You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A little credit goes a long way (UX/UI Visual Steemit Re-Design project)

in #steemit6 years ago

this was a voluntary project, so its whatever anyone volunteers their time. i made it clear i wanted to keep working on the project because i enjoyed doing something for the steemit community. the other designer basically wanted to move the project faster and not wait until my schedule calmed down after a few weeks, which is fine - i am and never would be against that. but to move on, take my file, make small tweaks and then not even acknowledge my name in the post as a part of making that work - that just seemed ludicrous to me. The user profile page, and my blog/feed pages were not very "inventive" on the visual design part. but the home screen especially - i created some of those entirely new features on my own (UX + visual design), and built and designed it. so when my work is taken and the built upon, i just would like to be mentioned that its part of my original work. To me, it is like taking a van gogh Starry Night painting, changing the colors, photoshopping it to the move the moon around, and then saying "this is entirely my work, since I made these new changes". But it still has Van Gogh's work, and i think it is a disservice to not credit all authors involved - no matter if those changes were made 1 day later or 1 year later or 100 years later.

In the art world, if an artist paints a picture that a photographer took, they need the permission of that photographer, otherwise they can sue them. Even if they changed things and didnt paint it exactly, and changed some details (the colors, the clothes, etc).

The other designer finally edited the post to say earlier iterations were done by me, which is not exaclty correct for that homepage as I did the entire visual design (they changed the color scheme and made some additions, but it still looks EXACTLY like the page i designed and the file i gave them). I requested that the future designs be changed so it does not resemble my work at all, since they refuse to add my name that i worked on the design.

I did learn a valuable lesson here. I will never again share my editable files with anyone, as that is part of the recipes for a culmination of 7 years of higher education and 8 years professional experience.

Sort:  

As I said before, I don't see the reason why attribution is being withheld. I don't think it's an unreasonable thing at all for it to be there, especially as you've stated it in a reply to someone else. You have been a part of the project, you did quite a bit work and it is the simplest and easiest of things to continue to cite that work.

Your page looks exactly like my wireframe. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32