Morning Run - Trying Out Actifit Fitness TrackersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

I got really excited about Steem rewards from a fitness app.

But unfortunately, I think this app has a long way to go before it makes its way into my daily routine. I don't mean to completely discredit the app because I think the idea has a lot of potential, but in my opinion there are some very big obstacles to it becoming a widely adopted fitness tracker.

Right off the bat, I experienced the same kind of problem that I've been facing with other Steem blockchain-based apps and activities. Not the greatest user interface and non-intuitive actions required to even get started with it. I downloaded the app and opened it up and was met with this menu:

menu.png

For something that advertises itself as a fitness tracker, I was expecting to see a menu in which I was choosing the activity that I'd be doing and maybe a map that would track my location. I've been using Strava to track my runs and biking for years now and have been very happy with the user interface and accuracy of the tracking. Maybe it was unfair of me to be expecting something similar from this app, but honestly, that's what I was wanting from it. Maybe @actifit could take a look at that app and work towards modelling their app after it? Pretty please?

I clicked on the "Post to Steem" button, since this seemed to be the closest to the "track activity" button I was looking for and then was met with this:

actifit.png

Ok, my first question here was: what is a private posting key? I had to google what is was because the app just told me what it wasn't. Instead, they could have in brackets (Wallet, under permissions) - make it stupid simple for the user to figure out! Ok with that figured out, I could choose my activity...and input all that info...but then what? Am I missing something here? What does "Activity Count" mean? And am I supposed to load my info from another app to track it here? Like, if I'm using Strava, for example, do I take a screen shot and put it somehow into this tracker? Too many steps for me to want to do daily, sorry.

And then, even if I was willing to go through all of that, there was still one pretty big thing was kinda the last nail in the coffin for me - it fucked up my GPS. So my recorded run in Strava was a mess:

strava.png

I'd really love to see a fitness tracking app that rewarded the active person, so I'm hoping that this post highlights some of the areas that could use some work. In summary I'd like to see:

  • Meaningful tracking data
  • Interface like an existing tracking app
  • Stupid simple start-up for new users
  • No interference with GPS/other apps running simultaneously

I realize that this is very new technology and that I might be being a bit demanding or impatient, but that's just how I am. Haha.

Has anyone else tried this app? What was your experience with it? Am I missing things that would make using it simpler and more intuitive? Maybe @runningproject or @torrey.blog could chime in here.

Stay tuned ;)

Jackie O

Sort:  

Thanks for trying Actifit. In its current form it is very minimalistic, obviously not as full featured as Strava. I think @mcfarhat and the @actifit could make use of your feedback.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@jackieobermeyer thank you for giving Actifit a try and providing your feedback. Very helpful!
To answer some of your questions:

  • The app is still in beta and very basic functionality provided at the moment. We constantly receive great suggestions such as yours, and basically most items you mentioned and many more are part of our development plans, including improved layout, graphics, GPS tracking, integration with wearables...
  • For the private posting key, yea we could probably add a hint there. We made this with Steem users in mind who would very much use or access their private keys every now and then. We can definitely add a hint.
  • The activity count is auto-populated based on your tracked activity, you do not need to do anything with that.
  • For the problem with your GPS tracking, Actifit does not use GPS at all at the moment, nor does it communicate nor read GPS values (not yet), so it shouldn't have an effect on your GPS activity.
  • For posting your daily activity, you just need to input your username and key (only first time you post), select activity type, describe your activity (post content) and click the post button. You're done :)
    We would love to have you on discord and feel free to provide any further suggestions!

rulersig2.jpg
@mcfarhat - @Actifit Founder
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58