...

  8. Next is when making up a post if posting a single photo, try to add writing to it to give some description of the photo, such as what it is, where it was taken, maybe a paragraph with some details, otherwise it may be termed as a "shitpost" if you are doing this consistently, you ultimately want quality posts.

  9. Please don't learn this the hard way...

It's hard enough when you first get here and seems like it's way overwhelming, but in reality, when you get a couple of basic rules or recommendations down, it's not so bad; there is a lot to learn, but these are the most important.

Be advised it's always much better to get involved with some Discord servers, and the best one that I can think of is the Steem Terminal in the Discord server run by @xcountytravelers in here
and featured by @heyhaveyamet in here.
It is an excellent place to start, and to get your bearings as you move along here with getting questions and concerns answered.

Also, for more help: after logging into steemit, in the upper right corner of the steemit website are three bars. If you click on that then you will see "welcome"; click on that and you will have all kinds of useful information to read.

Single painting is my own painting on a stencil made by graphic artist @magiccleatus, gracious creator and host of the #zencolouringcontest.

That is all for now! Steem onward and upward!!!

James Smooth_Plane_1.2.gif
Thanks to whoever made this originally and smoothed out by @magiccleatus

Thanks for the awesome Welcome Wagon artwork @liberty-minded

Thanks for the beautiful HHYM and ST artwork @medro-martin

ZCC-Signature-Small.gif
Thanks to @magiccleatus of #zencolouringcontest for his graphic artwork

Thanks to @jimramones for this Spunkee Monkee graphic logo

Sort:  

Great advice i love 4 , 7 and 9 the hard way is what we see in the #steemterminal everyday , so glad we are running this pount off advice and help people out.
But ( there is always a but dear with me you know that by now ) we need to spread the word as much as possible, because its needed the steemisfere is complex !
Britt

Absolutely! But like everything, it comes with a little bit of time!

This is clear and very easy for a newbie to understand! Thank you... it's so important to guard your keys.

!SHADE 2

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

It was a pleasure to write this @shadowspub!

Thank you @artemisnorth, coming from you that is a compliment!



Hi artemisnorth the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

This is really informative @jamerussell. It was pretty daunting when I first started here and with so much information everywhere, it got confusing too. I was afraid to post even 😅. To have clearly written tips like yours would have helped a lot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @marblely for commenting!!!
That is the exact same way I felt when I got on here, and that is the reason that I wrote it up this way, just so it wasn't long or boring!!!

Hi @jamesrussell, what a wonderful post! Finally easy to follow wonderful instructions, and advice for Steemit newbies, fantastic! This would have been a perfect post for me to have read as a newcomer to Steemit. My husband taught me what I know now, but when I first came on board I new absolutely nothing about any of this, never even ran a computer before, I just jumped into it for fun. If I read instructions that are to wordy or lengthy, I get confused, your instructions are short and very clear, brilliant! Thank you so much for caring and helping others my friend, god bless you in all you do❣️

My best friend teases me about that same thing, and says because of my AADD I tend to lose focus if it is tedious or boring!
That would be a fun rendition of Adult Attention Deficit Disorder (NOT a medical diagnosis, hehehe; I think we both have it!!!
That and CRS and STML!!!
That is the exact reason for writing this post the way I did!
Thank you for your (as usual) awesome comments, and it's nice to see you as it's been a little while @lildebbiecakes!!! Bless You!

Ha Ha... I know I have AADD, and I definitely have had ADD all my life. I had a terrible and painful time in school listening to my teachers if they where talking about something I wasn’t interested in. I would drift off into my own little universe, not even meaning to do so, and that was a lot of the time. I’ve found talking to many other artists that they suffered in the same way. It’s really a miracle that I even graduated from High School, but I managed to barely squeak by❣️

Thanks for the tips. I have little time in Steemit and every day I am learning something new.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's fantastic @zaidaguevarae! There is a contest that @brittandjosie graciously sponsors called #learnandearn and you post a minimum of 5 things you learned this week with a maximum of 7 things, you might look into it for fun!
Thank you for your reply!

Already learned a lot of those things in the wagon wheel training - but always good to be reminded of things like this :)

Yes @seedbeady, I too learned a little in the Welcome Wagon that became extremely useful, but this was simply for the new Steemians, and also as a reminder for the older ones, as there are still (sadly) people who use their master password for everything. While it is not really a good idea, as the more you use something, the greater the chance for it to get compromised and if your master or your active keys get compromised, they can get everything in your wallet. And if you are an older user and they change the password, you've lost the entire account, with all posts and Steem that you had accumulated.
Thank you for your reply!

Only one comment!?

Excellent tutorial post my friend, on the in's and out's...do's and dont's... really useful information!! I'm proud to be a part of the #steemterminal, and better yet, call you all friends!!

Great job!!

My sentiments exactly @wesphilbin!

Did I mention? Love that artwork!

Hahaha why, yes you did @wesphilbin!

Congratulations @jamerussell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday



Hi jamerussell the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68943.86
ETH 3749.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67