What to Do When You See a Message TRANSACTION BROADCAST ERROR When Publishing a Post

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This article is intended to inform the Steemit community members particularly new ones on how to deal with posting error.

I wrote this in order for fellow steemers to be aware on what to do whenever they encounter the same situation I had when I was about to publish a magnum opus detailing why I chose to blog on Steemit.

The name of the error I am talking about is known as Transaction Broadcast Error.


This is a common issue that plagued the steemit.com website for some time now.

In fact, not just me but many others including old users were experiencing similar problem at some point in their blogging journey within this platform.

Given that, I assume they may already have figured out the appropriate response in the event it happens again.

But for new users this is going to be a nightmare without proper guidance.

If you happen to be a newbie and you are currently reading this, I know you are, you will surely find this information valuable the moment this error is bothering you.

For added clarity, I am going to show you exactly what the error looks like.

Take a look at this

If you notice the draft I was creating didn't successfully load and the error message is displayed just above the POST button.

As a rule of thumb I did make sure if I was connected to the internet by checking the status of my Wi-Fi signal.

There was no problem so far. Internet connection was working properly.

But I was not convinced. So I tried to open websites to see if I can access their web pages and also pinged the internet to find out if I'm receiving reply.

It was all well and good as you can see below.

But how come my post wouldn't publish?

I asked myself with some degree of disappointment. Why oh why?!

Since I have already established that my internet connection was doing its job, what I did was, out of desperation I kept on hitting the POST button again and again within time interval hoping for my article to successfully go live online.

Still nothing happened.

That was the biggest mistake I have done not knowing its damn consequence.

The result was a nightmare!

Why did I say so?

Because when I checked on other Steem front ends, my eyes were greeted with a series of similar post sitting there on my timeline like a spam warehouse.

Silly but the frustration was unbearable.

Now, I don't want that incident to ever happen to you as well in the future. This is practically the reason why I created this article to caution you in advance.

It can happen to anyone within this community at any time since steemit.com is still in beta.

Newcomers who are less experienced will likely to fall into trouble but since you are reading this, then you are lucky one.

What to do when the transaction Broadcast Error occurred

The best way to verify whether your post was successfully published or not is to check it out from different front ends of the Steem blockchain.

There are lots of them that are also in beta at the time of this writing.

I would highly recommend checking at busy.org considering this is the most stable among of those alternatives in my personal experience.


How to do it

Simply type busy.org/@YourSteemitUsername on your browser's address bar.

After that you should be able to view your Steemit timeline. No need to login.

There you can see all the posts you've made across the Steem blockchain.

You can even publish, up-vote, comment and re-steem from there but you will need to login to be able to do that.

Very Important reminder

Please only use your Steemit Private Posting Key as your password in order to access your account on other font ends outside steemit.com for security reason.

There you have it! You are now armed with the essential knowledge you need.

See you on the other side

@introvertspeaks

Sort:  

Hi @introvertspeaks - another one speaking here, that has stepped into the same most embarrassing situation! - if you are interested to see what another introvert has had to say so far, then welcome to my blog, which I presume you know by this time how to find.

Have a nice day!

Saw your blog, in fact I just followed you. I think we are on the same league, it happened to me as well 5 days ago from today.

There is nothing we can do about it other than learn from it using my article above as a guide in the future.

If you're like me whose goal is to make my timeline clean as much as possible then there is still hope of doing that by way of patching those duplicated contents with fresh contents. We still have 2 days left to do that.

Edit those contents. Don't make it long. At least 250 to 300 words per article would be fine just for this special purpose. Hope that helps. Until then @introvertspeaks

A very good tip thanks @introvertspeaks.

May your policy deliver to you what it promises to do!

It is done. The past 24 hours has been a tough writing moment for me because I never created a single draft until yesterday and I still had to fill in my messy wall with 7 articles and I only had 24 hours left to accomplish that.

In the end I did it! It was the worst but also an exhilarating experience knowing that you're doing something which no longer generate a dime.

Great! - wish I had the time and speed to accomplish that - well done!

haha - I did exactly what I should not have done - luckily I only see two copies of my hello world post.... so far - Thank you for writing the article, will certainly pay more attention in the future - I thought - Oh cool an actual usable error message - Perhaps an idea that they added a synopsis of what you wrote here in order to help us noobs on Steemit to avoid the painful feeling of coming across as the overeager noobs we are :) - Thanks again and have a great day/evening/night/morning wherever you are!

Managed to edit the second post - First one was locked... so looks like you can edit duplicate posts entirely, but only dupes. Good work posting this article - Thanks again!!!

Hello there! Welcome to my virtual home. And thank you for dropping by, I'm glad you find this article helpful.

One thing that I've learnt in my several days of stay here is that Steemit is not the ideal platform if you are the kind of person with a perfectionist attitude. Believe me it will only break your heart if you don't adapt.

On a side note this is also the best opportunity to re-calibrate our flawed mentality and begin to accept that the Murphy's law is all pervading throughout everything we do (whatever that can happen will happen).

You may also check this article I wrote on how to fix duplicated contents. Hope this helps as well.

Quick question though: How did you come across this article? Someone send you a link or something?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.72
ETH 2344.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52