Proposal to reclaim the introduceyourself tag: reintroduceyourself

in #steemit6 years ago

introduction-2789965_640.png

One of my favorite things to do on Steemit is reading and commenting on new introduceyourself posts. I have seen several people complain about posts that instead of being a new person introducing themselves, it is someone who has been on the platform for a while giving an update on what they think of the platform, how they have grown, etc. Quite frankly, it has never personally bothered me. Usually, the content is good or if it isn't the type of thing I am looking to read, I can move on to the next post - little time wasted.

I have enjoyed the reintroductions just as much as the introductions for the most part, but I think it would be deeply beneficial if there was an agreed-upon tag to use for them. I think it would pacify the purists (of which I am one--despite this not bothering me oddly enough) and give people who want to expand their audience another great place to do so. And I don't want this to turn into a 'let's bash people who do this... oh, and self-upvoting is evil too' session. Currently, the best tag for these sorts of posts IS the introduceyourself tag, so I don't fault anyone for doing it. Can't see myself flagging any posts even after this or some other precedent has been agreed upon. It's too easy to fall back into old habits, forget, or not even know about it. Having it so that people can use it would be great, and I know that this community would do a fantastic job enforcing it with their votes.


Agree? Disagree? Let me know below!

Sort:  

Congratulations @iamzerg! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @iamzerg! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @iamzerg! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17