What is WITNESS?? Why should I bother VOTING?

in #steemit7 years ago

witnesss copy.jpg

Most of the time when I am scrolling around Steemit I see many big Steemians or say WHALES asking for votes for witnesses. At first I was confused and didn't knew the term and why should I bother doing that, but for surviving in the community you must be aware of surroundings to play your good role in society. Since I had a pretty good knowledge of Crypto-currency system therefore it didn't took a while for me to understand the phenomenon but I realized that many new or minows still didn't get the clear idea of WITNESS and it's purpose.. so my community fellows, I am going to crack down the definition+purpose of WITNESS in STEEMIT in as simple words as I can:

WITNESS:

Witness is someone who watches an event happening and can provide explanation of the event if required afterwards,

Miners:

Miners are people (having mining hardware) who look after the blockchain, witness every event and solve problems in the blockchain.

since these days when crypto-currency is at peak many transactions are happening in a single second so keeping up all the records and prevent any fraud and hacking , system requires people to check and witness the Blockchain/ledger/register/record and they gives them back some reward in the form of currency.

Witness at Steemit:

Same as Miners Steemit require some people to manage it's Blockchain that is to watch every transaction going here and there to maintain the Blockchain of STEEM. Since we know that STEEM itself is a currency so Steemit requires it's blockchain/records to looked after, and it claims to reward the witnesses with STEEM POWER for each block they create. If you are not clear what is STEEM, STEEM POWER and STEEM DOLLAR, check out my previous post on that

https://steemit.com/steemit/@iamzainshahbaz/what-is-steem-steem-power-and-steem-dollar-work-and-purpose-explained

Why should I vote??

to play your part in the community, Since Steemit requires responsible and trusted people to look after the Blockchain and they understands that no one can decide that better than the users of Steemt. So do your good role in community and vote for the ones you trust will be best to take the responsibility.

How many poeple can I vote for?

You can vote for 30 people.

What is Proxy Vote?

If you have a better fan following or you trust somebuddy so much and you want the vote people giving to you to be counted as his votes, you can set the PROXY by his username. With that, every vote which is given to you will counted as the vote of the user you set proxy to.

How can I vote?

You can vote by going at
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
witnesss.JPG
write the username of the person you want to vote in the first vacancy and click VOTE. the second one is the one used to set proxy. if you want someone else to get voted on you side than simply write his user name and click SET PROXY. you can delete it after if you want by click CLEAR PROXY.. (you can do it comon.. I believe in you)

What if no one on Steemit votes for wintnesses?

Steemit won't work, for Steemit to work the block chain must be working and for that we need Active and responsible witnesses

I hope it helped people around.. let me know in comments if you want me to cover something else..
helping each other out is the way we are going to make this comunity better together

U5duHYTny6g75Dg8YDQjSmZRjLEfJAP.gif

check out my previous posts

5 Steemit Facts You Should Know

https://steemit.com/steemit/@iamzainshahbaz/5-steemit-facts-you-should-know

Empathy - A School Project

https://steemit.com/dtube/@iamzainshahbaz/f0jxdfhq

Issues with Steemit we always wanted to get solved

https://steemit.com/steemit/@iamzainshahbaz/issues-with-steemit-we-always-wanted-to-get-solved

My first week at Steemit - What I learned?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@iamzainshahbaz/first-week-at-steemit-what-i-learned

Untitled-1.jpg

Sort:  

Its good post for new user like me, and if we new hare so how can we vote for that means new user don't know anyone so what you suggested to do.

this is the reason why you must get involved in the comunity,
upvote, comment and resteem. get engaged in the community and spend some time here, you will get to know to whom you should vote..

Yah off course but I think some things look very difficult wen we see from outside but wen we b a part steemit community its not that bad ,
And I must say majority of people here are very helpful and one more thing what I don't accept from but it is you are new or old in steem if you post quality content you have been rewarding by people.

Do you recommend any way of finding out the best candidates? Thank you for sharing this important information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44