A Word (or Two) About Commenting (Props to @wolfhart)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

A Word (or Two) About Commenting (Props to @wolfhart)

source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

business-handshake.jpg
Source (Base Source)

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

I just read this excellent post by @wolfhart called:

"Hours spent researching information about Steemit"

source

Article Link:

https://steemit.com/anhouraday/@wolfhart/hours-spent-reashearching-information-about-steemit-be80f0744d22b#@jaichai/re-wolfhart-hours-spent-reashearching-information-about-steemit-be80f0744d22b-20180626t214546456z

It prompted me to submit this reply:

(To @wolfhart)

I can remember in the beginning when my comments garnered 20X or more than my posts! Lol!

source

And many times, those long comments turned into full blown articles themselves - making sure that props were duly given to the original inspiration for the post (including the link).

It's a great way to spread the wealth among your Steemit friends.

Source

So yes, I agree with you, commenting is very important.

Tidbit to Ponder:

It's wise to remember that Steemit is a SOCIAL platform.

And every good, thoughtful comment is a powerful social interaction that honors the author of the post; while going a long way in building relationships.

source

Why?

Simply because it shows that you actually read the post and care enough to respond.

Caveat: The comment has to display authenticity. People can usually tell when someone is being fake and get turned off ricky-tick.

To reiterate, Steemit is a SOCIAL platform. So if you want to attract more recognition, exposure from resteems and support, the smart thing to do is to be genuinely SOCIAL.

source

Thanks for the solid post.

Namaste, JaiChai

source

By JaiChai

Thanks for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

400.jpg
Source

If you enjoyed my post, kindly: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.

"I appreciate all your support!"

Sort:  

Commenting...... Isn't that how we got to meet each other on the internet?

Namaste!
@vimukthi

Yes, I believe so.

Great to see you, my friend.

And I must apologize. My upvote power is horribly drained at the moment (>35%!).

Thanks for commenting.

Hope you and yours are well and loving life today.

Namaste, Jaichai

Don't think much about the votes. Try using Busy.org so you can have the voting slider or reach 500SP and keep using steemit. That should help you recover that voting power.

Thanks for the advice.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thanks for the shout out

Commenting has to be the most important thing to do

Need to get a picture or something to finish getting you into the vet. benefits are good to include an 0.11 upvote on posts

Damn! I knew I forgot to write down something important to do on my task list!

Thanks for the reminder.

Namaste, my friend.

JaiChai

Anytime
I didn't see the .11 upvote so I went and looked :)

I REALLY NEED TO RECHARGE MY UPVOTE POWER!

Will reciprocate when I can.

Namaste, JaiChai

Some wise words there. SteemIt is indeed a social network. The power lies in its community. In my experience, you won’t get far if you are not building a network.

From the very beginning I’ve been commenting like crazy. Very often, these comments turned out to be longer than a regular post, lol.
By doing this, I met a lot of people - absolute strangers whom I now call my friends. Building a relationship with people is the best way to drive traffic to your post. When you have a regular interaction with someone, you start looking out for his posts. Personally, I have Ginabot set to notify me when some people I come across often post a new article.

I heartily agree with this. Commenting is the best activity to ease yourself into this platform. I owe much of my success to rampant commenting ;p

Cheers JaiChai!

I could say the same, especially about my early days on steemit. It is the best way to get followers and votes if you only have a tiny plankton account.

That's right! We're old dogs now it seems ;p

and we're still commenting!

My first STEEM birthday is only days away :-)

Hey there!

Great to see you, my friend.

Thanks for visiting and commenting.

BTW, after a few weeks break,I just started entering the @originalworks contests again. And I must admit, the contests are attracting hundreds of entries now; making it hard to break into the top 10 to 15 awardees!

I got lucky last week with #2 (Bronze) spot, but I didn't see your name on the podium too. Have you been submitting entries?

Anyway...

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, JaiChai

I just restarted again too! I took 7th with Bandz and am hoping for a good showing with my streamity post. The competition has indeed intensified, but that only makes us strive more ;p

I am editing a lot more pictures recently due in no small part to your influence :)

That's great to hear!

I too, did a Streamity entry. Will go peek at yours after this reply.

Oh, and BTW, I must apologize. I am horribly "upvote drained" presently (>34%)!

Namaste, Jaichai

Namaste! Ive steem binged the last two days, I'm in the 50's!

But a nice conversation with you is more valuable than a 'silent' upvote :)

In Asia, a foreigner is hard pressed to be physically lonely. But he can easily be intellectually lonely daily! I know I am.

Believe me, conversing with you means a lot...

Namaste, JaiChai

With minds like ours its hard not to feel like a master node ;p

Thanks for the shout out.
The amount of material I get from comments is the majority of my posts.
I like how you stated "genuinely SOCIAL". If you are not everything is temporary and your name will suffer

RE: Your Comment:

"It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it. If you think about that, you'll do things differently." - Warren Buffett

Namste, Jaichai

Interaction here on steemit is a vital part of the whole platform, I enjoy commenting & not only writing posts. Enjoy your island @jaichai :)

Thank you so much for visiting and commenting.

And I apologize for allowing myself to succumb to the "Upvote Happy Syndrome" (I'm at >34%)!

Will reciprocate when I can.

Namaste, Jaichai

" - JaiChai* ##### ! ##### ## ***If you enjoyed my post, kindly: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem

I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed. Michael Jordan

Tidbit to Ponder: It's wise to remember that Steemit is a SOCIAL platform

It is not death or pain that is to be dreaded, but the fear of pain or death. Epictetus

" - JaiChai* ##### ! ##### ## ***If you enjoyed my post, kindly: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem

I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed. Michael Jordan

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs

Whenever you are confronted with an opponent. Conquer him with love. Mohandas Gandhi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56552.34
ETH 2332.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35